Ratings based on 431 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from KL

Nice

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Strategic location with all facilities and all amenities around there. Nice hotel with affordable price
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Fantastic staff and service, the best breakfast.

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Pros: Helpful staff, comfortable room.
Cons: The television coverage could be better, with CNN and Aljaziera as well as BBC, a better movie channel would have been good as well
My husband was unwell and needed to rest. Room service was great and I was able to go to the gym, have swims and shop for anything we needed within a few hundred metres of the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Istana is one of the oldest hotel in KL. However, the rooms seems to have been renovated and it was comfortable and spacious. The decor is Middle Eastern which was quite charming. Location is also perfect as it is walking distance from the shopping area (Pavilion), restaurants, bars and clubs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Nice hotel in city centre

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Hotel is conveniently located in city centre. It's in walking distance to 2 malls with plenty of dining choices. Also there is a metro station across the street. Hotel is a bit dated, but you will not notice until you get to your room. Otherwise, it is clean and well kept. The only downside is all the city construction going on once you leave hotel grounds. Scaffolding and chain link fencing is everywhere. Not sure how long it will be going on, but it made navigating a simple street crossing difficult.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Western Australia

overall maintenance poor in rooms

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Pros: service and ambiance in hotel foyer & restaurant quite good, friendly staff
Cons: Bathroom needs updating also the carpets. Taps leaked, shower door didn't keep water inside shower.
Location: Location good for shopping and food outlets
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Nice hotel with good service

Posted Sep 18, 2016
A ten minute walk to pavilion shopping mall. Nice baby and adult pool. Breakfast is good too. Oddly, the gym is located at a secluded area in the basement, which offers no views of the outside.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

centrally located comfort

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Pros: everything
Cons: the hotel surcharge on taxis is ridiculous when one can walk to the street and hail one with no surcharge
Location: all of KL's amenities are accessible through the monorail at front of the hotel
probably the best breakfasts i have ever experienced in over 50 years, anywhere in the world
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Doesn't deserve the money that you pay for

Posted Jul 25, 2016
I spent 3 nights for my honeymoon as I realized after I arrived that it doesn't deserve 5 star hotel for having an old furniture at the rooms with a smelly carpet and dirty spots on the sofa and the chair in the room , as the toilet is so old that you won't feel the luxury of a five star hotel beside the staff are not helpful because of their policies by not offering a way to heat your food and a broken iron board , the carpet is not fixed properly in the room and more
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth

Fabulous hotel

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Hotel is in a good location. Room was spacious and staff friendly. Breakfast was great too.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Nice at a Price!

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: The staff attentiveness.
Cons: Cleanliness and upgrade of room facilities.
Location: Good location, near to everything by walking.
The hotel was ok, not as clean as one would hope for, but it was comfortable and the staff were very attentive to our needs. The location is the best thing going for the hotel, near to the heart of everything, monorail, cafe's, bars and restaurants. For the price, it could be bettered, but in the end a clean bed and quiet room is all that is needed for a good night's sleep.