Ratings based on 278 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

I miss it already!

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: Great location, helpful staff, great breakfast, clean rooms and lots of character.
Cons: The TV and bathroom door were broken but I spent little time in my room and I was in a single room any way so neither mattered.
Location: Wawel Castle is right on the door step and it's a 5 minute walk to the market. The Jewish district is also a short walk away. Fantastic location :)
This hotel is in a great location! Very close to the market, castle and Jewish district. The single room was very clean and comfortable and the breakfast was incredible! Amazing choice of food. The staff were lovely and they let you keep your bags in the hotel after check out time if you have a late flight home. If you like modern hotels this probably isn't for you but if you like a place with character, I would recommend this for sure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotl with a great location

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Nice hotel and the biggest room I have ever stayed in! Modern en suite. Very clean. Breakfast was advertised as continental but it was more as there was hot food also. Nothing was a problem for the staff. We would definitely go again
3 out of 5
by Olga

Posted Jan 1, 2017 on Hotels
The location is excellent The service must be improved
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible beds, smells like cigarette smoke

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Location: Great location! Literally next to wawel castle
Beds were horrible, we actually left early and got another hotel because we couldn't sleep. They didn't have actual sheets covering the mattresses either. Room was old, stale, and smelled faintly of smoke.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

very good hotel, ultra centrally located

Posted Oct 5, 2016 on Hotels
very good hotel, ultra centrally located, very good breakfast and very friendly staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Great location to everywhere

Posted Oct 1, 2016
Conveniently located across the Wawel Castle and within walking distance to restaurants and shops in the Old city. Excellent buffet breakfast and very comfortable rooms with WiFi.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from glasgow

brilliant location

Posted Sep 22, 2016
The hotel was very comfortable And the room was warm . A fact my 80 yr old mother liked When coming back in the evening. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom and shower were massive. The breakfast was very nice with lots of choice and served in a lovely room With views of the park. Will be going next year and will definitely b using the hotel again. It is old but very atmospheric So much nicer than these modern shoe box trendy types imho. if you are interested in architecture It will not disappoint . We were very impressed with the warmth and friendliness of all the polish people we met and their command of the English language. Dzięki kiedykolwiek tyle!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sri lanka

Nice location, but very badly managed.

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: The location.
Cons: The service. The staff are absolutely indifferent and the management don't seem to be present.
Location: Sawed castle is a must. The trams areas to use once you know where you want to go. Plenty of nice restaurants and pubs nearby...
Initially we were quite pleased, the room was big, well laid out and clean. However, despite requesting many times, the room was not cleaned/serviced nor replenished during our entire stay of four days. We ran out of toilet paper, soap etc, and had to buy from a nearby stores an emergency measure. The breakfast, which is highly praised in most rewiews was very monotonous, the bread not fresh on the last two days and dishes not replenished after about 9:30am. Airport transfer, although comfortable and punctual, was not at the rate promised. However, beautiful city, nice location, and plenty of nice restaurants and pubs in the vicinity. Friendly people that make an effort to give clear directions. Worth a re visit, but stay at a different hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Huntsville Al

My 3 Rd Stay at Royal Hotel

Posted Aug 20, 2016
I keep going back because 1. Location I'm familiar with things nearby and there's bus n tram lines beside the hotel which makes it easy to train n bus station n Mall n Kasimierz. Wawel nearby and at end of pedestrian street to Main Square 2. Breakfast is outstanding, many choices. And Restaurant is also good 3. Room options everything from a single twin bedroom to 3 twin room to family size. 4. City tour buses right out front 5. Good value for cost of room there is an elevator. Some rooms have tiny fridge it not all. Negatives: while there is an elevator this hotel is a combination of 3 buildings and if you have a handicap this place can be a challenge . There are stairs on every level where bldgs join. You would have to request the front main bldg if stairs are a problem. The morning breakfast room has been moved from the restaurant to the far end bldg at end by parking lot . While there were arrow signs in the hall, many people had a hard time finding it. So it is easier and faster to go out the front door and walk half block on outside sidewalk to the back door in hotel parking area.
5 out of 5
by Henna from Helsinki

An Old World Hotel, super location

Posted Aug 18, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel was really nice, it had an old world feeling and my room was really nicely renovated and decorated. Hotel is like a labyrinth, which I found amusing, but maybe some people with disabilities may find it troublesome. Breakfast was really good, good variety of Polish bread, for example. Location of the hotel was perfect, Wawel Castle was two minutes away and Kasimierz on the other side of the street. Very nice experience all together.