Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Best vacation ever!

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: Beach Food Staff
Cons: Price of wine
Location: Remote location. No roads
For the money, this hotel is top notch. Best beach in Thailand. The restaurant is very good, and well priced. Very well run resort. Seafood buffet is worth dining. My only suggestion is to drop the price of a glass of wine. Two ounces for 200 B. Or, better yet, bring your own to the island. Overall, a "ten".
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Koh Ngai is most expensive and least beautiful

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Pros: It was fine. The room was very nice by Thai standards, but nothing was great.
Cons: My bed had a spider web on it- housekeeping came and changed it, front desk offered nothing to make it better. They give you NO information at desk
Koh Ngai is most expensive and less beautiful than nearby Koh Mook or Koh Kradan. There isn't even a store, so the hotel will just gouge you on the price of everything. Go eat next door, there's a reasonably priced and delicious local restaurant if you leave this hotel and turn left on the beach. I am SO GLAD we didn't book a one week holiday here - Koh Mook is so much better, with a local village, restaurants, and a really fun open air pub. This island was just all families.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bangkok

Expedia blew it, The resort made it worse.

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Pros: All I do know is that the resort should have handled this directly with Expedia and left me out of it. instead I spent a better part of my NYE arguing
Cons: and on the phone (on my dime) being forced into pay for someone else's mistake, after already having spent over $1000 U.S. at this resort, it felt bad
Location: the rooms were spacious and pretty clean, that was great. they look very nice from the outside, but the interior design and layout was terrible.
The biggest issue was the management, though they are not completely at fault, as Expedia really dropped the ball on this one. I will be reluctant to book with Expedia again. A few days before traveling I had to modify my reservation, instead Expedia suggested I cancel the original itinerary and make a new booking. So we did. Once they confirmed my new reservation and cancellation of the old one, It seemed everything was in order. When we checked in to our resort, there was some confusion, but it got done. Later, the next day, an employee of the resort approaches me telling me that I have two bookings and I need to pay for the other one. I am then confronted by management, insisting that I pay for ,what I was told by Expedia, my cancelled booking. I told them that this was between them and Expedia, but they insisted that they had no contact with Expedia, that Expedia deals with their main office in Bangkok. They put me on the phone with the main office. For 30 minutes I was argued with, without any reason or remorse, that I HAD to pay. Finally, refusing to pay, I hung up and spent the next few hours on the phone trying to reach Expedia, on hold for an hour until finally I gave up. I don't know at the end of the day who was really at fault here, but I imagine it was some sort of miscommunication. Expedia confirmed to me that they had contacted the resort and that my original booking was cancelled, the resort said they never received any information from Expedia.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Joanne from Vancouver, Canada

Best place to stay.....best place to stay...

Posted Mar 19, 2014
Pros: Everything So well run So clean
Location: Directly on the beach. Not many activities, so that is what makes the island special. No roads!
We stayed in a cottage with a view of the ocean. Fantastic..... Food and beach...and staff all first rate. Prices in the restaurant were the same as the other beach places......so, why go out. Hotel buffet on Tueday night was fabulous..... We will return next year. Manager is top-notch!!!! Can not say enough good things about the resort, amazing! Thank you! Xoxoxo
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by ADRIANA from POLAND

Hotel on small island, Friendly staff

Posted Jan 9, 2014
Pros: Atmosphere - the staff smiling all the time.
Cons: Everything was great!!!
Location: The island is small but you can make a lot of boat trips to other islands.
I spent great Christmas time at Fantasy -everything was exellent especially staff - so kind and cheerfull !!! I would recomend this hotel to everyone who is searching for quiet place not overcrowded beach, clean rooms. Delicious food ! Reasonable prices.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cristian from Lima, Peru

Nice hotel with a great beach view

Posted Dec 16, 2013
Koh Ngai is a very beatiful and peaceful island, i think Fantasy has the best facilities among the 5 or 6 hotels in the island. The place is perfect for families or couples, if you want to party this is not the place to be.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 13, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 13, 2013
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Pros: Der Strand
Cons: Zu ruhig, etwas abgewohnt, Frühstück
Location: Nichts
Die Standard Zimmer sollten nur gewählt werden, wenn einem das Zimmer und der Ausblick egal sind. Haben uns auch nach dem ersten Eindruck Upgraden lassen... Das Essen ist okay, aber sehr teuer. Wir haben Gott sei Dank genug Getränke dabei gehabt, um sie nicht im total überteuerten Supermarkt kaufen zu müssen. Die Handtücher sind auch Marke uralt. Dafür entschädigt der Strand für einiges.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2016 by Sunee F, Hotel Management
Dear Khun Anonymous on Expedia - Thank you for choosing to stay at our resort and for the review. We care for feedbacks and comments from our guests as this helps us grow and improved, so your feedback and comments have been shared among the staff and the management.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Super Lage, aber schlechtes Management, abgewohnt

Posted Jan 21, 2016
Cons: Renovieren. Schatten am Strand und am Pool. Ausreichend Handtücher im Zimmer.
Das Koh Ngai Fantasy ist sehr schön gelegen, direkt am weißen Strand. Leider war unser Hillside Bungalow völlig abgewohnt, das Bad schimmelig und diev Einrichtung kaputt. Die ganze Anlage wirk auch schlecht gepflegt und vor allem in weiten Teilen ohne Liebe zum Detail angelegt. Viel zu wenige Schattenplätze am Strand und am Pool. Essen und Empfang waren ok, aber auch nicht mehr. Würde nicht wieder buchen.