Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good choice if visiting Mysore

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Police personnel at the entrance gate need to be sensitised
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Bangalore

great view of brindavan garden ..

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: View of the garden Leisure activities
Cons: Food quality
Location: Musical fountain KRS Dam Ranganthittu bird sanctuary Mysore City Tour - Zoo, place, Chamundi hills
Enjoyed the experience, with beautiful garden view, and leisure activities like cycling...My 1 yr old kid enjoyed the swing, toys, and watching the ducks...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from eastern Canada

Grand old charm.

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Excellent location right in Brindavin garden. Old style charm but building showing its age. Doors and fixtures fit poorly. Plumbing needs updating. No a/c. Staff very accommodating and attentive to all our needs. Authentic Indian experience
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bangalore

Extremely poor service

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Pros: The location
Cons: Service - very, very bad Particularly the front desk staff Spineless and without any morals or ethics
Location: You can see the dam and visit the Brindhavan Gardens
I checked in for a night's stay at Royal Orchid Bridhavan om February 3rd 2017. I was accompanied by my wife and 10 year old son. I was in room number 301(left extreme, 3rd floor). I check in around 10:00p. The first trouble started when 5 people came to 302 terrace and started making a lot of notice. From 301 terrace I could see these 5 folks were having booze and were not in control. I waited for 2 hours and since the commotion did not stop till 12:30a, I called the reception and complained. The response was that these folks in 302 were having dinner and if I want the hotel will change my room (around 1:00a in the morning !!). Next day, when I went to take shower, hot water was not coming. The electrician came and confirmed that the heater coil had been kaput for quite sometime. Again the reception guy said he can change my room but refused to admit that they had rented out the room without even checking if there was running hot water !! I have stayed at Royal Orchid Brindhavan quite a few times - actually, I have a Royal Orchid Gold membership !! My observation is this, place (Royal Orchid Brindhavan) is going down in standard. If you want to stay in Mysore or even near the dam, there are plenty of hotels with a much better service. Stay away from this place - that would be my advise.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location overlooking brindavan gardens

Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed there for night during the weekday. The hosts at the restaurant (Couple of interns) were awesome!! They made sure we got the best service always. Food at the restaurant is very tasty. Elephant bar is good for drinks and snacks which overlooks the bridavan gardens. Garden lighting from the hotel is best view one can get. Will be coming back to stay again!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

great view of Brindaban Gardens

Posted Nov 7, 2015
Excellent staff Good Breakfast spread Good room amenities Free WiFI ,newspaper,mineral water Spacious rooms with Balconies to enjoy Brindaban Gardens view and evening lighting. Great view of Dam coffee lounge A bit expensive dinner
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Bangalore

Fantastic location! Nice staff

Posted Sep 7, 2015
Pros: Location, common areas, staff
Cons: Room cleanliness - sheets, bathrooms, etc.
The location is perfect if you want to visit the Brindavan Gardens. The hotel staff is very friendly and try to accommodate your needs well. The rooms could've been cleaner - the sheets and the bath tub especially.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Overlooking 60 acres of gardens

Posted Jun 11, 2015
Pros: The view. My balcony (all balconies) overlook the gardens.
Cons: Internet service is provided in 2 and 4 hour allotments so it is necessary to keep getting a new password and signing in
I spent 2 night here as a base to tour Mysore. I had no idea this would be the most memorable hotel. It was not busy as it was off season. The building is concerted from a guest palace so the rooms are smaller than a new hotel but still well appointed and comfortable.
1 out of 5
by Prashanthi from Hyderabad

Worst hotel

Posted Jun 4, 2015 on Hotels
Horrible place, never go back
4 out of 5
by Victoria from Perth, Australia

Royal Orchid Hotel, Brindavan Gardens, Mysore

Posted Mar 18, 2015 on Hotels
A nice welcome to the Royal Orchid Hotel, Brindavan Gardens. Check-in done smoothly and taken to our nice room. This is an old and elegant building, now a hotel; there is no lift so if you have a problem climbing stairs, ask for the ground floor rooms. All the 24 rooms face the Brindavan gardens, so a very nice outlook. From 6.30pm till 8pm (in the busy season) the fountains are lit by coloured lights and it is indeed a popular place for hundreds of people walking the approx. 1.5km one way of the garden. Staff were pleasant and the food varied and tasty.