Ratings based on 769 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from JHB

Quiet and on beach. 10 min walk to town.

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Rooms spread out on steep hillside so beware older folk or the physicallly unfit. Very nice, private and quiet rooms with ocean views. Hotel staff looked overworked - grumpy.,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 11, 2017
It was a really nice hotel, really convenient location!! I loved the room! Some stuff struggles with English, but give it some effort and they will most probably understand what you want:))
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Venice, California

Nice cottages with that island feel

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Pros: Loved the location and it had a private beach being that it was on the end. It had a decent breakfast buffet and eat and have a beautiful view.
Cons: Maybe more beach loungers could be added and restaurant waiters were not very attentive, we sometimes would sit for 10 minutes before they would come
Location: Loved the location and pretty view of bay, lots of places to eat, bars, and shopping just a short walk up the beach. Hippies Bar had a great fire show
We really loved the little cottages that dotted the hillside with nice beach below but be prepared for a hike straight up into the hills. We didn't know that is was like that and our cottage was way at the top tucked in the hill, my daughter had a bad accident in 2004 broke both legs and there was no way she could make that hike everyday. I explained to the manager and they were so nice and accommodating and gave us a cottage closer and on a lower row and we had a beautiful view of the bay and ocean. We had a great stay here, rooms are basic but very clean and we enjoyed the bar at sunset. We would definitely stay here again it had that island feel that we were looking for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice place to stay

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Very nice hotel. Some of the rooms are VERY high up, so if you have heavy luggage you will need to wait for the shuttle. Ok strip of beach for hotel residents only - could use more beach chairs that are in better shape. Water is amazing. Very lovely hotel room, nice shower, great bed, great massages, ok distance from "downtown".
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Beautiful views but that's about it!

Posted Mar 17, 2017
The hotel has a beautiful view and if you stay in the new wing the bungalows are brand new. However, make sure you are getting the new wing if you pay for it. We arrived and went to our room that was supposed to be 1 large bed in the new wing. We had two full beds pushed together and it seemed like we were in an older room based on the outdated bathroom but didn't think too much about it. As we were leaving the hotel we walked through the entire pathway to the front desk and realized we were definitely in the old wing. I told the front desk girl and she refuses to help me and you like not refund the difference. Then she made us pay for waters from the minibar that the bellman said was free when he dropped us off. I even clarified with him to be sure because usually you have to pay for the minibar. When we had tours during the day in koh phi phi the tour guides usually pick you up from your hotel and the hotel staff was very bad at communicating where they would pick us up/who. No one really speaks english. The staff members are pretty rude. There are many other villa resorts near by that I highly recommend taking a look at first.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great views but a bit tired in places

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: Great location - easy walk to the main town
Cons: Bathrooms need updating
Location: Easy walk to the town with lots of choice of restaurants nearby
Transfer by longtail boat from the ferry port was quick and efficient. Boat was waiting for us (they know the times ferries arrive so no need for advance warnings). We picked a Grand Deluxe room and found ourselves in B220 (second row) with assurance this was a Grand Deluxe. I since found out that the first row are Grand Deluxe rooms Annn so not sure what happened and why we ended up in row B. Room itself was clean and the decor new and bed comfy - balcony likewise. The view over the bay fantastic! Bathroom let the overall rating down. It appears that the rooms were upgraded but the bathrooms not as they are very basic indeed (no hot water in the sinks) and much older (decor wise) than the main room. Breakfast was ok, but a bit of a "scrum down" but had everything needed. I would class the hotel as 3 star - the view as 5 star......that is where your money is spent (and it's probably worth it) :-)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Perfect location

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Right on the beach and close to the centre but further away enough so you can still have a quiet night. The rooms are on a steep hill so be prepared, but after reading up on the hotel we expected this. Big rooms with patio and AC made this a perfect stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario Canada

Reasonable hotel

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Busy spot with a large number of cabins in varying condition, located on the side of a hill. Lots of uphill walking required. Beaches are small, shallow, with some raw sewage flowing into the ocean next to this hotel. Other beaches were a little better. Breakfast had a good selection of food, but, disorganized at times.
4 out of 5
by Grant

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 19, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Jaclyn

Seriously, don't book if you want a place to sleep

Posted Jan 12, 2017 on Hotels
This was a terrible experince from the start. We get there, along with about 20 other people, and they annouce that they overbooked and have no more rooms. What??? Some people were freaking out. My friends and I decided we were in paradise and some things you don't have control over so whatever. They walk us to the next resort where they say they have villas booked for us. Well, the resort has no idea we were coming and they are also sold out. Great, did anyone call ahead? Nope. So, we all walk, with all our luggage, to the next place. Literally a 1 star compared to our villa we had originally booked with Bay View. We were over wasting our time so dropped our bags and headed to the beach. This place was half the cost of what we payed for Bayview, but they refused to reimburse or credit the difference. The poor guy at check in was practically in tears from all the angry tourist. What it comes down to was terrible management. The next day, as we are finally checking in, there is another group that they have no room for, including a family of 5. Same thing the next day. DO NOT BOOK THIS PLACE THEY WILL NOT HAVE A ROOM FOR YOU. On top of that, I got bed bugs from the place they put us in the 1st night. Food was OK, service was terrible. 2.5 hours for dinner, 30 minutes for water and drinks and brought us back wrong change, twice. I wish I had a good thing to say about this place, because the view and accommodations are beautiful, but I don't.