Ratings based on 121 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not bad, but not good either

Posted Jun 7, 2017 on Orbitz
The hotel has good parking and decent rooms. The staff is mostly friendly, but one of them is smoking in the staircase and it smelled like smoke everywhere in the hotel but in the room. Breakfast was not available due to a business meeting or the like and no alternatives were given. Not very inviting atmosphere overall.
3 out of 5
by Cesar from Sacramento CA

Good hotel - very poor service!

Posted Aug 25, 2015 on Hotels
Front desk not friendly, room was located in noisy area, Clerk argued and did not want to remove a charge we paid in cash, extras more expensive than hotels in Paris and Amsterdam, employees not willing to work with customers.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Amsterdam

Breakfast ripoff, outdated hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Pros: Outdated
Cons: Be transparent about any charges lime breakfast, it appears as rip off and upsets the guests Improve your foreigne language skills of staff at recept
Location: When a road is closed around Kulmbach, it might take you extra 15 to 20 min. It is outside the town of Kulmbach, not ideal on a humid summer day.
We came to the hotel where staff barely spoke English at the reception. We had 29 degrees C in the room, unbearable. There was no air conditioning in any of the rooms. I was upset when we received for two days breakfast for 2 people a 68 Eur charge. We have not been advised that breakfast needs to be paid extra and how much for instance. The restaurant next doors as part of the complex could not have a simplementation chicken dish on a menu :-/ Again, it deserves a BAD review as it has so many things to improve. It is still from early 70's.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Decent hotel is a small town in Upper Bavaria

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Pros: Location and food
Cons: Install air conditioning
Location: I only attend for the biannual Tin Figure Bourse. There is a splendid castle with a toy solider museum and a museum on the army of Frederick Great
The largest hotel in town. On the edge of town next to the City Park and about a fifteen minute walk from the center and the railroad station. I stay here when I attend the biannual Tin Figure Bourse. It has not changed in ten years. The atmosphere is modern. The people folksy. The breakfast if great but expensive. The kitchen is capable of making some delicious dinners. The food service is rather slow and careless. During the times that the hotel is filled they seem overwhelmed. Worst problem is that the hotel is not air conditioned. Few places in Kulmbach are. No restaurants. When it is needed as in August when I visited it is much missed.
5 out of 5
by Rob from Buenos Aires

Good location. Very clean. Impressed.

Posted Aug 9, 2015 on Hotels
Very close to town centre. Good parking. Friendly staff. Clean. Free and decent wifi. Couldn't plug in my laptop to the TV: it's locked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good quality hotel in small town.

Posted Aug 23, 2014
We had two nights at this hotel. Quiet. Clean. Decent bathroom. Good quality breakfast. Ya boo sucks to Expedia who didn't get us a bed and breakfast rate and thus made us pay premium prices. But not the hotel's fault.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Odd place with a lobby that smells of cigarettes

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Easy access, nice sized rooms.
Cons: No smoking in the hotel, furnishings and decor could use a refresh.
Location: Not much to do other than walk around the village. Sad looking shops. One highlight: the Gelateria Italiana!!!
We decided to leave our plans until the last minute, en route home from Austria, and Kulmbach seemed like a reasonable location in which to stop for the night. The hotel was easy enough to find and was only a 10-15 minute walk from the town centre. We were surprised to find that the whole of the hotel lobby (room with an atrium) smelled of cigarettes and wondered if the staff smoked in their office since we rarely saw anyone outside having a smoke. The hotel was large and mainly empty and the hallways have that somewhat creepy lighting system, where you have to stop every 15 meters to turn on another hallway light to see where you're going (the lights are on a timer and turn themselves off). The room was a good size and faced out onto the car park. (At 6.30 the next morning, that meant that had front row seats to hear all of the Italians navigating getting onto their tour bus for half an hour.) WIFI was 10 Euros per night or free in the lobby, so we opted to go back into the smoky lobby to check emails and plan the route for the next day. A wander into the town proved a bit odd. Flags hung from most buildings advertising the local beer, Kulmbacher, but there was almost no one in sight, despite it being a Thursday evening. Found a couple of sad looking pubs and restaurants and finally decided to try Zunftstube - nice, cheap, homely food. One highlight was finding a good gelateria with fab Pistachio ice cream.
5 out of 5
by Marc Patterson from Rochester, MN

Convenient for touring Oberfranken

Posted Aug 7, 2014 on Hotels
Spacious, clean room I and excellent daily breakfast buffet. As in most such hotels, there is no air conditioning , but opening the window was sufficient. To keep us cool. Perhaps the management might consider installing insect screens on the windows, since we did have some nocturnal winged visitors. Excellent location in Kulmbach , an easy walk to all attractions. It was also an easy drive to Bayreuth, Cronach, Bamberg and Coburg, all of which we visited during our stay. The staff were friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.
3 out of 5
by Matej

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 7, 2014 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Gerry from Bellevue, WA

OK Hotel

Posted Jun 3, 2014 on Hotels
This is an old hotel in need of a serious update. The fact that it has no air conditioning makes me wonder 'what if' it would've been Summer instead of Spring. Not sure why it is promoted as a 4 star hotel when it's clearly not. Otherwise, it was an OK hotel for a single night.