Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

2.5 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from East Hampton, NY

Beware. Amantra over books.

Posted Feb 13, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: New ownership
This is warning to all potential customers at this hotel. My wife and I booked a 5 day stay here at Amantra through Expidia. I had a reservation number and conformation number. Our credit card was already charged. We traveled over 30 hours to get to Koh Lanta and Amantra. However, when we checked in there was no rooms available for us. The manager offered us the worse room in there hotel (B4) and free breakfast (which we already paid for) plus free use of a moped. The worse part we were traveling with family who had 2 other rooms. We had to cut our losses and move to another hotel about 2k away and leave our family behind. I would definently avoid this hotel at all cost.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Eching, Germany

Overpriced rip off place

Posted Mar 11, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: The old building should be knocked down and rebuilt to modern day standards, Restaurant staff should be able to understand and speak English.
Location: Beach is full of rocks, one can't swim in the ocean, not enough sun beds, small strip of sand only. Sun umbrellas old, shabby and torn
we had booked a superior(!)room through expedia for a high price and asked especially for a quiet beach room, as we had read about the bad rooms in the old building. But we were put up in the old building next to the main road (very noisy), room had worn out, cheap basic furniture, no telefon, (reception about 10 minutes walk away), nothing in the mini bar, shower and WC on the same level, basic old instant water heater which bursts out and burns you, no handle on the bathroom door, no ventilationsystem - that's why fungus and mold was everywhere in the corners, health hazard, such rooms should not be allowed to be rented at all, and Expedia should not market it. Similar standard to that of the Soviet Union 1960 in Sibiria. Reception girls were nice, but could not help, as the hotel was full, next day we could have had a beach room for a higher price. When we asked at the meagre breakfast buffet for regular scrambled eggs, we were roughly refused, only if we pay extra. We complained to the manager also about the room, but he rebuffed us that we were the first people ever to complain. We told him he should read the comments in the net. We left the next day and found a much much nicer place for the same money with friendly management and staff and a wonderful extensive breakfast buffet.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jennine from Melbourne VIC, Australia

Average but would visit again

Posted Feb 23, 2013
Pros: pool and beach in same area. villa near pool
Cons: breakfast and bathroom
Location: A bit further out of Klong Nin. Getting a scooter is a good idea and also means you are not when you get where you are heading.
Good location and the beach front villas were in the best position. Great having the pool near the beach. Happy room was close to pool. Lunch and dinner were usual Thai standard. Breakfast was disappointing and had no bacon. Room was pleasant but bathroom is a bit outdated and not set up well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Mooi, rustig resort

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: Mooie, luxe kamer met een geweldige service en personeel, direct aan zee
Cons: Rustige locatie, weinig uitgaansgelegenheden in de buurt. Ideaal om tot rust te komen of met kleine kinderen.
Location: Direct aan zee. Rustig eiland.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

รู้สึกผิดหวังทั้งในสิ่งอำนวยความสะดวกและการบริการ

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: ที่ตั้งของโรงแรมที่ติดหาด
Cons: ทั้งการบริการองพนักงาน และ สิ่งอำนวยความสะดวกในห้องพัก และ ของภายนอกโรงแรม
ทำเลที่ตั้งค่อนข้างดี เพราะติดหาด แต่การบริการของพนักงานค่อนข้างไม่เต็มที่ ทั้งในสิ่งอำนวยความสะดวกต่างๆ ค่อนข้างผิดหวัง อาจจะเป็นเพราะเป็นช่วง Low season แต่ยังไงก็แล้วแต่ก็ควรจะมีให้สม่ำเสมอกัน ในห้องพักไม่มี ชา กาแฟ และ กาน้ำร้อนให้ กาน้ำร้อนต้องขอ แต่ไม่มีชา กาแฟให้ บริเวณภายนอกโรงแรมไม่ได้รับการดูแลที่ดีมากนัก ดูรกๆในส่วนของสวน สระว่ายน้ำไม่สะอาด ไม่สามารถเล่นน้ำได้ ฝนตก ลูกค้าเดินตากฝนมา พนง ก็ไม่มาบริการร่ม หรือ แจ้งให้ยืมร่มเลย ปล่อยให้เดินตากฝน บรรยากาศไม่สวยเหมือนในรูป ทั้งภายนอกและภายใน ห้องพักดูเก่า
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from stockholm

Lugnt hotell på stranden

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Det var vårt andra besök. Och förhoppningsvis blir det också nästa år. Klong nin är en bra strand och amantra ligger lugnt på klong nin.
2 out of 5
by maite from A

Abgewirtschaftes Haus

Posted Feb 26, 2014
Das Zimmer war dürftig eingerichtet, das Bad bei zarteren Naturen durchaus schon ekelerregungstauglich. Unsere Nachbarn konnten wir zwar nicht sehen, aber gut hören. Hinter den Beachfrontbungalows verläuft die - bis in die Abendstunden - gutbefahrene Inselstrasse. Das Frühstück war mäßig. Der Strand aber schön. Da wir es uns leisten können, blieben wir nicht die gebuchten 4 Nächte, sondern fuhren tagsdrauf wieder ab.
2 out of 5
by Patrick from Paris

DECEVANT

Posted Nov 28, 2013
Pros: Proximité de la plage
Cons: revoir la qualité du petit dejeuner ( oeufs au plat rechauffé ) et 200 bath par personne !!!!!
Location: La plage et d autres hotels restaurants
Odeur tres imposante dans la salle de bain !!petit dejeuner le plus ordinaire de notre sejour ( 18 jours) et surtout le plus cher !!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Zu teuer

Posted Apr 10, 2013
Pros: Die Lage
Cons: Der Restaurant Service ist schlecht
Location: Ruhig und direkt am Strand
Für den Hotelstandard ist der Preis zu teuer. Es müssten einige Instandhaltungsmaßnahmen und Modernisierung durchgeführt werden. Wir hatten ein Zimmer mit Meerblick und da muss dringend das Badezimmer erneuert werden.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Düsseldorf, Deutschland

Top-Lage, aber zu teuer und Ausstattung schlecht

Posted Mar 4, 2013
Pros: die Lage, man war überall schnell und bequem und die Aussicht aufs Meer sowie der Sonnenuntergang...wunderschön! Aber das Lob gebührt eher Koh Lanta
Cons: die sehr sparsame Ausstattung des Zimmers und dass man über sehr steile Treppen gehen musste um in sein Zimmer zu gelangen. Nichts für Gehbehinderte!
Location: Die Lage ist natürlich top. Direkte Strandlage, und auch alle anderen Ziele, wie Bars, Restaurants, Wäscherei, Shops usw. sind sehr schnell erreicht.
Dieses Hotel sieht auf den ersten Blick sehr schön aus. Auf den zweiten Blick aber weniger. Wir hatten ein Seaview-Zimmer. Es war sauber aber sehr spartanisch eingerichtet. Meerblick hatten wir, aber auch eine Baustelle direkt unter unserem Fenster. Das Zimmer hatte nur einen Rollhocker, keinen Stuhl, auch nicht auf dem Balkon. Das Personal war korrekt, aber in Thailand habe ich schon andere Freundlichkeit erlebt. Wir waren auf einer Rundreise in Thailand und hatten mehrere Unterkünfte zum Vergleich. Dabei schneidet das Amantra im Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis am schlechtesten ab. Hätte es die Hälfte gekostet, wäre ich auch nicht so kritisch, doch hier ließ sich das Hotel die Vorteile der schönen Insel Lanta gut bezahlen. Die Umgebung war nämlich klasse und alles war sehr günstig. Das war ein schöner Ausgleich für die überteuerte Unterkunft.