Ratings based on 1,871 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SG

Very nice comfortable stay

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Away from busy night life. Ease of grab/uber to get around. Typical city congestion requires a bit of patience. Great hotel service. Fragrant scent around hotel a little too "earthy".
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford

5 star really great position

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Hotel excellent. Well situated. Great staff. Definitely go there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel in the middle of the city

Posted Mar 12, 2017
The hotel is clean. Breakfast is good. Dinner is very expensive , US $80 per heard. I would have preferred more variety of Indian curry. This was a bit disappointing. Nevertheless, I would recommend the hotel. Other hotels in KAL serve spicey food!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philippines

Convenient location in central KL

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: The staff were pleasant and efficient. The room was comfortable and the pool area was quite nice.
Cons: Hard to improve as it is the building itself that limits the hotel's development.
Location: The KLCC is nearby and a few nice local restaurants. Unfortunately we followed the directions given by the doorman and we got lost!
We enjoyed our overnight stay at the Shangri-La in KL recently. It is a lovely hotel that is currently undergoing a makeover as it is definitely a 20th century property rather than a contemporary hotel. The facilities seem good on the whole. The buffet breakfast was served in the Japanese restaurant as the Lemon Garden Café was undergoing renovation. The pool area is quite nice but is overlooked a bit by the surrounding buildings. The room itself was fine with a comfortable bed and an excellent bathroom. The writing desk was good and had adequate outlets for plugging in various devices. The selection of good TV stations seemed very limited compared to those on offer in other countries but perhaps that is the fault of the country rather than the hotel. The KL Shangri-La is a good property but it doesn't seem to have much of a 'Wow Factor' compared to other hotels in the city such as the nearby Grand Hyatt. Unfortunately I think most of that has to do with the building itself which is definitely an 80's construction so there isn't a great deal that can be done to bring it into the 21st century. If you are a fan of the traditional Shangri-La lobby with its European feel, then you will love the KL Shangri-La.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Shangdi La style never dates

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Pros: Elegand style and staff
Cons: Faster delivery of tea and coffee at breakfast
Location: Easy walk to shopping centres and Twin Towers
Lovely hotel with superb staff. we took the club option which gives is breakfast in the Horizon Lounge plus afternoon tea, drinks and canapés in the evening and a late checkout for our flight
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value for the money.

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Top shelf facility. Good location. Excellent staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Montreal

In the best location

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: The staff and luxury feel without the high price.
Cons: Nothing
A hotel that is close to many of the sights that make Kuala Lumpur a great place to visit. A guarantee return for me.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philippines

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: rooms were very nice comfortable and new
Cons: all good
Location: can walk to places to eat or take the train
Excellent Hotel, does not get old, location excellent, and good value at the special rate
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Central hotel nice breakfast and pool area

Posted Feb 17, 2017
I liked hotel but felt the Mandarijn Oriental was better and next time would go back to it Great breakfast buffet and everything was good but room much smaller than equivalent at Mandarin Oriental Also supply of toiletries was a bit mean ( one small bottle of shower gel etc ) However restaurants being refurbished while rherecfo may be better when finished
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value for the mineu

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Excellent service from the staff. First class facility. Great lobby bar with perfect evening live music.