Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Amsterdam

Breakfast ripoff, outdated hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Pros: Outdated
Cons: Be transparent about any charges lime breakfast, it appears as rip off and upsets the guests Improve your foreigne language skills of staff at recept
Location: When a road is closed around Kulmbach, it might take you extra 15 to 20 min. It is outside the town of Kulmbach, not ideal on a humid summer day.
We came to the hotel where staff barely spoke English at the reception. We had 29 degrees C in the room, unbearable. There was no air conditioning in any of the rooms. I was upset when we received for two days breakfast for 2 people a 68 Eur charge. We have not been advised that breakfast needs to be paid extra and how much for instance. The restaurant next doors as part of the complex could not have a simplementation chicken dish on a menu :-/ Again, it deserves a BAD review as it has so many things to improve. It is still from early 70's.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Decent hotel is a small town in Upper Bavaria

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Pros: Location and food
Cons: Install air conditioning
Location: I only attend for the biannual Tin Figure Bourse. There is a splendid castle with a toy solider museum and a museum on the army of Frederick Great
The largest hotel in town. On the edge of town next to the City Park and about a fifteen minute walk from the center and the railroad station. I stay here when I attend the biannual Tin Figure Bourse. It has not changed in ten years. The atmosphere is modern. The people folksy. The breakfast if great but expensive. The kitchen is capable of making some delicious dinners. The food service is rather slow and careless. During the times that the hotel is filled they seem overwhelmed. Worst problem is that the hotel is not air conditioned. Few places in Kulmbach are. No restaurants. When it is needed as in August when I visited it is much missed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Odd place with a lobby that smells of cigarettes

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Easy access, nice sized rooms.
Cons: No smoking in the hotel, furnishings and decor could use a refresh.
Location: Not much to do other than walk around the village. Sad looking shops. One highlight: the Gelateria Italiana!!!
We decided to leave our plans until the last minute, en route home from Austria, and Kulmbach seemed like a reasonable location in which to stop for the night. The hotel was easy enough to find and was only a 10-15 minute walk from the town centre. We were surprised to find that the whole of the hotel lobby (room with an atrium) smelled of cigarettes and wondered if the staff smoked in their office since we rarely saw anyone outside having a smoke. The hotel was large and mainly empty and the hallways have that somewhat creepy lighting system, where you have to stop every 15 meters to turn on another hallway light to see where you're going (the lights are on a timer and turn themselves off). The room was a good size and faced out onto the car park. (At 6.30 the next morning, that meant that had front row seats to hear all of the Italians navigating getting onto their tour bus for half an hour.) WIFI was 10 Euros per night or free in the lobby, so we opted to go back into the smoky lobby to check emails and plan the route for the next day. A wander into the town proved a bit odd. Flags hung from most buildings advertising the local beer, Kulmbacher, but there was almost no one in sight, despite it being a Thursday evening. Found a couple of sad looking pubs and restaurants and finally decided to try Zunftstube - nice, cheap, homely food. One highlight was finding a good gelateria with fab Pistachio ice cream.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Chesterfield, MO

Nice hotel, centrally located.

Posted Oct 16, 2013
Cons: Although not the fault of the hotel, late night revelers made our night's stay less enjoyable.
Location: Kulmbach is know for its beer, and for good reason.
Overall, this hotel is one to which I would return. The room was clean and nice. Only two things I would suggest: 1) have those who smoke step a bit further away from the lobby. The cigarette smoke permeates the lobby and is noticeable in the hallway. 2) We were placed in a handicapped room without being told. I think we should be informed upon check-in that we were in a handicapped room, especially in this one where there was no shower stall per se, and the water went all over the bathroom floor. I didn't care for mopping the floor after showering. Breakfast not included, which would've been nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sandy from London

Good place to stay - business or pleasure

Posted Aug 30, 2013
Not perhaps fully 4 star in terms of comfort/facilities, rooms are good sized with all essentials in place, very clean and well serviced each day. Excellent breakfast buffet and good evening meals served until midnight (late opening and set menu for Festival period). Quibbles - coffee machine in room but only one coffee pod/teabag provided for whole stay. Powerful shower but plastic shower screens. Aircon in room but no cooling (temperature was in high 20s but rooms hot). Plenty of parking, wifi throughout hotel and convenient for motorways.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Opera Buff from NY, NY

Clean, modern, well run hotel near Bayreuth

Posted Aug 14, 2013
Pros: Location, cleanliness, excellent staff, wifi, breakfast.
Cons: No complaints
Location: Bayreuth opera
we stayed two nights while attending the Bayreuth opera festival. The rooms were clean, with new carpeting. Excellent free wifi throughout the facility and an excellent breakfast included. Plenty of parking.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

3 stars at the most

Posted Jul 31, 2012
The bed and the room smelt of stale cigarettes as did the lobby. The location was not the best and the restaurant food was very average.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

Fourth Visit!

Posted Aug 13, 2009
Excellent position for the town, good facilities, excellent food and drink - This is the fourth stay here over the last 12 years - the name may have changed but the quality hasn't.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Great hotel food in Frankenland/Franconia

Posted Sep 6, 2007
I was in Kulmbach for the biannual Zinnfiguren Borse. I have stayed here before. Others may have other reasons. The hotel is modern and near the town center. The rooms are roomy but not air conditioned. I believe the prices were inflated because of the number of people attending the Borse. Because of bad weather I had two dinners in the hotel restaurant which were wonderful. Great sauces on well cooked meats and nicely presented.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fürth

Tja, sollte man echt wissen

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: kostenlose Parkplätze sind ausreichend vorhanden.
Ankunft Checkinn, ca. erst um 22.00 Uhr - aber ohne Probleme. Leider funktionierte die "Heizung" im Zimmer nicht. Sollte man überprüfen. Auch die Wärmelampe zum Duschen am nächsten Tag.... es war einfach zu kalt um eine Dusche nehmen zu können. Ob ein anderes Zimmer besser gewesen wäre, wissen wir nicht. Es war spät und wir wollten dann nicht noch einmal evtl. Zimmer wechseln. Frühstück mit 17 Euro pro Person, tja wie auch andere Gäste schon geschrieben haben, einfach zu teuer. Wir sind zum Mc Cafe......