Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Imbali has the WOW factor!

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Pros: Everything!!!
Cons: Spotlight on the watering hole not working and no explanation given
Location: It's in Kruger National Park - you need nothing else!!!
Fantastic service, location, game drives, food, facilities, staff (Conwell and Mary were fab, Julie - our guide - was just amazingly!)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anand from India

Experience of a lifetime at the Imbali Lodge

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: The natural setting in the wilderness with close proximity to wildlife and at the same time provide the luxuries of a 5 star accommodation was fabulou
We stayed at the Imbali Lodge in Kruger National Park for three nights. It was truly the experience of a lifetime. The accommodations were luxurious and private. The two daily game drives were thrilling; the ranger Mr. Twice was experienced, knowledgeable and had an uncanny ability to spot the various animals that live free in the park. He was very understanding and helped us to spot the big 5 with close-ups videos of lions and the leopard.. The service was terrific and the food was good. If you are going to Kruger this is the place you should go for your safari.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect position and excellent guides

Posted May 6, 2014
Pros: Guides and access to the big five.
Cons: Internet access and checking / checkout procedures.
Location: Big five viewing
Saw 4 of the big five. Mussed out on the Rhinos but we gad a great experience.
3 out of 5
by kevin from new zealand

less than 5 star lodge in kruger park

Posted Mar 3, 2014
Pros: Well positioned lodge with very nice décor and room layout. The front line staff were friendly and like most places had very informative game guides
Cons: food menu needs a serious look. Repair all mosquito nets and other Needs a proper bar that one can sit around
Location: game drives.
The lodge was well situated in the kruger park. The staff were very friendly and really tried hard to go the extra mile. The rooms were nice looking but there were numerous holes in the mosquito net that was not acceptable in a malaria zone and cost of the stay. There were was some unidentified things in the bed that we brushed off and did not worry until we found we were nicely bitten the next day. Burnt a coil and had a rather large amount of dead bugs a few hours later. better after that The room spa decks were in need of repair and the air conditioner rattled away. The food was interesting but the meat was very tough, first night impala steaks could not be eaten because of sinew. the next night ostrich steaks are a cheap meat that I could not cut through but the chef provided a sharp knife to help. third night just had the vegetarian. I think the lodge has potential to be great but management /owners not putting enough back to be anywhere near a high priced lodge. Drinks very expensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bethany from Perth, Australia

Great place for relaxation and privacy

Posted Dec 10, 2013
Amazing staff who do their utmost to ensure your stay is a success. The food is fantastic, the safari rangers are knowledgeable and seem to be able to spot a chameleon a mile away! Would recommend as a couples resort, as you tend to spend a lot of time in the beautiful rooms, hot tubs or on the decks enjoying each other's company.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from Manchester

Best location I have ever stayed in

Posted Nov 3, 2013
Pros: Amazing location and relaxed atmosphere
Cons: It was as near perfect as possible!
Location: You are in the midst of the Kruger National Park - does anything more need to be said!
Great staff who were always available if needed, knowledgeable, friendly and dedicated to making sure we had a great time
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carolina from Chile

Wonderful lodge, excellent food, staff and safari

Posted Oct 26, 2013
Unforgettable experience. Great staff, food and safari games. I was 3 days and everything was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sharon from Greenville SC

Wonderful, small, quiet facility inside Kruger

Posted Jun 10, 2013
Pros: Food, wait staff, and Nicholas, tea was great.
Cons: WiFi doesn't work even though they advertise it. Staff was nice enough to let me use their office computer just to tell folks we were off line.
Location: Little to do other than the safaris, read and rest. We did go into town which is a nice drive for Wifi. Enjoy the quiet!
We had a great experience at this quiet, small hotel. Loved the mix of guests and the wait staff, hotel staff and Nicholas, our safari guide went out of their way for every whim. The food was great, the room clean and very comfortable. the outdoor spa was a treat once we realized it could be heated. I recommend the in room massage for couples -- a real treat. Also, there is a watering hole close by so you can sit on your porch and watch them. Shower was great compared to other lodges and having your laundry done is a real treat as we had been traveling for 10 days. Even though it is fenced, there are still animals around but you can sit on your porch at night which can't be done at other lodges inside the park. I don't recommend for small children as there is no where to run around.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A & C from Wirral, UK

Great Hotel for Being Pampered

Posted Mar 30, 2013
Pros: The bed, and the view from the bedroom (the personal patio); the food; the friendliness and personal attention; the ambiance!
Cons: The jacuzzi was a bit cold. The website says the hotel does transfers from MQP airport, but they don't.
Location: Magical and wild - right in the bush
This was a lovely, relaxing place to stay. The staff were very friendly and hospitable. The food was excellent. The scale made it all very intimate - so we got to know all the staff and all the other guests. Everything was smart and very comfortable - truly a 5-star experience. Would love to go back and do it all again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Tacoma, WA

Fabulous Kruger experience

Posted May 13, 2010
I cannot imagine a better Kruger experience! We did a self-driving tour for 2 days, then included a 2-day stay at Imbali Safari Lodge. From the moment we arrived, the service was impeccable. The lodge itself is located within Kruger National Park. Our cottage with thatched roof and private jaccuzi was quite luxurious. Three meals per day (breakfast/brunch, high tea, and dinner) are included. The food was tasty and plentiful. The game drives (two per day, around 4 hours each) were fantastic! Our ranger was extremely knowledgable and made it his mission to ensure we made the most out of our trip. Over the course of two days, we saw lions, rhinos, elephant, giraffe, zebra, warthogs, water buffalo, impala, and more. If you're looking for the safari experience within the confines of Kruger, this is the way to go!