Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Unforgettable experience. Can't wait to go back.

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Incredible staff that went above and beyond for the guests, beautiful lodge in the center of Kruger an incredible animal sightings over a 2 nights stay. Thanks again to everyone at Hoyo Hoyo.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A truly memorable stay in Kruger

Posted Aug 23, 2016 on Hotels
Hoyo Hoyo really spoiled us through and through! It was the highlight of our honeymoon. A very romantic setting, deep in the heart of Kruger National Park, with no Wifi or cell reception to allow you to truly unplug yourself (they do take you to nearby Imbali lodge for your web fix if you're having internet withdrawal symptoms). The outdoor shower under the stars was a thrill worth experiencing. Room service was great, they left little bookmarks and chocolates/champagne etc for our honeymoon celebration. Food was very well prepared, and no dearth of drinks either. The outdoor patio seating was a clear favourite for breakfast and lunch, from where one could also view the animals at the watering hole. The safaris and guides were par excellence. Even the bush walk was very different activity and informative. All in all, a perfect stay at Hoyo Hoyo (means welcome in their local language)!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Safari Lodge

Posted Dec 9, 2015
Pros: Quaint lodge located in a concession bordering Kruger. The staff were friendly. The setting to dine opposite the watering hole was nice.
Cons: We were charged for water during our stay, given it was full board and 40+ degrees I think water should be included within the rate.
We stayed for two nights at Hoyo Hoyo. The rooms are in small, quaint bungalows dotted around the reception and dining area. The staff were friendly and we were made welcome at all times. The lodge provided full board although the food was a little hit and miss, the dinner on our first night was fantastic but on the second night less so. Whilst we expected to pay for alcohol we were also charged for water which given the price of the room and the heat (40 degrees) I would have expected it to be included in the room rate. The game drives were good and we saw a good selection of wildlife, although unfortunately no rhinos.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 2, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 19, 2015 on Hotels
The staff is friendly and attentive. Antoinette gives a great massage.
5 out of 5
by Andrea from Canada

Amazing accommodations

Posted Sep 5, 2015 on Hotels
Beautiful lodge, staff and surroundings! Friendly staff and lots of lovely food! We had a great stay at this lodge. All game drives included, very knowledgeable guides, saw many animals. Overall much better experience to stay in Kruger park than outside the gates!
5 out of 5
by david from Columbus

Amazing Staff

Posted May 29, 2015 on Hotels
What else can I say ... Everything was amazing .. Simple/Clean rooms and an amazing staff .. Beautiful in every sense .. Can't wait to go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austria and Australia

Nice secluded accomodation

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: Friendly personnel, excellent food, beautiful rooms, not crowded due to the limited number of rooms
Great game viewing of the watering hole right in front of the dining area. Saw Elephants, Hyena, Buffalo right there. Phantastic game sighting, leopards, elephants, buffalo and many more
5 out of 5
by Rahul

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 17, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Natalie from Eadie

Best Staff.... But not worth the cost

Posted Sep 22, 2014 on Hotels
When selecting a hotel for the Kruger, I went with the cheapest, the prices were exorbitant. This was the cheapest of the options. The hotel, was ok, nothing to write home about. But the staff were exceptional, truly amazing and very welcoming. The chef was great, dinner was outstanding. We also did a game drive, ask for Jason if you are staying at Hoyo Hoyo. He is so passionate about what he does, it is such a pleasure. It was a one night spoil, I would struggle to justify more than one night to myself.