Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 2, 2017 on Hotels
Very friendly and helpful staffs. Good food. Enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best bet in Calicut

Posted Jun 23, 2017
It was an absolutely wonderful stay. It has a resort kind of feel and the Taj hospitality is always one of the best. I cant find a single negative point to mention here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2017 by The Gateway Hotel Calicut, Hotel Management
Greetings from The Gateway Hotel, Calicut! We thank you for patronizing The Gateway Hotel, Calicut & the Taj Group of Hotels. We are deeply indebted to you for having given us your valuable feedback whilst your stay with us at The Gateway Hotel, Calicut. We appreciate your feedback, as it is indeed the pre-eminent barometer by which we can measure our achievements and shortfalls, in providing the best of services to our valued guests, such as yourself. We are extremely happy to note that you were happy with your stay with us; it is such comments which motivates and helps us to see the end of the day in a positive manner and makes our effort worth the while. We look forward to your next visit to serve you better and we would always be delighted to welcome you, your family & friends to our Hotel and hope that it would be in the near future. Warm Regards Vikas Parimoo General Manager The Gateway Hotel Beach Road
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from trichur

An old stinking hotel withever descending name..

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: Only nostalgia , we thought it would be the same pleasant one but unfortunately not so.
Cons: As I mentioned rectification should start from reception itself..
Location: It's all ok , the beech and nearby restaurants..
Let us start with check in, we were delayed to get in to our vasco da gama suite by on end half an our. That is 3.30pm.we waited from 2.45 in the lobby ,luckily and generously they showed us the rest roomin thefoir for temporary relief..as we planned to enjoy the local cuisine we did not dare to try the food from taj. We had to face a few hooligans from the bar blocking our entry at the gates of gateway taj Calicut which is a narrow one so that ,at a time one vehicle can pass..and they were letting exit it through the same entry gate even though there was an exit gate which is permanently closed .reported the abuse and threatening experienced to the administrator /manager ,received with lesser enthusiasm.. We fled early in the morning feeling disappointed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 19, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Greetings from 'The Gateway Hotel, Calicut'! We thank you for patronizing The Gateway Hotel, Calicut & the Taj Group of Hotels. We are deeply indebted to you for having given us your valuable feedback whilst your stay with us at The Gateway Hotel, Calicut. We wish to inform you that your valuable feedback have been discussed with the concerned team. Please be assured that your feedback has been taken seriously and will be put to good use. We appreciate your feedback, as it is indeed the pre-eminent barometer by which we can measure our achievements and shortfalls, in providing the best of services to our valued guests, such as yourself. We look forward to your next visit to serve you better and we would always be delighted to welcome you, your family & friends to our hotel and hope that it would be in the near future. Warm Regards Vikas Parimoo General Manager The Gateway Hotel Beach Road P.T.Usha Road, Calicut
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The best place to stay in Calicut

Posted Mar 26, 2017
The hotel has changed so much for the better since we last visited.Please keep up the great work.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful stay

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
It was a comfortable stay. Would surely like to come back
5 out of 5
by AARON from Mumbai

super hotel for business

Posted Jul 11, 2016 on Hotels
The staff is awesome from the Top management, restaurant & Housekeeping staff & even the bell boys & doorman Excellent food at the restaurant
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good otel by location

Posted May 30, 2016 on Hotels
good place and location but he beach view isn't for this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina, USA

In for a wedding

Posted May 16, 2016
Pros: We especially liked all the staff at this hotel. They were helpful and pleasant. The rooms were comfortable. The food was fabulous.
Cons: I have no suggestions.
Location: Lovely Beaches, wonderful shopping.
Our stay was delightful. Because we were there for a wedding, we unfortunately did not make use of all their many services. The pool was clean and very pleasant. The food was very varied and delicious. The service was excellent. They served us some very special entrees unique to the region. So Wonderful! The bed was very comfortable. We used the cleaning service and were very pleased with their efforts and timing. The front desk was very warm and professional. Their attention to details was exceptional. Their helpful tips made our beach and shopping times effortless. Security was professional and very kind. We highly recommend this hotel. Lovely setting, clean and comfortable room, delicious food, many services, and especially for the kind, thoughtful and professional staff. We look forward to another stay.
5 out of 5
by sk from Canada

Great location, great service

Posted May 8, 2016 on Hotels
This is simply the best option in Calicut. Its location is central, it has options for dining around the area, a market, its food is good and reasonably priced. The property is old and needs renovation but is overall good service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M. J

For a comfortable stay at Calicut

Posted Apr 4, 2016
Nice and well kept Hotel for a comfortable stay. Food qualiry excellent. Hotel staff is courteous and friendly.