Ratings based on 176 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Imperial Stay - with a couple of glitches

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Impressive estate; inside and out. Historic, unique, with impeccably trained staff that never fails to deliver. Exquisite food at the restaurant and great bar. Stay away from rooms in er kitchen tract though - noisy at night as sounds travel through the stairwells from the kitchen to the rooms. Annoying when you have a light sleep and picked the hotel for its calm location and hope for thick castle walls. Unfortunately no follow-up upon complaint. And no change. Also: some of the furniture are wonderful antiques which makes this estate so unique; others, however, simply old and shoddy (eg an otherwise comfortable bed with totally scuffed off fabric/edges) and should be replaced/repaired. Also the scale in the room should get a battery so it can provide its (sometimes sobering yet helpful) services. Delivery of food at bar inconsistent. Consecutive nights ordered same dish; make no mistake, it was great quality but it also was significantly different night to night. Minor point though, compared to the otherwise impeccable delivery. Special shout-out for the doormen (that also service the huge fireplace in the wonderful hall/lobby); ever polite, helpful and service-minded.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from 日本・佐賀

落ち着けるホテル

Posted Jan 8, 2016
Pros: スタッフの対応。
Cons: 日本語表記があればよい。 ただ、せっかく海外に来ているのに日本語に触れない日があってもよいかも!
Location: 少し暖かい時期に行き、目の前のゴルフ場でゴルフをしたいですね。
周りには何もありませんが、それもまたよし! アクティブに過ごしたい方はおすすめできません。 日本語は通じませんのであしからず。 ただ、スタッフは一所懸命に中学英語でも理解をしようとしてくれます。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Our favorite plate to stay/rest in the world

Posted Dec 29, 2015
Can't begin to say enough about how wonderful, comfortable, historic, beautiful this hotel is. The caring sensitive staff, the beyond gourmet dining, the stunningly beautiful grounds (Queen Victoria collected trees including redwoods. In one grove, if you closed one eye, you could convince yourself you were in Muir Woods.)
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 28, 2016 by Franz Zimmermann, Hotel Management
Dear Expedia user, Thank you very much for the time taken to write this review. I am very delighted to read how much you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a remarkable experience. My team is striving to create an unique experience for all our guests and I am very happy that we were able to do so. We are looking forward to welcome you soon again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bad Homburg

Gorgeous place to stay

Posted Dec 15, 2015
Pros: History, grounds, food
We had a fantastic view of the grounds and local castle at evening, and the facilities are wonderfully kept. Our room was spacious and quiet. The food was fantastic and health-oriented. We enjoyed our stay immensely and plan to return
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 28, 2016 by Franz Zimmermann, Hotel Management
Dear JVN, Many thanks for your review. So pleased you will be coming back hopefully in the near future and my team and I can provide you again an experience making you truly feel at home.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Thornton-Cleveleys, Lancashire, UK

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Dec 11, 2015
My wife and I spent three nights at the Schlosshotel in December, the hotel is unbelievable and is a fantastic place to stay. The staff are extremely helpful and the ambience of the castle is great. The room we had was very comfortable and everything that we expected. Two little niggles, on our first night at the hotel we dined in the restaurant, the service was great and the staff could not do enough for you but the main course that my wife ordered (poached cod) was a disappointment - it was barely cooked, was cold in the middle and she had to send it back. She was asked to choose something else off the menu, which she did, but we were then told that as a gesture of goodwill we would not be charged for the dish that was returned! The second niggle relates to the servicing of the room, on our third day the room service staff arrived to service the room whilst we were having breakfast so we asked them to return later, which they did after we had gone out for the day. When we returned in the evening we found that the room had been serviced but we had not been left any clean towels or toiletries and there was no room service breakfast menu for the following morning. All these omissions were quickly resolved by reception but should not really have happened in the first place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 29, 2016 by Franz Zimmermann, Hotel Management
Dear Peter, thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay. I am delighted that you had a general memorable experience with us. Indeed, the atmosphere and charm of the hotel is unique. My team is aiming to exceed expectations with service and heart in what we do; which I believe is what makes the difference. However, I am very sorry to read about your experience in our restaurant as well as that your room was not serviced properly. Please be assured that this is not our standard and indeed, it should not have happened in the first place. We have discussed your remarks internally with our Culinary and Housekeeping team. Dear Peter, I am hoping to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at Schlosshotel Kronberg to exceed your expectations entirely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin

Fabulous hotel a short ride from Frankfurt

Posted Nov 8, 2015
Pros: Staying in this historic building was exciting, the staff was excellent, and the room was spacious with a large comfortable bed.
Location: The building was built for the daughter of Queen Victoria.
They placed us in room 406, a room in the clock tower near the top. It had a large balcony and the bed was very comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2015 by Franz Zimmermann, GM, Hotel Management
Dear Steven, Thank you very much for your lovely review. I am very pleased that the bed was comfortable and you have enjoyed your large balcony. The team is striving for delivering memorable, individual service and I am very glad to read that you found our service excellent and you got enchanted by the property itself.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by James

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 18, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Redstone, Clorado

Amazing luxury palace In Rhein countryside

Posted Oct 11, 2015
Pros: Best historical and luxury lodging I've used. Beautiful setting, wonderful service, very romantic.
Location: Not far from Frankfurt, but in a gorgeous countryside area. Also near the Rhein for winery and castle village tours. Great golf course.
This is the finest hotel experience I've had for a relaxing but luxurious countryside stay. After three weeks in Europe, we decided last minute to top off the trip with a stay at the palace hotel Schlosshotel Kronberg, and it surpassed all our expectations. The history of the palace is interesting enough for a visit, but the hotel accommodations, the food and dining experience, and the service were all impeccable. We loved wandering through the gardens and next time will take advantage of the beautiful golf course as well. We will definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by DAWEI from 中国

Posted Oct 11, 2015 on Hotels
酒店很高档,服务很好!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by DAWEI from 中国

Posted Oct 11, 2015 on Hotels
很高级的酒店,服务也很好!