Ratings based on 112 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect stay at an amazing hotel!

Posted Dec 11, 2016
My husband and I spent a few nights here for our honeymoon and the staff really made it special for us. They went out of their way to make sure our stay was comfortable and perfect. The hotel itself is absolutely beautiful with breathtaking views. We watched the sunset from our balcony every evening.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Gorgeous hotel. Staff needs to change

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Terrible staff and food. Amazing location, views, pool and rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2016 by The Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Ms.Mari , Please allow me an opportunity to introduce myself, my name is Hathaithip , and i am the the manager of the Houben Hotel . The guest service team has advised me of the service you received during the stay with us . On behalf of the hotel , I would like to sincerely apologize for this . We work hard to make sure we offer the best service to our guests so please accept our apologize once again if our service couldn't reach your expectation . Best Regards, Hathaithip
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Amazing views and location, bad staff

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Would not stay here again. If you are used to 5 star hotels and resorts, this is not the place for you. If you have been staying in backpacker hostels and 3 star resorts, it would be considered amazing. The whole point of paying that extra money when you book a room, is for the little extras and overall experience, which we did not get at all. For starters, we reached the lobby area and the staff IMMEDIATELY asked what we had organized in regards to our transportation to our next hotel or location tomorrow morning. Already felt rushed out from an exhausting trip! It completely ruined my stay from then on. All I could think about was, these people just want us out, and couldn't relax. Staff are not talkative or smiley at all. Didn't ask how we were, how our trip was, just cold, nothing. Asked to have our room cleaned 3 times before it was done. I like the way they clean the rooms though. Folded our clothes etc. Rooms and views, amazing. Can't complain. Location was the best, in the clean part of the island. Many places to eat nearby. Overall it's a great complex, just needs to change the staff and I would give it 5 stars
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2016 by The Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Ms.Mari , Please allow me an opportunity to introduce myself, my name is Hathaithip , and i am the the manager of the Houben Hotel . The guest service team has advised me of the service you received during the stay with us . First I would like to thank you very much for your kind mentioned to the room and view that it could amaze you but I would like to sincerely apologize for the above mentioned . I would like to inform you that they normally do work hard to make sure the guests would receive the best service and comfortable stay . So please accept our apologize once again if our team didn't work hard enough to reach your expectation . Your comments are highly appreciated and certainly we will use them for our improvements . We are thankful to having you stay at our hotel and looking forward to your next visit to the Houben again. Best Regards, Hathaithip
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and chill hotel with great service

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was unforgettably good and the view from the room was gorgeous. Not all was perfect about the room but the great service from the staffs at Houben made the flaws negligible in the end. Housekeeping is done twice a day and we appreciate the hotel's effort in making our stay so comfortable. They remembered our preferences and handled our queries promptly. For that reason, we returned to Houben for our 2nd stay in Koh Lanta. This round we left Houben being even more satisfied than before as they presented us with a bottle of red wine welcoming us for our return stay. This is a personal touch from them which many 5-starred hotels took for granted. This place is highly recommendable to anyone whose purpose of stay is for a recharge or a romantic getaway. Their pool is another great reason to be here. We will return again for the 3rd time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your kind review. We do rally hope that we would have a chance to welcoming you again and again . Best Regards, The Management Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Canada

Beautiful and Relaxing!

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Pros: I really enjoyed the comfortable bed and room. Breakfast and service were very good.
Location: A few dining options, snorkeling and diving nearby. Not a lot of nightlife.
This is an excellent hotel if you wish to relax. The rooms are clean and spacious. The bed is one of the most comfortable that I have ever slept in. The room has a great view and it was wonderful to enjoy the breeze off the ocean. The breakfast was delicious with a number of selections to choose from. It came with great coffee, lattes, tea, fresh juice, and a fruit plate along with the main order. Fresh and tasty better than a buffet. The service and attention was outstanding. There is a small town steps away that has a few dining options. A small, easy to drive motorcycle can be rented for less than $10 for 24 hours to explore the island and other dining options. The beach is about 300 meters away and is safe and clean. This is not a place to party, but great to relax! Not good for those who cannot do any stairs. Great boutique hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Location, Views
Good location (tip: preferably rent a scooter from the hotel directly or from a shop right across from hotel entrance). Pool and views were amazing. Restaurant was really good! Service was also excellent. We really enjoyed our stay and would come back as well as highly recommend this place.
4 out of 5
by LI from Shanghai

Posted Jul 7, 2016 on Hotels
The room had a awful smell when we came in. We realized that it is a home fragrance they use to cover the smell of their recent renovation. The boiler was not working properly, as we had unstable hot/cold water during the evening. The Wifi was great and the room was very clean. The breakfast on the first day was good, while the day after was horrible.
4 out of 5
by Margaret

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 29, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hot Houben

Posted Feb 15, 2016 on Hotels
Best hotel ever. But we got a generous deal!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great view, luxurious, relaxed, still infrastruc.

Posted Feb 10, 2016
Very pleasant stay. Spacious and luxurious rooms individually furnished. Open, friendly and helpful staff. Outside facilities are great (pool, terrace), gym needs refurbishment (color flaking off - seems not to be utilized a lot). The clear downside is breakfast - limited choices and quality are not up to the rest of the hotel (though coffee is great).