Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Great place to see rhinoceros as you eat breakfast

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Right on river at edge of Kruger you can sit on verandah in front of room and see wildlife. We saw giraffes, buffalo, and rhinos as they came to the river. Staff very friendly, suggesting where in town to get vegetarian food = Stoep Cafe, and setting up a safari drive for us. No WiFi, but nice selection of cable TV channels for those who don't plan to get up for 5 am game drive. Nice breakfast from 7:45 and if you are lucky, wildlife will be at river at same time. Short drive to gate if you choose to self drive. Great base for enjoying Kruger. Good value for money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, Ohio

Kruger is your backyard!

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Pros: Amenities were great. Location was superb.
Cons: Double check the phone number before you are on the road. The number listed had digits transposed, so we had difficulty contacting Buckler's.
Location: KRUGER!
Such a comfortable and friendly hotel. Wildlife is right out your back door. The owners arranged an excellent safari for us. The safari guide picked us up right at Buckler's and took us for an awesome trip through Kruge. Bucker's is highly recommended and we so wish that we could have stayed longer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Back to nature with comfort

Posted Oct 4, 2016 on Lastminute
Absolutely beautiful. Cheryl was extremely helpful and most welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble. Would come back in a heartbeat
5 out of 5
by David from Hemel Hempstead

Very friendly and great place to relax

Posted Mar 6, 2016 on Hotels
An amazing venue on the banks of the Crocodile River, which is the southern end of Kruger National Park. About five minutes drive from the entrance to KNP.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Fantastic

Posted Feb 25, 2016
Pros: The charm and beautiful view, we saw hippos, elephants and Cape buffalo right from the swimming pool!
Location: Very close to Kruger and some great restaurants!
Beautiful property with amazing views right over the river! The owners were so friendly and the service was great! We would highly recommend this lodge!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, CAN

Incredible

Posted Aug 24, 2015
On our honeymoon, my wife and I booked a night at Buckler's before entering Kruger park. Upon entering the lodge we were welcomed by two elephants drinking just across the river, well within eyeshot. The location is superb, OJ and Cheryl were extremely accommodating and the proximity of the wildlife is unlike anything we've ever experienced. We loved it so much we booked another night on the way out of Kruger park. If we ever make it back to SA, we'll definitely spend lots more time at Buckler's.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lisbon, Portugal

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Great lodge at a great value, in a spectacular scenery, overlooking Kruger Park (it's really close the Crocodile Bridge gate). We booked a smaller unit and the manager suggested we stay in a bigger one, for the same price, so our kid could be more comfortable. We loved the pool and the chill out deck, in the evening. We'll be back, for sure!
4 out of 5
by DG from Israel

Perfect base camp for Kruger Park

Posted Sep 5, 2013 on Hotels
A very comfortable hotel just outside Kruger Park's southern entry (Crocodile Bridge). Much better than the accommodation inside the park. It is especially nice if you are a family or two couples, since there's a large common area, where you can BBQ.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Heidelberg, Germany

Great Lodge at the river

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: The location, close to Kruger NP and close to the river
Location: Close to Kruger NP and close to Komatipoort
The location of the hotel was perfect for a visit of the Kruger NP. It took about 10 minutes to reach the nearest gate of the park. The place of the lodge is also very nice, directly on the Crocodile River where we were able to spot some elephants and rhinos in the morning. Our room was well equipped with a kitchen and we also could use a barbeque. Great stay!!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 3, 2017 on Hotels