Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina, USA

In for a wedding

Posted May 16, 2016
Pros: We especially liked all the staff at this hotel. They were helpful and pleasant. The rooms were comfortable. The food was fabulous.
Cons: I have no suggestions.
Location: Lovely Beaches, wonderful shopping.
Our stay was delightful. Because we were there for a wedding, we unfortunately did not make use of all their many services. The pool was clean and very pleasant. The food was very varied and delicious. The service was excellent. They served us some very special entrees unique to the region. So Wonderful! The bed was very comfortable. We used the cleaning service and were very pleased with their efforts and timing. The front desk was very warm and professional. Their attention to details was exceptional. Their helpful tips made our beach and shopping times effortless. Security was professional and very kind. We highly recommend this hotel. Lovely setting, clean and comfortable room, delicious food, many services, and especially for the kind, thoughtful and professional staff. We look forward to another stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M. J

For a comfortable stay at Calicut

Posted Apr 4, 2016
Nice and well kept Hotel for a comfortable stay. Food qualiry excellent. Hotel staff is courteous and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ahmedabad

stay with comfort

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: staff service and hospitality
warm welcome with taking care of comfort tasty food service .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tirtha Roka from Gorkha Nepal

Old hotel

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: hospitality
Cons: Must have to improved all the facilities , better renovation
Location: Location is good , near sea
What I expected from Taj Group of Hotel was not that , very old hotel but staff was really great , nice hospitality
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by piyush from gaborone, botswana

Took extra time

Posted Apr 13, 2014
The manager made an extra effort to give my parents a comfortable stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Worth every single penny

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Worth for money you spend there.Hotel staff is super good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Arjun from Bangalore, India

A decent place to stay in Calicut.

Posted Oct 8, 2013
Pros: The kitchen and restaurant staff were very good.
Cons: Condition of the bathrooms.
The staff was very nice, the Chef went out of his way to make us a cake at the last minute for a birthday we were attending and the entire restaurant staff was very accommodating and friendly. The food was excellent too. However, the room was a little disappointing. the mini-bar was empty, house-keeping had not attended to our room until 4pm in the afternoon, and fittings like faucets, shower heads etc in the bathroom were obviously very old and not properly maintained. The pool too was not available as the circulation equipment was out of order and the water had taken on a scarily green hue. All in all, it was a decent stay made better by the staff and the food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Karthik from Bangalore, India.

Hotel is just 5 minutes walk from Calicut Beach.

Posted Sep 9, 2013
Pros: Close proximity to the beach and bus stand is just 2-3 kms away. Room price is worth paying Rs.3,600 for a stay at a 5 star hotel like Taj Gateway.
Cons: Gateway Restaurant's Ala Carte food menu price is quite on higher side and dinner food quality was average and not that great for the price charged.
Location: Hotel is located inside city and close to Palayam bus boarding point. S.M street for Halwas. Kappad Beach is just 20 kms from hotel & worth a visit.
First of all the contact phone number listed on Expedia itenarary was incorrect. I visited hotel's website on my smartphone and got the correct phone number. Though I stayed there for only one night, I had a great time at Taj Gateway Hotel located on P.T.Usha Road, Calicut. Even though it is not a beach resort, the hotel is just 5 minutes walk from Calicut beach. Being a 5 star hotel, the facilities and services offered are of high international standards which we can expect from Ratan Tata's Taj group of hotels. The hotel staff were very helpful and always smiling. They have a nice Ayurvedic massage and treatment center. Hot buffet breakfast is served in morning and really loved the uthappams and vattayappam. The chef personally came and inquired about the quality of food, and if I required anything of my choice. I felt as if I was some celebrity or a prince. regarding the swimming pool I think the water had too much chlorine content and my eyes had a burning sensation as soon as I got into the pool water.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel Gateway

Posted Nov 4, 2012
Pros: The lobby in wood.
Location: Very Good. Walking distance to the beach.
The hotel is a bit old and the rooms need some renovation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Billings, Montana

We love the Gateway at Calicut.

Posted Feb 27, 2011
We enjoyed our stay at The Gateway Calicut. Our room was very clean with wood floors that were vacuumed and damp mopped every day. The restaurant food was varied and delicious. The pool was a welcome diversion in the afternoon heat.