Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Very nice hotel near Kruger and there own safari

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Excellent But expedites representative gave us wrong information about Kruger safari and airport pick up charges
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 3, 2016
No cats or wild dogs seen on our drives. Wonderful scenery and excellent driver.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Deluxe Glamping in the Bush. Great hospitality.

Posted Sep 2, 2015 on Hotels
Nice family safari in the bush. The approach from the highway to the main gate is a bit daunting as you drive through a village of shacks. This did not give us confidence we had chosen the right place to stay and almost turned around. We are so glad we did not turn around and went all the way to the lodge. It is 1 hour all the way to the lodge from the highway, so plan your timing accordingly. Lodge was decent. Wildlife roamed the property and we co-mingled with the nyalas and monkeys. Fourene was the most amazing guide! Saw elephants, white rhinos, giraffes and much more!
4 out of 5
by Mario from Mozambique

Stunning African experience

Posted Jan 20, 2015 on Hotels
Beautiful place with very friendly staff. Excellent for relaxing and be in contact with nature
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2015 by Chris, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review and I'm so pleased you had a great time. As you pointed out a great place to relax with nature
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, AU

All what had been promised and more

Posted Jan 11, 2015
Bongani is located in its own reserve, between mountains, lakes and a few creeks, where animals roam freely and the sounds of different creatures make every minute a postcard moment. The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly at all times, caring for our every need. The food was delicious, very fresh and abundant, and our safari guide Noel made sure every ride was fun, interesting and always different (not an easy task after 4 nights and 2 safari-rides each day). I would definitely recommend Bongani to anyone who's interested in living an unforgettable experience in the South African wild side.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Pleased you had a great time and appreciate the review
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tone from USA

Bongani Mountan Lodge was an awesome experience!!!

Posted Jun 4, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Cons: At the outdoor nightly dinner maybe a local tribe could perform a customary dance.
Location: The entrance it about 35 minutes from Nelspruit going east. Very easy to get to and the Lodge signs are everywhere.
Overall I highly recomend this hotel/lodge. It's located in the Bongani region, it actually sits on a mountain and it's a lodge so the name says it all. Directions were straight forward and easy. The drive was bumpy but hey, it's Africa. The staff was super helpful and friendly, the driver met us at the Welcome Center (on time). We saw animals on the way to the lodge which was cool. Once at the lodge the host took us on a tour and gave us drinks to cool down. The cottage was self-standing and away from other rooms (all were like this) and overlooking the valley. We could see animals roaming from our front porch. The food (breakfast, lunch and dinner) was very good and well cooked. I like the fact that there was no IT in the room, no TV, no Radio, No Internet, just a big 'ole tub and nature looking back at us. The indoor/outdoor shower was very cool. I am going back and would encourage you to go as well, you won't regret it!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for the great review, glad you had a great time whilst with us
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nicolas from Shanghai, China

Nice lodge in unique mountainous landscape.

Posted Sep 29, 2013
Nice lodge to spot giraffe, buffaloes, rhinos and elephants very close but don't expect to see lions or cats around here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2015 by Genera lManager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review and sorry you didnt get to see the cats, they are here but just luck of the draw if they make an apperance or not
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Deutschland

Der große Irrtum

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Liegt mitten im Busch, abseits von der Zivilisation. Dennoch sehr komfortabel.
Cons: Das Servicepersonal und die Guides sind klasse. Das Management ist wenig kundenorientiert und weitgehend mit sich selbst beschäftigt.
Location: Die täglichen Safaris sind alles was man dort braucht...
In unserer Reisebestätigung stand die Option, vom Airport abgeholt zu werden. Wir schrieben eine Mail, dass wir dies gerne in Anspruch nehmen würden, vom Airport Johannesburg - keine Reaktion. Deshalb telefonierten wir und erhielten eine Bestätigung. Allerdings sagte niemand, das der Regionalflughafen beim Kruger Nationalpark gemeint ist, nicht der in Johannesburg. So warteten wir in Johannesburg vergeblich.In der Lodge schien sich für unser Problem niemand zu interessieren, auch nicht bei der Ankunft dort. Das hat uns nicht nur einen halben Urlaubstag gekostet, sondern auch viel Geld für den privat organisierten Transfern. Dies hat unseren ansonsten sehr schönen Aufenthalt getrübt. Insbesondere die täglichen Safaris mit unserem tollen Guide waren ein großes Erlebnis.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from São Paulo

Amazing place for Honeymoon or just vacation!

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Pros: The view, the staff, the food, the bed is really comfortable!
Location: The hotel is for the ones who want some peace in the middle of the nature, with Game Drives (Safaris) and good times at the pool.
We spent 5 days of our honeymoon in the hotel, and it was amazing! When we arrived the staff welcomed us with wet towels, to refresh from the heat. Since we were honeymooners, the hotel gave us the best room, with the most amazing view. We could see animals from our room, and take a shower in the open air (Yes, there is a shower in open air in every room!) contemplating the breathtaking view. Also, there was a cold champaign waiting for us when we first arrived in our room. The food is amazing, and you have option to try some different ones. Breakfast is great, with many options to choose. Staff is great and very attentive. The view of one of the pools is amazing, from there you can see the reserve and some animals if you get lucky - we saw giraffe, hyenas, buffalos and rhinos (2 of the Big 5!!). Totally recommend!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
O hotel é fantástico e tem um vista linda. Animais circulam livremente. O pessoal é muito cordial. Mas é um Safari aventura pois é na montanha.