Ratings based on 1,811 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria BC

WOW!

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: Very high end for a great price!!!
We couldn't believe that we could get such a nice hotel for such a great price! Beautiful inside and out. HUGE rooms that are very well appointed. The breakfast buffet is the best we have ever had in terms of selection. We did have problems with the WiFi and even though their IT guy was sent up to help fix it, it never worked for us on either our tablet or phone. Had to go out of the hotel to do our emailing. The Wifi problem is the only reason that we did not rate the hotel condition as Excellent. Beautiful pool and grounds and the location is pretty good. There is so much construction going on in the area it is difficult to walk anywhere though as most of the sidewalks in the area were ripped up and there were no street crossings. The closest Hop-on Hop-off bus stop was less that a block away though so that was nice.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Uk

Beautiful hotel but let down by housekeeping

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: Attractive looking hotel in good central location ,large and very quiet swimming pool.
Cons: Housekeeping hotel needs to pay more attention to guests rooms as they do to there function rooms and public areas.
Location: Very close to shopping malls and numerous dining places 10 minutes walk from Petronius towers
This is a beautiful looking hotel with impressive foyer, checking in all very easy ,room was a good size with large bed the problems we had was with the cleanliness carpets in room and on landing around lift were never ever vacumed during our 8 day stay found used plaster in cabinet ,wardrobe shelves very dusty,valance on bed ripped,bathroom flooded in shower and on 3 consecutive days when we returned about 4.30pm room still hadn't been cleaned when we complained about this head of housekeeping eventually came to our room and apologised but couldn't give us a reason as to why. Good location ,good looking hotel lovely entrance maybe they should concentrate more on guests rooms ,housekeeping needs to get its act together.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It is a great experience!

Posted Mar 23, 2017
We were upgraded to a premier suite which indeed was a great surprise to us. It has been a very comfortable stay! We are grateful!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Not too bad

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Stayed in club room and lounge staff were excellent. The room was huge and very comfortable.However it just missed the mark a bit. Some staff,particularly in the main restraunt didn't really make you feel welcome. Again the lounge staff were excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Nice hotel in the centre of Kuala Lumpur

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Pros: Comfort and large rooms. The bathroom had nice toiletries.
Cons: A ceiling fan would have been a nice alternative to using AC. The carpets need updating or at least a really good cleaning.
Location: As above.
The Royale Chulan is a good hotel. It is central, quiet and has nice facilities: a great pool, work out room and restaurants. The breakfast is amazing in the amount of choices, quality of food and service. The staff is friendly and efficient. Our request for a room near the pool was realized and we were allowed to leave our luggage in a secure room while we went to the Cameron Highlands since we were returning to the same hotel prior to departure from KL. We were able to walk to public transportation and the shopping district including The Pavilion Mall.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Great ambience and experience in a truly majestic and true class hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: Staff all friendly and good manners
Cons: Sound insulation From room to room
Hotel room sound insulation poor, can hear sound from next door
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide, Australia

Always great and comfortable.

Posted Feb 13, 2017
It is one of my favourite hotels in KL. The staff are very helpful and accommodating. Really sweet people, and very professional too. The hotel location is also excellent as it is only some 5-8 minute walk to the Pavillion. The breakfast choice is spectacular. I have seen better breakfast buffets at the other hotels but this one is with a Malaysian twist hence exotic and delicious. I love the sounds of the birds, if your room overlooks the craft centre. The rooms overlooking the pool are also comfortable. All the rooms are spacious. A great hotel! I recommend it with no hesitation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Nice hotel close to malls

Posted Feb 8, 2017
I had a wonderful stay at the hotel, the staff were friendly and helpful. The room is huge and clean, however the tv seems small but it wasnt an big issue. Walking distance( about 10 mins) to Pavillion and KLCC.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hairs in bath, dirty carpets, plug sockets broken

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Not a five star hotel, room was tired and grubby. Hairs in the bath, dirty carpet, and got bitten in the night. Plug sockets broken, iron leaked, not good.