Ratings based on 202 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hier kriegt Service eine ganz neue Bedeutung

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Mein Freund und ich waren fünf Nächte im Pimalai...Alleine schon der kostenlose Transfer von Krabi Flughafen wäre perfekt organisiert, das Highlight ist auf jedenfall die Fahrt auf dem Speedboot! Das Personal ist sehr freundlich und sehr aufmerksam...In unserem Deluxe Zimmer habe ich leider fremde Haare gefunden und habe daraufhin gebeten, dass das Zimmer nochmal geputzt wird....Wir haben als Entschädigung einen Upgrade in eine Pool Villa bekommen! Generell: Das Resort ist an einem Hang hochgebaut und in zwei Hälften aufgeteilt (geteilt durch eine Straße). Auf der oberen Hälfte befinden sich alle Pool Villen, der brühmte Infinity Pool (ist wirklich ein Highlight) und das Restaurant "Seven Seas" (Europäisches Essen und ziemlich teuer). Der Blick vom Infinity Pool oder vom Restaurant ist atemberaubend, vor allem beim Sonnenuntergang. Im oberen Teil ist es sehr steil, sodass man nicht wirklich zu Fuß gehen kann. Da ruft man einfach als Gast die Rezeption und ein Golfkart kommt vorbei. Auf der unteren Hälfte befinden sich alle anderen Zimmer und auch der Zugang zum Strand Befindet sich hier. Hier gibt es auch einen Infinity Pool. In der unteren Hälfte befindet sich auch das Restaurant "Spice 'n Rice" (Gute thailändische Küche). Der Strand ist sehr ruhig und schön, ich würde aber empfehlen gehen Januar/Februar auf die Inseln zu fliegen, da man zu der Zeit das beste Wetter hat, der Strand und das Wasser wunderschön sind und die High Season schon vorbei ist
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Relax tranquil living on Koh Lanta island.

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Charming villas, lovely views, food was great! I love the spa too.
Cons: The hotel is over 30 years old and the design (e.g the bathroom tiles) looks like it could do with a change. You could see from the 70s/80s design.
Location: Kan Tiang village is around 900m walk on the beach which is accessible when the tide is low. Some nice local cheap food and bars there.
We wanted a short getaway from Singapore. 1.5 hours flight to Krabi and another 2 hours transfer to Koh Lanta (van / speedboat / van transfer) . The speedboat transfer is amazing, with many beautiful small islands and Thai fishing boats around along the way. Koh Lanta is a sleepy island with various fishing village and Pimalai is simply a quiet place to chill and recharge. The hotel is 30 years old and probably the 1st luxury hotel on the island, but the views, the maintenance and the hospitality of the staff makes it such a charming resort. With the villas and rooms scattered all over the hill, the whole area feel very spaced out, very chill and quiet. Slightly disappointed that the Yoga House and the Beach bar is under renovation, however the noise is kept to a minimum.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2016
+ Great Hotel with stunning views and very friendly staff! + Well organised transport from Krabi airport. + Both available restaurants provided excellent food (see other guest comments). Note: Beach restaurant is under construction for the peak season.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Very scenic and quiet location next to beach

Posted May 26, 2016
Great coordination for transfers there and back by pimalai staff. No waiting. Beautiful food at choice of restaurants. Buffet breakfast best ever. Pools gorgeous. Staff exceptional. Spa prices a little expensive. Great to go off season.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in Ko Lanta

Posted May 8, 2016
Service was amazing. The view from the Seven Seas restaurant is worth the climb up from the beach part of the hotel . The only small negative is that coffee is made to order (great) but it takes time. We found the spa to be a little more expensive than elsewhere but the setting was so peaceful
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Beautiful hotel and beautiful view and sunset. 2 pools. Big resort so expect quite a bit of walking as the club cars take you only from the reception to the hillside if you're staying in the rooms in the lower part
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston USA

Remote resort with all amenities

Posted Apr 24, 2016
Cons: The bills all come with a 10% service charge added (plus a 7% tax) and then there is a line for gratuity -- I would have like some clarification.
Location: PADI Dive center on the premises!
The resort at Pimalai is beautiful and serene. You are met at the airport by attentive staff you escort you to the van (1 hour ride to private ferry dock) and by boat (45 minutes), so you land right on the beach at the resort. This gives you a feeling of remoteness when, in fact, the island is fairly built up. Once there, it is possible to take a cab and explore, but we were happy to stay put and enjoy the beach, pools, spa and restaurants "on campus". One night we did go to another restaurant that we walked to from the beach and that was fun. But back to the restaurants at Pimalai: they were exceptional, both in variety and in quality -- the best we had eaten in three weeks traveling through Thailand! The staff was incredibly nice and helpful, spoke English quite well too (added bonus). The spa was fabulous -- a bit pricier than what you get on the street, but with a much higher standard and quality. Truly exceptional. The beach was a bit rocky for swimming, but I believe this changes with the tides and winds/time of year. Also, it is quite hot on the beach during the day and the umbrellas don't shade the chaise longues, unfortunately. So many things were lovely about this resort. I feel badly mentioning the outliers, but probably these are the things you want to know about! First, the dock to shore from the boat is a floating dock -- it rides the waves and is unsteady. The resort will have staff walk with you if you like, but if you are older or need a cane.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 19, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Serge from Montmorency

Emplacement et service exceptionnels

Posted Apr 15, 2016 on Hotels
Plage superbe, pour un séjour exceptionnel, la qualité de service est topissime et le transfert en speedboat est le petit plus. Le seul petit point négatif, les invités qui réservent leur transat au bord de la piscine tôt dans la matinée et qui les utilisent dans l'après-midi seulement !
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY, NY

wonderful stay

Posted Apr 11, 2016
Pros: everything!
grounds are beautiful. very well located. nice, secluded location but still had easy, walking distance access to small village nearby. the speed boat transfer from karabi was extremely convenient and made getting there completely hassle-free. loved that they had so many complementary resources to enjoy-- sailboats, catamaran, paddle boards, kayaks, etc.