Ratings based on 2,157 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Convenient

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Pros: Close to subway and lots of restaurants.
Cons: Rooms could be updated. Bathroom was odd.
Location: Checkpoint Charlie.
Hotel was fine. Nothing to get too excited about. Long line to check in. Room was ok. Convenient location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA, USA

Nice hotel close to Checkpoint Charlie & U-Bahn

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Very clean and pleasant hotel. Nice staff. I was very satisfied and would definitely recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Exceeds expectations!

Posted Oct 7, 2017
I got a great deal on this hotel at the last minute through Expedia. I was getting out of a pretty rough accommodation elsewhere and needed a place to sleep for 5 nights. This hotel ended up being really great! The staff are very friendly and welcoming, the room was really clean with all modern amenities, and the fitness centre was awesome too. They were really friendly about leaving luggage at the hotel if you need to before check-in or after check-out. Overall - I was fully satisfied with my stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Colombia

Great location, good value for money.

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Pros: Location & Rate
Cons: Hotel is a bit dated, needs some renovation.
Location: Lot's of shops, restaurants, museums and other attractions, famous Checkpoint Charlie and "the Wall" are just steps away, metro station very close too
Just stayed there for 1 night, had to extend my trip and the hotel I was staying didn't have rooms for an extra night so I searched Expedia and found this hotel very close to where I was staying, hotel is dated, just 1 (slow) elevator so sometimes there's a wait, check-in was a bit slow, check-out was fast, room rate was very good for location and overall condition, didn't use any of the amenities, I noticed there were a couple of business meetings of some well-known German companies which is a good sign, location of the hotel is great, walking distance to many attractions, museums, etc. Metro station just steps away.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from england

Close to check point charlie and nice Italian rest

Posted Sep 26, 2017
The bed was way too soft and it was like sleeping in a hole. We have allergies to dog and cats so we suffered in the room as they allow pets. Wouldn’t have booked in here if we had realised this. On a plus note the Italian restaurant attached to the hotel was ace with brilliant staff and great food
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester, UK

Amazing location seconds away from the U-bahn

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Our stay in the hotel Angleterre was amazing and we'll definitely be back again, the staff were all very welcoming and helpful and the hotel room itself was very nice and very clean and comfortable. The hotel itself is seconds away from the U-bahn stop Kochstrasse which was so handy as it made travelling around Berlin very easy, you're minutes away from Checkpoint Charlie and there's lots of shopping further down Friedrichstrasse, as well as being walking distance from the Reichstag and Brandenburg gate, although getting the U-bahn is much easier. Overall a lovely hotel in an amazing location and we'd definitely recommend and come back again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel not far from Checkpoint Charlie

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: Its location
Cons: I don't think it can be improved as more than anything it is the design which I didn't find very appealing.
Location: Good location near to Checkpoint Charlie and tube station. Some very nice eating places nearby, the Tapas restaurant was excellent.
The hotel was fine but thinking I had booked B & B I was disappointed to note the cost of the breakfast as it turned out we were not B & B. It was 17 euros each so we crossed the road and got breakfast for 3 in a coffee shop for 9 - 10 euros each! Hotel clean and the beds were comfortable. The location was also good for jumping on the underground and also buses or trams. Sorry I can't say anymore about the hotel but I would recommend it to my friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great location and service

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: Location and staff
Location: Checkpoint Charlie, shopping and restaurants
We stayed here for 4 nights is a decent sized room. Service was excellent throughout. Staff were friendly and helpful. The location was great, close to public transport and walking distance to many sites. The hotel is dated, as are the rooms. The pillows were too soft. Otherwise comfortable stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Nice hotel. Clean

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: the helpful staff
Cons: parking
Location: Checkpoint Charlie
Walking distance to some of the sights. Rooms were clean and staff very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel Angleterre Berlin

Posted Aug 23, 2017
I have stayed at the Angleterre several times. It doesn't change much - nice, quiet, central hotel, relatively inexpensive, completely anonymous. If that's what you want, go there. Breakfast is astoundingly expensive, but there are some decent caffs nearby with the usual Berlin street food, Brötchens and so on. Try those instead. Also a hilarious curry house up the road towards Französische Straße - that is, curry German-style, not like in Blighty.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017 by Phil Hennecke, Hotel Management
Dear guest, we would like to thank you for your positive rating. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel and you were satisfied with our Services. We forwarded your comment regarding the breakfast price already to the persons in charge. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again in one of our GOLD INN Hotels and wish you all the best. Take good care! Best regards Phil Hennecke Asst. Front Office Manager GOLD INN Hotel Angleterre