Ratings based on 62 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent Hotel next to the Beach

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
The staff were really friendly, efficient and polite. There was an excellent range of food and night entertainment. The price for food and drinks were really affordable. The beach was clean and right next to the hotel facilities and sun loungers. The pool is far too small for the size of hotel and URGENT need of upgrading. The air conditioning extractor boxes/fans should be placed in the correct bedroom area, as all we could hear was the next door neighbours fan ALL night long - we did not have our on!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 23, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, glad to know you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your comments, we are working on plans to recreate our pool area over by latest 2018 and we started changing the position of the AC units during summer 2016. Unfortunately the room you were staying had not been changed. We look forward welcoming you again to Kombo Beach.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nicely situated on the beech.

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is situated very well on the beach within walking distance of a few restaurants and places to have a drink. All food we ate around the complex was lovely. The hotel breakfast was very nice also. Great waitresses and staff were seen all round the complex. Very friendly and eager to please (for a small tip). Weill definitely be back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Beach,

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is located on one of the nicer beaches in the Gambia. Breakfast on offer is sufficient Swimming pool is very small for the size of the hotel. I would recommend staying closer to or in Senegambia area as offers more places to visit of an evening.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 17, 2016 on Hotels
Bearing in mind this is Gambia, it was a decent all-round hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Witham, Essex, UK

Nice hotel right on the beach

Posted Apr 30, 2016
We had nice experience on our stay at this hotel. We knew before we went that it is a little dated, and not a brand new bright and shiny place to stay. We went to stay there with some friends for the simple reason of getting a good suntan. This was easily achieved, of course. It suited us fine, and we hardly had a problem with our stay there. The only problem we had was with the very poor internet facility or rather lack of it. We went for walks, along the beaches, and around the local area. We ate at the various restaurants at the hotel, and along the beach, so did not venture out further afield. We all had a great time and would certainly go back to the Kombo beach hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great experience!

Posted Apr 10, 2016
Our family had a great time at Kombo Beach! Hotel staff were warm, welcoming and helpful. The half board is an excellent choice, especially with children. Daily activities and evening music and shows were a delightful bonus. We look forward to our next visit. Thank you!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Enfield, UK

Lovely hotel bang on the beach !

Posted Mar 22, 2016
Pros: Fairly quiet and bang on the beach and convenient for the strip but far enough away so still very relaxing.
Cons: Standard of rooms needs updating very soon.
Location: Great location for a walk or cab to the strip for a large variety of bars/restaurants etc etc. Fantastic beach setting with wall to wall sunshine.
Lovely hotel on clean sandy beach which stretches for miles ! Hotel and rooms clean & tidy but a bit tired but the staff all try hard. Great position to walk out to bars and restaurants and/or get cab again to very good local bars/restaurants with live bands etc. Certainly a good find and we will return. You need to get into the Gambian way of life though and accept you're in a Third World country ! But, plenty of good food, drink, sun, sea etc etc.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 5, 2016
The hotel cleaning this was under par for a four star hotel and the staff kept harassing me and my wife just because I was a black male and my wife is white they were under the assumption that she had hired me so the experience has truly traumatised me and I shall not be returning ther ever and will not be Recommending anyone to go there what a pity that spoiled my holiday
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, England

Up-market hotel on the beach, with good facilities

Posted Mar 5, 2016
Pros: Wonderful position on the huge beach with easy access to Banjul and the surrounding shops, bars and restaurants. Standard of comfort was good.
Cons: Stop selfish guests from "reserving" sunbeds with their towels, while they go for breakfast,leave the hotel to shop, eat or visit a local attraction.
Location: Visit James Island (Slave fort), Monkey Park, Crocodile Pool, Serrekunda Market..Boat trip from Lamin Lodge, Fish Market, plus beachside eateries
I spent 2 weeks at this hotel with my fiance who travelled from Lagos, Nigeria (I travelled from the UK). I made a prior booking by email to be picked up at the airport, directly with the hotel, as my partner and I were arriving late on a Sunday night. No vehicle from the hotel was at the airport to collect us and we had to plump for a taxi, with no local currency ! The hotel counter staff on duty did not seem surprised or unduly bothered. Our room, (number 257) was spacious, had good storage, a small fridge for our snacks/drinks and a comfortable bed. On the downside, the TV & phone didn't workl and there were several large cracks in the window. In the bathroom, the sink tap jiggled about in its housing, not what one would expect from a 4 star hotel, but.. this was Africa ! We reported these problems to the reception next day. The TV was repaired almost immediately, but none of the other items were attended to any time during the holiday. The buffet breakfast was superb with all of the western favourites, e.g. bacon, beans, grilled tomatoes, plus different cereals, fruit and breads.Eggs and pancakes were cooked to order and staff filled coffe & tea cups frequently. My lady & I enjoyed 3 massages in the health centre..brilliant ! Happy hour in the lobby bar 6-8pm was great..They make a superb Margarita !!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dakar

Not quite what it was portrayed o be

Posted Mar 2, 2016
Pros: Helpful and friendly underpaid staff. The bed was comfy, just don't mind the stained sheets.
Cons: The food. The fixed menu, the buffet and the fruit variety
Older hotel past its glory days. Staff tries very hard but facilities are run-down and the food is bland. Frozen peas and carrots are not crispy seasonal vegetables. Only 2 different types of fruit for breakie in a tropical country ? mmmmm. The shuttle from the airport was nowhere to be found and more than double the normal taxi ride ( max 600 Dalasi, a fixed price with a little room for bargaining just after the arrivals gate). Free internet in the lobby. It's free but don't expect it to work when everyone in the hotel is using it. Ask for your free sim card at check in. Someone will set it up for you. Look for Assan, the hotel cleaner, he ´s super helpful. Give him your card with the leftover credit at the end. Romm safes can be rented but should be included in the price. All this being said, if you got your vacation for a really cheap price, you got what you paid for and you should be happy. As a business traveller who thought he was getting a good deal, it was disappointing.