Ratings based on 83 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toddington, UK

Lovely hotel in a nice location.

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: Everything, well almost! It's a pity some guests did not bother to read the pool instructions which asked all guests to give consideration to others!!
Cons: The only downside to this hotel is the price of wine. State taxes on alcohol are penal but this does not excuse charging 4500 rp (£55) for wine!
Location: The hotel is on the Backwaters which are beautiful and can be accessed by all sorts of boats. Hotel has bird sanctuary next to it.
This is 3rd time we have stayed at the Taj, Kumarakom. The deluxe rooms with lagoon view are well appointed and very comfortable. The staff are excellent and cannot do enough to help. The food in the 2 restaurants (same menu) is first class. The view across the lagoon is outstanding both during the day and at night when it is surrounded by oil lamps. We would return without hesitation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Peaceful location with some good facilities

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Pros: Spaciousness of the rooms; Pool; Peaceful location
Cons: Senior staff training; bar selection; activities
Location: Not much at all to do locally other than boat tours (tons of these and very hard to know which are any good).
The rooms were really spacious and clean. I liked the ayurvedic massage - the staff were great, although it was significantly pricier than what you get at most decent places (probably a Taj markup). A little disappointed with the bar - they only had beer and wine, and the wine was a brand called SULO - never heard of it before and I did not think much of the red. Checkin and checkout took some time, but overall a good experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Pros: Service, Hospitality, Ambience
Cons: Food rates could be a bit more value for money
Location: The early morning small boat ride through narrow canals and villages is a must do
Fantastic......the resort provided an ideal and refreshing environment for a family to relax including a lot of activities for children too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Texas

Resort hotel close to the backwaters.

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Great value for money!!!! Very well maintained property and cordial service.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 20, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lai

Amazing customer service and beautiful place

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Location: The hotel is near the local jetty which is a great place to hire a Shikara for a couple of hours or hop on a house boat for a night or two.
We stayed for 4 days at this hotel towards the end of our India holiday and we had an amazing time. There were lots of different things that made our stay enjoyable which included the great service we had. Our son had a lot of allergies and the staff and chef went out of their way to accommodate our needs. The surroundings and main building had an old world charm and the daily activities filled up our time there. We really enjoyed the complimentary evening boat ride, evening tea by the lake bed, cooking demo and the bike rides around the resort .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bangalore

Unforgettable experience

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Location: Its a very good location on the back waters and the view of the sunset was very good.
We were picked up promptly by the hotel car and the room was ready when we reached the hotel late in the night. They had lots of activities for children like pottery, duck feeding, fish feeding, boat rides, cruise tour etc. They had entertainment programmes everyday in the evening. The hotel rooms were very spacious and ambiance was excellent. The food was very good and room service was prompt. We enjoyed every bit our stay at the resort. Loved every bit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great scenic and serene setting

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: Service, beautiful environment
Good hotel staff with very good service. Loved the house boat.
5 out of 5
by Vimal

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels