Ratings based on 120 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Great hotel in a great location

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Perfect location in Kantiang Bay with an amazing cliff side view of the ocean. Hotel is located on the quieter side of the island perfect fit relaxation. There are many good restaurants nearby as well as great options at the hotel restaurant. The rest of the island is easily accessible by motorbike (available for rent through hotel). Wonderful and friendly staff, very modern and comfortable rooms. Would recommend to anyone!
5 out of 5
by David A

Gem of a Hotel in a Great Area

Posted Mar 8, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed at The Houben for three days and nights (booked two originally but wanted to stay longer). Amazing little hotel with great staff. Quiet, and in a relaxing area with amazing sunsets. Clean, beautiful rooms. Scooters on site to tour island. I highly recommend this gem of a hotel if you're looking for some quiet away from the Thailand norm.
4 out of 5
by Aileen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Texas

Hotel Staff Did Not Make Us Feel Welcome

Posted Dec 23, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: The hotel has wonderful architecture and the sunset views are spectacular.
Cons: The hotel management were horrible and treated us like we were unwanted. The hotel is really a fancy hostel.
Location: Koh Lanta is an island destination. There is beach, jungle, and restaurants and bars to explore.
While the sunset views of this small boutique hotel are spectacular, the hotel management was either completely unprepared for our arrival or didn't want us staying at the hotel. The hotel is managed by a European family. When I arrived, the owner looked me directly in the face and ignored me as I carried several bags up to the hotel check-in by myself. Inside the check-in, we were again made to feel unwelcome and ignored in favor another patron who was asking about laundry service. Keep in mind, it is a two hour boat and car ride from the airport to arrive here. We were tired, dirty, and in need of a room. Of course, the room was not prepared for us. We were sat in the bar, where we were charged for water (I have to emphasize we were exhausted). We really did try to make the best of it, but we were just not wanted at the hotel. After waiting an hour, we were given a room. Luckily, we were able to explore and enjoy Koh Lanta. The regular working staff at the hotel were pleasant (Thai hostesses, groundsmen, and housekeepers). But the management is just horrible. My instinct tells me we were poorly treated because we were South Asian. Had we been stuck at this "resort" it would have been a horrible destination.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Our Fantastic Stay at 'The Houben'

Posted Dec 14, 2016 on Hotels
Our recent stay was amazng. The staff were incredibly friendly and very helpful. Breakfasts were fantastic and the restaurant was equally as good. Above all The Houben is a gem in the Ko Lanta hotel scene, ideally located about 200m walk to the village of Kantieng Bay, with its small, but well equiped supermarket, restaurants for dinner or lunch and a safe swimming beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect stay at an amazing hotel!

Posted Dec 11, 2016
My husband and I spent a few nights here for our honeymoon and the staff really made it special for us. They went out of their way to make sure our stay was comfortable and perfect. The hotel itself is absolutely beautiful with breathtaking views. We watched the sunset from our balcony every evening.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Gorgeous hotel. Staff needs to change

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Terrible staff and food. Amazing location, views, pool and rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2016 by The Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Ms.Mari , Please allow me an opportunity to introduce myself, my name is Hathaithip , and i am the the manager of the Houben Hotel . The guest service team has advised me of the service you received during the stay with us . On behalf of the hotel , I would like to sincerely apologize for this . We work hard to make sure we offer the best service to our guests so please accept our apologize once again if our service couldn't reach your expectation . Best Regards, Hathaithip
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Amazing views and location, bad staff

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Would not stay here again. If you are used to 5 star hotels and resorts, this is not the place for you. If you have been staying in backpacker hostels and 3 star resorts, it would be considered amazing. The whole point of paying that extra money when you book a room, is for the little extras and overall experience, which we did not get at all. For starters, we reached the lobby area and the staff IMMEDIATELY asked what we had organized in regards to our transportation to our next hotel or location tomorrow morning. Already felt rushed out from an exhausting trip! It completely ruined my stay from then on. All I could think about was, these people just want us out, and couldn't relax. Staff are not talkative or smiley at all. Didn't ask how we were, how our trip was, just cold, nothing. Asked to have our room cleaned 3 times before it was done. I like the way they clean the rooms though. Folded our clothes etc. Rooms and views, amazing. Can't complain. Location was the best, in the clean part of the island. Many places to eat nearby. Overall it's a great complex, just needs to change the staff and I would give it 5 stars
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2016 by The Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Ms.Mari , Please allow me an opportunity to introduce myself, my name is Hathaithip , and i am the the manager of the Houben Hotel . The guest service team has advised me of the service you received during the stay with us . First I would like to thank you very much for your kind mentioned to the room and view that it could amaze you but I would like to sincerely apologize for the above mentioned . I would like to inform you that they normally do work hard to make sure the guests would receive the best service and comfortable stay . So please accept our apologize once again if our team didn't work hard enough to reach your expectation . Your comments are highly appreciated and certainly we will use them for our improvements . We are thankful to having you stay at our hotel and looking forward to your next visit to the Houben again. Best Regards, Hathaithip
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and chill hotel with great service

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was unforgettably good and the view from the room was gorgeous. Not all was perfect about the room but the great service from the staffs at Houben made the flaws negligible in the end. Housekeeping is done twice a day and we appreciate the hotel's effort in making our stay so comfortable. They remembered our preferences and handled our queries promptly. For that reason, we returned to Houben for our 2nd stay in Koh Lanta. This round we left Houben being even more satisfied than before as they presented us with a bottle of red wine welcoming us for our return stay. This is a personal touch from them which many 5-starred hotels took for granted. This place is highly recommendable to anyone whose purpose of stay is for a recharge or a romantic getaway. Their pool is another great reason to be here. We will return again for the 3rd time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your kind review. We do rally hope that we would have a chance to welcoming you again and again . Best Regards, The Management Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Canada

Beautiful and Relaxing!

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Pros: I really enjoyed the comfortable bed and room. Breakfast and service were very good.
Location: A few dining options, snorkeling and diving nearby. Not a lot of nightlife.
This is an excellent hotel if you wish to relax. The rooms are clean and spacious. The bed is one of the most comfortable that I have ever slept in. The room has a great view and it was wonderful to enjoy the breeze off the ocean. The breakfast was delicious with a number of selections to choose from. It came with great coffee, lattes, tea, fresh juice, and a fruit plate along with the main order. Fresh and tasty better than a buffet. The service and attention was outstanding. There is a small town steps away that has a few dining options. A small, easy to drive motorcycle can be rented for less than $10 for 24 hours to explore the island and other dining options. The beach is about 300 meters away and is safe and clean. This is not a place to party, but great to relax! Not good for those who cannot do any stairs. Great boutique hotel!