Ratings based on 239 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from gb

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Softer beds and stocked minibar
Location: Loads to see and to. Nice and central
Our bed was seriously hard and our pillows smelled like an old ashtray. We requested a non smoking room and after the first night the hotel staff replaced the bedding and it was fine after that.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2017 by Hamish Watts, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for posting a review of our property following your stay with us. I am sorry to read that you did not like our bed as it was too hard for you and that our pillows did not smell fresh. I have shared your valuable feedback with my team. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused. We hope to have an opportunity soon to welcome you back. At your service, Hamish Watts
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Room with a view. 20 minutes walk to major shopping malls. Great food in hotel and right outside at the waterfront.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2017 by Hamish Watts, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for posting a review of our property following your stay with us. I am delighted to learn that you had enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcome you back again soon. At your service, Hamish Watts
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SG

Free upgrade to Governor's Suite

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Pros: Great staff and room.
We were in Kuching for only a night. Checked in late and to my surprise was upgraded to the Governor's Suite. It was huge with in room Jacuzzi, dining and living room and a study and kitchen! The view of the room was amazing! It overlooked the river and had breathtaking night views. Their Chinese restaurant has great food too!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2017 by Hamish Watts, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for posting a review on our property following your stay with us. I am delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable time and that you liked our Governor's Suite. The entire team and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. At your service, Hamish Watts
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

not quite the hilton

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: located on the river. Paid another 15 dollars for the view. can walk to the market and restaurants.
Cons: I think the hotel and restaurants are overpriced. Either more realistic pricing or real high facilities and service.
Location: on the river and close to markets and restaurants
I think I expected more from a hilton. I have stayed at 3 star hotels thar were almost as good. The hotel restaurants were very expensive, more than $40/ head, so did not eat any meals at the hotel, except breakfast, around $10.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2017 by Hamish Watts, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for posting a review of our property following your stay with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for not living up to your expectations. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back again. At your service, Hamish Watts
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from HK

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Good location and good service. Very good GYM room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 6, 2017 by Hamish Watts, Hotel Management
Dear Oliver Thank you for posting a review of our property on Expedia. We thank you for your favourable feedback and that we have a very good gym. Indeed the property has a very privileged position within the city of Kuching. We look forward to welcome you back again soon. At your service, Hamish Watts General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean and spacious hotel

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is pretty old, but they've kept it very well. The good thing about older hotels are that it's spacious. The service provided was excellent, and they offered us free breakfast for our stay there! Will definitely use the hotel again when I return to Kuching. For the price you pay for this hotel, it's definitely worth the stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2017
Dear Guest Thank you for posting a review of our property. I am delighted to read that you have had an enjoyable stay with us. The entire team and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. At your service, Hamish Watts
5 out of 5
by Kok

Best Hotel in town!

Posted Jan 1, 2017 on Hotels
Great stay - professional, courteous and attentive staff, perfect location! Rooms facing the river and high up offer amazing views. Nice large pool, full amenities. Close to shopping and area is foodie heaven!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2017
Dear Kok Thank you very much for posting a review of our property. I am delighted to learn that you have had an enjoyable stay with us. The entire team and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. At your service, Hamish Watts
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Selangor

Close to Kuching Waterfront

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Pros: Willing to make exceptions to make the stay of the guests pleasant. They are not too rigid to the point that becomes truly annoying
Cons: None
Location: Near to good local food
We wanted additional stuff for toiletries for the children and they obliged. We needed an extension of 2 hours for checkout because the flight was delayed and they obliged with no additional charge. They gave good advice on travelling within Kuching. Çourtesy with a smile was clearly there on every employee we encountered...
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Satisfying

Posted Dec 23, 2016 on Hotels
the rooms require some refurbishment
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Convenient hotel

Posted Dec 16, 2016
Pros: The hotel staff are friendly.
Cons: You'll have to pay extra per night to get their wifi, but if you sign up with their loyalty programme, you get free wifi with good connection.
Location: The location is good. The Sarawak River is a stone's throw away, and you can take a sampan across the river to visit some kueh lapis shops.
My family and I stayed here for 4 nights. There are a few local eateries nearby, one of which is the Top Spot seafood place (10-minute walk). Room was spacious and well-kept. In-room service was well worth the price, and delicious too! The nasi goreng is a must-try. There is a travel agency located at its lobby, and the staff there are accommodating and friendly.