Ratings based on 1,314 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Great value for money and location

Posted Feb 15, 2017
This is the second time I have stayed at the Istana. It is the best value for money 5 star hotel in Bukit Bintang area. The rooms are clean and spacious, the staff are wonderful and the location is great. Would definitely recommend to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney

Excellent service

Posted Feb 1, 2017
We loved our stay at the Istana ... the club room service was out of the world and leaves nothing more to desire! The rooms may be old (in terms of the decor) but the service is outclass and makes you ignore any such small issue! Will stay again when in KL!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old, out dated and tired.

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Pros: Good location
Cons: Completely re-furbish the rooms, hallways, common areas... Gut the thing and start over.
Dirty, stained carpets, mold in the bathroom, outdated design. Only two plugs in the room and nothing on the night stand... obviously built at a time when people didn't have anything to plug in... and hasn't been updated since.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good exp

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Was good exp. Good staff. Value of money. Nice breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Great location and quiet

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: Great breakfast. Big rooms. Good pool. Great staff, very friendly and helpful. Location close to shopping and restaurants. Affordable cost.
Cons: Leaking taps and door in shower. More TV channels and better picture quality. Some fresh milk in the fridge for tea/coffee.
Location: SHOPPING!!!! Three (at least) major shopping centres within 15 minute walk. Close to monorail station which you can use to get to Chinatown.
We knew from other reviews to expect this hotel to be a bit old and tired, and it is. But it is clean, staff are friendly, and it is in an ideal location to explore the shopping and nightlife. What we didn't expect is how big and grand this place is, it really gives you that five star hotel feeling when you enter. We didn't get our choice of room due to renovations, and hence made do with two single beds pushed together. There was some noise (which we were advised at check in) during the day from the renovations, but we were out most days hence it didn't affect us. The room was very spacious and mostly comfortable, a few quirks such as the shower leaked water under the door, and it could do with a few more TV channels, not that you go on holidays to watch TV. The pool area was nice and tidy, perhaps could do with a few more umbrellas and seats, but the water was clean, gardens well kept and plenty of towels available. Breakfast was huge with a mix of Asian and Western choices, and as much as you want including omlettes to order. Overall excellent value for money, not sure why you'd want more in a hotel when on holidays and hence really only using it to sleep and have breakfast at.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from KL

Nice

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Strategic location with all facilities and all amenities around there. Nice hotel with affordable price
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Fantastic staff and service, the best breakfast.

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Pros: Helpful staff, comfortable room.
Cons: The television coverage could be better, with CNN and Aljaziera as well as BBC, a better movie channel would have been good as well
My husband was unwell and needed to rest. Room service was great and I was able to go to the gym, have swims and shop for anything we needed within a few hundred metres of the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Istana is one of the oldest hotel in KL. However, the rooms seems to have been renovated and it was comfortable and spacious. The decor is Middle Eastern which was quite charming. Location is also perfect as it is walking distance from the shopping area (Pavilion), restaurants, bars and clubs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Nice hotel in city centre

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Hotel is conveniently located in city centre. It's in walking distance to 2 malls with plenty of dining choices. Also there is a metro station across the street. Hotel is a bit dated, but you will not notice until you get to your room. Otherwise, it is clean and well kept. The only downside is all the city construction going on once you leave hotel grounds. Scaffolding and chain link fencing is everywhere. Not sure how long it will be going on, but it made navigating a simple street crossing difficult.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 25, 2016 on Hotels