Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Imbali has the WOW factor!

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Pros: Everything!!!
Cons: Spotlight on the watering hole not working and no explanation given
Location: It's in Kruger National Park - you need nothing else!!!
Fantastic service, location, game drives, food, facilities, staff (Conwell and Mary were fab, Julie - our guide - was just amazingly!)
5 out of 5
by SALLY A from Bermuda

Safari heaven

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
We had an absolutely amazing time. Saw lots of animals. Was very relaxing and can,t wait to go back
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced for what you get

Posted Jun 22, 2015 on Hotels
We were disappointed with our stay as we expected more for the price that was paid. The game drives are a small consolation. The general offering was rather standard, staff were polite but did not listen at times, the room was comfortable but rather average in its appointments. There are many luxury bush camps/lodges in this sector that offer a better experience
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anand from India

Experience of a lifetime at the Imbali Lodge

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: The natural setting in the wilderness with close proximity to wildlife and at the same time provide the luxuries of a 5 star accommodation was fabulou
We stayed at the Imbali Lodge in Kruger National Park for three nights. It was truly the experience of a lifetime. The accommodations were luxurious and private. The two daily game drives were thrilling; the ranger Mr. Twice was experienced, knowledgeable and had an uncanny ability to spot the various animals that live free in the park. He was very understanding and helped us to spot the big 5 with close-ups videos of lions and the leopard.. The service was terrific and the food was good. If you are going to Kruger this is the place you should go for your safari.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect position and excellent guides

Posted May 6, 2014
Pros: Guides and access to the big five.
Cons: Internet access and checking / checkout procedures.
Location: Big five viewing
Saw 4 of the big five. Mussed out on the Rhinos but we gad a great experience.
3 out of 5
by kevin from new zealand

less than 5 star lodge in kruger park

Posted Mar 3, 2014
Pros: Well positioned lodge with very nice décor and room layout. The front line staff were friendly and like most places had very informative game guides
Cons: food menu needs a serious look. Repair all mosquito nets and other Needs a proper bar that one can sit around
Location: game drives.
The lodge was well situated in the kruger park. The staff were very friendly and really tried hard to go the extra mile. The rooms were nice looking but there were numerous holes in the mosquito net that was not acceptable in a malaria zone and cost of the stay. There were was some unidentified things in the bed that we brushed off and did not worry until we found we were nicely bitten the next day. Burnt a coil and had a rather large amount of dead bugs a few hours later. better after that The room spa decks were in need of repair and the air conditioner rattled away. The food was interesting but the meat was very tough, first night impala steaks could not be eaten because of sinew. the next night ostrich steaks are a cheap meat that I could not cut through but the chef provided a sharp knife to help. third night just had the vegetarian. I think the lodge has potential to be great but management /owners not putting enough back to be anywhere near a high priced lodge. Drinks very expensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bethany from Perth, Australia

Great place for relaxation and privacy

Posted Dec 10, 2013
Amazing staff who do their utmost to ensure your stay is a success. The food is fantastic, the safari rangers are knowledgeable and seem to be able to spot a chameleon a mile away! Would recommend as a couples resort, as you tend to spend a lot of time in the beautiful rooms, hot tubs or on the decks enjoying each other's company.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from Manchester

Best location I have ever stayed in

Posted Nov 3, 2013
Pros: Amazing location and relaxed atmosphere
Cons: It was as near perfect as possible!
Location: You are in the midst of the Kruger National Park - does anything more need to be said!
Great staff who were always available if needed, knowledgeable, friendly and dedicated to making sure we had a great time
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carolina from Chile

Wonderful lodge, excellent food, staff and safari

Posted Oct 26, 2013
Unforgettable experience. Great staff, food and safari games. I was 3 days and everything was great.
4 out of 5
by Matt from London

Great Safari with a few issues

Posted Oct 17, 2013 on Hotels
Had a great first safari experience here. Our safari guide was great... It was like he had X-ray vision for spotting the animals and we saw all of the big 5, including 4 lions feasting on a recently killed buffalo. The vehicles were pretty good, although don't expect to be in a group of less than 7 people or more. The food (all inclusive) was good. The hotel had been refurbished relatively recently, but hasn't been done to the highest standard in all areas... It is generally great, but a few things just let it down. The hot tub by our room was cloudy, so we didn't want to step in for fear of snakes etc.! Think that was an issue with our room only... Ask for one with clear water!