Ratings based on 103 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Bangkok

Great luxury hotel!

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Pros: the pool is nice, the villa was very good and the facilities in the villa too, kids play area, clean and tidy resort, staff were very professional
Cons: F&B needs improvement - beach is sort of missing - not very child friendly considering the design of the resort - but is still good to explore
Very nice hotel - superb pool and facilities - location is a toss up as it depends if people want to spend time at the hotel or visit places around krabi as its not the best location to move around krabi but a great location if you want to stay at the resort cut off from all the other beaches and the town
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2017 by Liliana Shkepu, Hotel Management
Dear Suneet, Thank you very much for kindly taking the time to write such a great review for us. I sincerely appreciate your feedback regarding our pool, villa, facilities and kids area. Our ladies and gentlemen will also be delighted to hear that you thought their service was very professional as I know they work very hard and are very proud to create memorable experiences for all our guests. Phulay Bay is a hidden resort, located by a national park outside of the busy areas, a perfect place for those who are seeking to disconnect, relax and recharge batteries. We do have a great beach right next to the hotel and we provide kayaks and bicycles and car complimentary for those who wish to visit. The nearest local village with restaurants, bars and grocery stores is only 5 minutes away and you can easily book a taxi or rent a motor bike. As you kindly mentioned it definitely is a tossup and depends on what people may want however we can always cater to your needs. I must apologize if our F&B did not meet your expectations as we do try our best to cater to our guests needs whether it be their food preferences or restrictions. I am very sorry and surprised to hear that you thought the hotel was not child friendly as we have a great kid’s room, babysitting services, activities and games to keep your little ones occupied. However we do hope for the opportunity to turn your cons into pros by warmly welcoming you back and create more memorable experiences for you. Warmest regards, Liliana Shkepu Director of Rooms Phulay Bay, A Ritz Carlton Reserve
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Excellent Royal Beach Villa

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Property is very well maintained and service was exceptional. The staff is very courteous and eager to help!
5 out of 5
by Shai

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 21, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Food has to be improved

Posted Jan 21, 2017 on Hotels
I was torn between Rayavadee and The Ritz but in the end opted the more expensive one because it is not an ordinary Ritz resort but a reserve in a unique location. I am glad that I picked The Ritz. It is a bit far out but the complimentary trip to Koh Hong makes up for those beach bums. I stayed at the Reserve Sea View Pool Villa and the room was out of this world. Everything was perfect. I dare say the hotel pool is the BEST in Krabi if not the entire Thailand. Unfortunately, I was not too impressed by the massage and the facial I had at the spa. The food was rather disappointing too (same as the other Ritzes around the world I have to say). I tried both Thai and Western dishes and had to return them. The breakfast was decent. The a la carte menu is a nice touch but the pastry section is lame. They should ask The Ritz in Hong Kong for some pointers :-). My butler Tanya was very nice but she was very busy during my short stay. I think I would probably have felt left out had I stayed for a few more nights. There is room for improvement but I think it is the BEST hotel in Krabi and I have already recommended it to all my friends on social media.
5 out of 5
by Annette

One of a kind

Posted Dec 29, 2016 on Hotels
Amazing place and staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver

BEST HOTEL EVER!

Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is impeccable and the service is even more impressive. You are pampered and awed from the second you walk in the door. A butler comes with the stay, who books reservations for dinner, escorts you around the resort and draws bubblebaths for you while you're away...the pool is immaculate, the grounds are unbelievably exotic and the food is superb. Worth every penny for a totally luxurious vacation!! Best place ever for a honeymoon or anniversary!! Returning is now my life goal. Every hotel after Phulay Bay was subpar. Thank you Beet and Poppy for an unforgettable vacation experience!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 10, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, Thank you so much for writing such an incredible review. We are so glad that you felt pampered and spoiled by Beet and Poppy during your recent stay with us. Our pool is a great spot to spend the entire day and the grounds are a work in progress . We are glad to hear that the entire experience was worth every penny and that your life goal is to come back. We are looking forward having you soon with us. Warmest regards, Liliana Shkepu Director of Rooms Phulay Bay, A Ritz Carlton Reserve
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

It was OK for a Ritz

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Pros: Great service, close to airport, overall a nice, unique place. They seemed to be renovating many items, perhaps the issues we had will improve.
Cons: Rooms felt outdated, finishing worn out (rust or caulking). Food was disappointment, especially for Ritz and Thailand.
Location: The beach area, a few min walk from the property is fun to explore when the tide is out. Also, there are several islands and things to see by boat.
Recognizing that this was a Ritz Reserve hotel, I left pondered the real meaning of "customized experience" vs. getting a little worn out. The service was 4.5 - 5 Star, the condition of the property was more like 3, and the lunch and dinner food was disappointing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 10, 2016 by Liliana Shkepu, Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments, regarding your recent stay at Phulay Bay, A Ritz Calrton Reserve. Without constructive feedback from our guests such as yourself, it is not possible for our company to measure the quality of the services provided. We take great pride in the level of service and attention to detail that we are able to provide our guests, and when their expectations are not met, we have failed in our primary endeavor to ensure both you and future guests receive the service expected of us. We are sad to know that you did not like the quality of the food and you feel that the rooms are outdated. We are doing recently an intensive maintenance work to give a fresher air to the villas. Once again, my sincere apologies and we look forward to welcoming you back and extend to you the standards of excellence you have come to expect from Phulay Bay, A Ritz Carlton Reserve. Warmest regards, Liliana Shkepu Director of Rooms Phulay Bay, A Ritz Carlon Reserve
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Stunning property and service!

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: Quite possibly one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at..the property was stunning and the staff beyond helpful. The anticipated pretty much everything you wanted.
Cons: I wish I knew when I checked in that Breakfast was available in room as a service....I thought it was just a buffet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 12, 2016 by Liliana Shkepu, Hotel Management
Dear Kenneth A, I would like to firstly thank you very much for taking the time to write this wonderful review and feedback. Your comments really mean a lot to us and we are more than delighted to hear that you consider our hotel to be the best you have ever stayed at. Our ladies and gentlemen will really appreciate your kind words on their service and efforts as I know they all thrived to make your stay a memorable one. I must sincerely apologize for not being clear in regards to options for Breakfast in villa however should we be given the opportunity to welcoming you back, we will certainly be delighted to arrange the most memorable Breakfast in villa for you. Thank you very much again for such kind feedback and we do hope to warmly welcome you back in the nearest future. Best regards, Liliana Shkepu Director of Rooms Phulay Bay, A Ritz Carlton Reserve
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shanghai

Wonderful Retreat in Fantasyland

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: Internet
Cons: Beach
Location: Did the snorkeling at Hong Island, biked the nearby villages and walked among the lush gardens filled with flowers, coconuts and water!
Outstanding service and comfort! Wish the beach was more accessible but the pool is huge and beautiful as well as a better option...Our private Butler Yid was fabulous, friendly, fast and went the extra-distance making sure we were pleased 24/7!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2016 by Liliana Shkepu, Hotel Management
Dear Mickey and Mini, Firstly I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to write this kind review. Our ladies and gentlemen really appreciate your kind feedback on our service and the comfort of our reserve. I passed on to Yid your kind message and he was very happy that you enjoyed our resort. Please accept my apologies for the beach not being very accessible. Phulay Bay is a hidden resort where we take great pride in delivering an excellent service, unique villas and facilities surrounded by incredible landscape. We do hope for the opportunity to warmly welcome you back in the nearest future. Kind regards, Liliana Shkepu Director of Rooms Phulay Bay, A Ritz Carlton Reserve
5 out of 5
by Chee Keong

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 2, 2016 on Hotels