Ratings based on 133 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NB, Canada

First hostel experience & loved it (solo traveler)

Posted Sep 19, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Location Historical feel of the building 24 hour front desk
Cons: Mattress covers to soften the mattresses.
Location: Great location and easy access to transit and key tourist sites.
This was the first time I'd ever stayed in a hostel and was very pleasant surprised. My room was cute, with a loft sleeping area and a queen bed. Towels and bedding provided but not things like hairdryers. It's in a historical area and I liked the small balcony overlooking the neighbors. Walking distance to Wawel Castle and Old Town Square. Grocery/liquor store down the street and international bank machine ATM in several locations nearby. Great little bakery up the street. In the evening, I sat in the lounge and had a drink. In the morning, I had a light breakfast and the best coffee I'd had during my visit in Poland (I'm from Canada and it's similar to our coffee). The ages of the guests were varied from young adults to retirees. Felt safe and comfortable there, which was important to me as a solo female traveler.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 11, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Andrei from Toronto, Canada

Great stay, central location

Posted Aug 1, 2016 on Hotels
We had a great stay at Kadetus for 4 days/nights. We had a private room with our own bathroom. There was a common kitchen just outside our room, with a fridge and various utensils, very convenient. Free WiFi in the room worked well. There is a pub in the same building adjacent to the hostel, where they offer free breakfast. The breakfast is simple but very good: corn flakes, milk; slices of bread, ham, cheese, tomatoes, cucumbers; cream cheese, jam, tea, coffee. We also got free coupons for some coffee/tea options in the same pub for the afternoon. The location is quiet but very central, 10 min walk to the Main Market Square, 10-15 min walk to the Wawel Castle hill. There is a mini-market open 24 hours just 100 meters away, and a bigger supermarket another 100 m or so in the same direction. The hostel offers drop-off laundry services. The hostel staff are very helpful. Overall: no complaints whatsoever, would gladly stay there again.
3 out of 5
by Josh from Colorado

Good place to stay on a budget

Posted Feb 7, 2016 on Hotels
Decent sized room. We got a private double and got a 5 person room all to our selves. The breakfast was ok in the mornings. Toast, cereal, meats and cheeses and coffee and water. We were able to book tours to Auschwitzs and the salt mines right at reception. The cons: the shared bathrooms were not clean and generally busy. About a 10 minute walk to the the main square and restaurants. 20 minute walk to the castle. Over all it was a good place for the money, if you don't mind walking a little to get to the sites.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from liverpool

Nice hostel close to old town.

Posted Dec 13, 2015
Pros: Good wifi, location and 24hr
Cons: Breakfast could have a little more variety.
Location: It was about 10 minutes away from Old Town, we booked our exclusions with our hotel and the pick up point was a 3 minute walk so everything was close
I enjoyed our stay at The Kadetus Hostel, there was some staff that was absolutely amazing and lovely and one or two that were not as good, maybe it could have been my accent and therefore it was harder to engage. Or room was cozy, radiator always on so we was warm. Breakfast was good also.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bristol uk

find somewhere else

Posted Oct 12, 2015
Pros: the receptionist and the lady running the breakfast bar who were smart,polite and very efficient.
Cons: a tv or other form of entertainment (radio etc) could be added to the rooms
Location: about 200metres fro the town square where there are lots fo restaurants, horse drawn carriage tours, golf club trolley tours etc.
the only furnishings in my room was: a bunk bed (double below, single above) , 2 single beds, a 6ft cupboard and a small coffee table.Although it has to be said the bed was comfortable and the room was clean, breakfast was complimentary and adequate and the young lady serving breakfast was absolutely first class.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location Cheap price

Posted Sep 17, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed here 2 nights and overall a good place with a iOS location. The beds were a bit rough as it only had a very thin cushioned pad but really no other issues. Front desk and bar staff were friendly and helped with whatever we needed. They offer a nice free breakfast in the bar area and make an awesome panini for lunch/dinner.
4 out of 5
by Isabel from Bratislava

Posted Aug 1, 2015 on Hotels
I had a very good time there. The hostel is very well located, close to everything and the room was clean. We had some problems with the fan that was not working but they quickly change it for another one. In fact service was superb, they were very kind.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from birmingham

Nice hostel close to the castle in Krakow

Posted Mar 6, 2015
Pros: The room was comfortable and the location was perfect for tourists. Overall the price I paid was good.
Cons: The Internet connection could be improved, the selection of tv channels and the selection of the breakfast.
Location: The hostel is placed in the centre with an easy access to all the main tourists attractions in Krakow.
I booked a single room with bathroom, wifi, tv and continental breakfast for £10 per night. The room I got was nice, it had more beds than reqiured and a balcony. The wifi was not working all the time and the tv has only had about 5 channels. The breakfast was stardard I guess the selection would have been fine for most of people but there was nothing to choose for a vegetarian or a vegan apart from tea or coffee. The location of the hostel was perfect for customers who waht to easily get to the most famous parts of the city centre as it is about 5-10 minutes walk from the Wawel Castle and about the same distance from the main market in the centre.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canberra, Australia

Close enough to perfect

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Location: Bike tour company to get to know the place. Auschwitz tour was moving and highly recommend. Hire bike to go further a field on another day.
At check in I was shown the room reserved, but the gentleman suggested I might like another and showed me. The first was great but the second suited me much better. Off to a good start. I stayed for four nights and would have enjoyed staying for longer. Staff, all young, all friendly and helpful with arranging tours etc. Breakfast cold selections of meats cheeses and the usual cereals etc., inlc in price, which is the lowest in my three months of travel (except Madrid). Hostel is decorated wonderfully and I enjoyed the creaking floors as the are gorgeous. Never a problem with getting into the shared facilites and the shower area is large enough. Short 5 min walk to the old town centre full of cafes and restraunts on the market square, but look down the arcades for some quirky fun places. Close enough to perfect for me.