Ratings based on 234 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

A bit out of the way but value for money

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Pros: Comfy rooms. Helpful and friendly staff.
Location: There is a 7 eleven and a local 24 hour eatery nearby. Shuttle services and taxis are available to take you to nearby malls and restaurants.
Nice newly refurbished hotel rooms with see through window into the bath. Mini fridge stopped working but hotel staff replaced it within the hour. 5 star comfort for a 3 star price. Location a bit out of the way however.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2016 by Hugo Gerritsen (Area General Manager), Hotel Management
Dear Tze, Thank you for your kind review. We are so please that you had an overall excellent stay with us, from our comfy room to our service. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Petaling Jaya

A nice short stay

Posted Jun 23, 2016
Pros: Convenient
It was a pleasant stay at this hotel. Me and my kids enjoy it. They were having fun in the swimming pool. In room dining service was fast. I am able to Iftar during my stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2016 by Hugo Gerritsen (Area General Manager), Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for your review. We are glad that you and your family enjoy your stay with us, enjoying our swimming pool, food and accommodation. We look forward to your next visit.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from singapore

badly rundown hotel

Posted Jun 20, 2016
Pros: There was all local band singing at the lounge providing some entertainment
Cons: Do a room renovation quickly
Location: Next to hospital. No Malls. Nothing to see except Doctors.
The shower spray is broken, water sprayed everywhere. Found a big cockroach in the wardrobe. Aircon too cold and the control don't work too well Location not so convenient Pillows very hard and thick. Won't book this hotel again
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2016 by Hugo Gerritsen (Area General Manager), Hotel Management
Dear regular, Thank you for your feedback. We sincerely apologise for the predicaments you had encountered during your time with us. In regards to the showerhead, our engineering team has been informed and immediate actions have been taken to rectify this. We assure you that it will not happen again. Our housekeeping has also been informed on the issue you had with pest, we assure you that measure have been taken to eliminate the problem. Once again, we apologise for the predicaments you have encountered but hope that you will consider staying with us
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from KL

A hotel with spectacular service

Posted Jun 19, 2016
the room was great and the main receptionist was very quick into the rescue.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2016 by Hugo Gerritsen (Area General Manager), Hotel Management
Dear DZ, Thank you for your review. We are pleased to have served you during your stay. We are glad that you enjoyed your accommodation and our associetes were swift in tending to your needs. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel and a genuinely surprise

Posted May 20, 2016
Pros: Great hotel, great location, polite hotel staff, free parking, great breakfast, nice live music in the bar
Location: Close to the shopping mall and high way to KLIA
Great hotel, great location, polite hotel staff, free parking, great breakfast, nice live music in the bar
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2016 by Hugo Gerritsen (Area General Manager), Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted that you had a great hotel experience and our location suited your needs. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

staff so nice and faster check in counter

Posted May 4, 2016
Pros: spacious room, comfortable and great hotel for a family
Rooms are contemporary and comfortable, with free Wi-Fi also child-friendly family hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2016 by Hugo Gerritsen (Area General Manager), Hotel Management
Dear Izzaida, We are delighted that you and your family had a great hotel stay with us and found our accommodation to be child-friendly. We shall await to welcome you and your family back on your next visit.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quiet & comfortable

Posted Apr 23, 2016
This club room is nice and makes me feel safe and comfortable. It does make feel relax when having a quick breakfast at the premium lounge. I will definitely come again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2016 by Hugo Gerritsen (Area General Manager), Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for your kind review. We are glad that you had a wonderful stay with us, enjoying the comforts of our Club room and the breakfast. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel need renovation

Posted Apr 22, 2016 on Hotels
It was nice but not great, I stay 6 nights here and 1st day was so sad coz I ask for queen bed and they give me double single beds, noisy AC and leakage in the bath. I asked to change the room but it takes 3 nights after complain to change from superior to deluxe room. But I miss the bathtub :)
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2016 by Hugo, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for your review. It is unfortunate that you did not have a great stay. We sincerely apologise for the predicament you had on your first 3 nights and the duration it took to change your room. We assure you that this will not happen again on your next stay with us. We hope you will consider staying with us again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from India

Good location in Subang but service disappointing

Posted Apr 13, 2016
Pros: Nice rooms and facilities
Cons: People and service have to undergo a lot of change
I had a room reserved from the previous night for my check in at 7am the next morning. The hotel staff told me that I have to wait a few hours as the room is not cleaned. This obviously means that my paid room was used to gain extra money. After I made a lot of noise at the reception, they upgraded me to a better room as they wanted to cover up. They gave me a key to the 10th or 11th floor and after reaching there with my luggage I realised that I could not open the door. I had to come down again to reception and they gave me a new key card. I guess the reservation staff did this on purpose to compensate for the shouting. However the duty manager was very helpful and he took me to my room and ensured that everything was ok
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 17, 2016 by Hugo Gerritsen (Area General Manager), Hotel Management
Dear Rajesh, Thank you for your review. We are glad that you had a comfortable stay. However we apologise for the predicaments you had encountered upon your check in. Our management has been informed and we assure you that measures have been taken to ensure that this does not happen again. We hope you will consider staying with us again.
5 out of 5
by Yazid

Posted Apr 8, 2016 on Hotels
Very good and clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 17, 2016
Dear Yazid, Thank you for your review. We are glad you found our hotel to be up to your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.