Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canberra

Horrible experience

Posted May 25, 2017
When booking Andalay I was under the misinformation that it was an adults only boutique resort & spa. 1- It's not a resort. 2 - there is no 'spa' on site, unless you count the bamboo hut massages. 3. Alex the guy who helped us check in was rude and off putting from the moment we arrived. The room itself was ok, the beds are hard as rocks. First night there we had dinner on site which was a awful the moment we sat down. There was a child behind us sitting with her parents and she had her ipad playing whatever game so we could all hear it - if you're reading this & you have kids - PLEASE be considerste for the people around you. Buy your child some headphones. For the food, my partners dish came out promptly, I was then left waiting for mine, when I received it my partner had finished. I complained to staff regarding to two photos I have attached and Alex asked ME to contact Expedia and change the details as the wording is misleading. I was beyond angry by now. After a crap 12-24 hours, I asked for a refund so we could go stay somewhere else as we were both were unhappy with the service and the response. Alex offered a room upgrade and I'd like to say things improved, they didn't. The bed was still rock hard, the main wood feature wall has severe water damage, looked like a major health risk with the mould. With the room upgrade we now had a deep soaking spa bath! Lovely! Filled the bath, bubbles in & jets on. The jets spurted old dirty poo water. Never again!!
4 out of 5
by Gary

I would go back

Posted Jan 10, 2017 on Hotels
Friendly service. Great location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 17, 2015
Great , good-value place right on beach and close to bars, restaurants etc
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful getaway, right on the beach, ocean view

Posted May 16, 2013 on Hotels
The Andalay Resort is located right on the beach (in contrast to many others on Ko Lanta). The "Sunset rooms" have views over the pool towards the ocean, steps from the beach, and would be my recommendation (No 105/106 are the best view). They are nicely decorated and of good size, in very good condition, just as shown in the photos. The service is universally friendly, attentive and competent. The hotel has only 16 rooms, so it is very private. The beach is clean. The hotel restaurant is good. Of many hotels I have staid at in Thailand on various beaches, this is certainly one of my favourites and I have already recommended it to friends. The price, especially in the low season and at the hotels.com discount, is a great deal!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Scott from London, UK

lovely little hotel resort by the beach

Posted Nov 10, 2012
Pros: Location to the beach
Cons: Smell from the bathroom
Stayed here after finding a very good deal on expedia. We stayed in the sunset room which overlooked the pool and was literally 5 mins from the beach. So the location is fantastic and would cost 3 - 4 times the price we paid in a European beach or the Caribbean. The bathroom did have a funny musty smell and we could never quite get the air conditioning level just right ( but at least it did work). The staff were very attentive when you needed help and the breakfast is lovely. I would definitely recommend this place to stay for mature couples as there is not much night life but more than enough places to eat and the beach is so peaceful if you just want to get some sun and chill out.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Andalay on the beach on Koh Lanta

Posted Jan 24, 2011 on Hotels
Great little place - right on the beach, great food, laid back atmosphere, helpful staff...exactly what we were looking for. Cons - REALLY hard bed which the hotel tried to alleviate (at our request) by putting a duvet on the bed under the sheets. Some street noise but it didn't bother us with the AC on. We would definitely stay there again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Durban, South Africa

Relaxing Koh Lanta

Posted Jan 10, 2011 on Hotels
The staff were very friendly and helpful, but perhaps service could be improved somewhat, by for example having someone on duty in the pool/beach area to take drinks orders. Our hotel room was beautifully decorated, but had a lack of storage. There was only hanging space in the cupboard - not even one shelf - so we were forced to live out of our suitcases for a week. The shower wasn't great, but I think this might be a general problem on the islands as were had similar problems elsewhere. The rooms each have a little veranda which is surrounded by a very pretty pond. This was a little choked up and neglected. I just felt that with a little more effort, by sorting out the above it would take the hotel to the next level. However, my husband thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just on the beach

Posted Dec 13, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel on the beach. +++ The beach is super! Good location. Breakfast was little disappointing although it's still better than nothing. Lady at the reception was very friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

sehr angenehmes Hotel direkt am Strand

Posted Nov 27, 2016
sehr angenehmes und gemütliches Hotel direkt am langen und sauberen Strand - aufmachen mit Blick aufs Meer.
3 out of 5
by M D from Bangkok

Claros y oscuros...

Posted May 26, 2016 on Hotels
Lo mejor del hotel, su personal, amabilisimos todos. Tambien destacar que las habitaciones disfrutan de unas maravillosas vistas a la playa que queda a pocos metros, por lo que se duerme maravillosamente arrullado por el incesante sonido de las olas. Ahora lo peor, pese a mis quejas y a que me consta que limpian bien y ponen medidas, tienen un problema de cucarachas, cada mañana encontraba una, king size, medio muerta en la habitacion....repelus...