Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado, USA

Just wonderful

Posted Feb 20, 2017
I am only giving 4 stars because of a mix up in the reservation; IDK if it's Expedia or Jock, but we were put not at Jock but at the nearby Fitzpatrick's, which is very nice (only 3 rooms), but does not have a private dipping pool in the rooms, a main attraction for me. I did book Jock and not Fitzpatrick's. That said, it's a five star place, just check when you're booking. Fitzpatrick's is not individual huts like Jock either. But at either place I'm confident you'll have an excellent time! Would highly recommend and would come back despite the confusion. Staff is wonderful, the ranger David is awesome, funny, and on a mission to find you game (he knows where to look), and other guests were very fun so we didn't ever say anything. The lodge's safari terrain is just stunning, the turf of some amazing creatures. A walking safari if offered is fun! The food is absolutely gourmet and the Boma braii night is a good time. It's slightly annoying that alcoholic beverages are not included like most other safari lodges. Rooms have a classic colonial African style, beautiful, and a lovely outside shower overlooking a dry riverbed, where I saw a rhino crossing under the full moon! Tip: the gift store's prices were actually pretty decent, even cheaper than the park's gift stores.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great first safari experience!

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Cons: The spa could use updating.
The staff and rangers are very knowledgeable and accommodating. The game drives were amazing - saw the Big 5 within the first two days. The rooms are huge with lots of private outdoor space too.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Safari experience

Posted Jan 9, 2017 on Hotels
Highly experienced rangers who helped us find the Bog 5 very quickly and even rare animals like the black rhino. 2 daily drives are included in the rate (6 hours per day) Food is included in the rate however there are no snacks available between meals
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Kruger magic

Posted Aug 23, 2016 on Hotels
I can't begin to describe how amazing Jock is. From the moment we arrived everything was perfect!!! I wanted to propose to my fiancée in Kruger and found Jock on Hotels.com but wasn't sure if it would be the right place. In the end, I couldn't imagine anything better. The manager Naomi was amazing and deserves an Oscar for her acting skills and secret keeping. Our Ranger Micah grew up in the area was extremely knowledgable about the bush and it was fantastic learning from him. We saw pretty much every animal we could imagine including the rare sights like a black rhino and honey badger. I've been going to Kruger since a child and it was really great to be able to drive on Jock's private concession roads away from the crowded tar roads. The food was delicious and true to it's african roots. It was also really great having the alternating boma and fine dining nights. The rooms are very spacious and it's nice that there are only 12 of them so it's not overcrowded. The private splash pool was cute but it was mid-winter so we never swam. The lodge is right on the banks of two rivers and you often see animals right in front of your room and restaurant. On the last morning there was a whole pack of hyenas in the river which was cool. I've stayed at many luxurious 5-star hotels in my life and Jock outshines them all because of the personal touches - A home away from home. Overall it was an extremely memorable stay. Maybe we'll be lucky enough to return for the honeymoon.
4 out of 5
by David from Hemel Hempstead

Great way to get an introduction to safari

Posted Mar 6, 2016 on Hotels
The lodge is in the Kruger National Park and the stay includes game drives in morning and afternoon as well as full board. If you have never been on Safari, this is a great way to get the experience. If unhappy about any aspect and not resolved immediately, speak to the General Manager who is very helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Kruger

Posted Aug 25, 2015 on Hotels
Best way to see the Kruger
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 11, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sao Paulo/Brazil

Excelent!!

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Pros: Location and kindness of the staff.
Cons: Wifi. It is free, but is not stable.
Location: Safari, safari and safari.
The hotel has a rustic style but with all the amenities needed for a great safari experience. The room is comfortable and has everything you need to rest with silence, confort and cleanliness. The food was great and the staff could not be more friendly. The ranger who accompanied us on the safari did everything he could to present us a wide variety of animals. I do recommend.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

safari kruger

Posted Aug 26, 2013
Pros: The chef and the food !
Cons: The ranger in charge of the game drive is not involved for the customer. He follows is own pleasure, don't listen requests and looks bored...
Location: safari
disappointing by the safari .... in safari lodge !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by James from Cayman Islands

Great location in Kruger

Posted Dec 6, 2012
Pros: Location inside Kruger National Park.
I had a very enjoyable experience at Jock. The rooms are a bit 'rustic' but very comfortable and the staff is friendly and helpful. While the property is fenced, the view of the riverbed is great and I was occasionally able to see animals from my room. The guides were fantastic--I was there only two days and saw the Big 5. The food was exceptional (and plentiful!).