Ratings based on 88 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Ian

Disappointed with smoking room.

Posted Apr 16, 2017 on Hotels
Noticed on the confirmation email a few weeks before going that it said 'smoking room' which I did not knowingly sign up to. Attempted to contact the hotel through hotels.com to have this changed and received no response. When I checked in the hotel staff were unable to change this at that stage all non-smoking rooms were booked out. Very disappointed, the smell in the room and corridor somewhat marred our stay in what otherwise would've been a good hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Stayed for a couple of days. Good room, bit small but ok. Good location right next to shopping arcades and 10 mn walking distance from Kumamoto castle. Basic breakfast but nice to have available. Would come back to this hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Extremely friendly staff....

Posted Oct 13, 2016 on Hotels
Very friendly reception staff who never tired of fielding a variety of questions from us. Located very close to a tram stop that was itself only a few stops from the main railway station. Next to a long covered shopping mall with numerous places to eat nearly. Not far to the (closed and damaged) historic castle; perhaps fifteen-twenty minutes. The breakfast was fine, more Japanese than Western but with some options for those that prefer the latter. Room small-medium sized but very clean and modern-ish. Enjoyed our stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 19, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Stephen from Vancouver

Amazing Hotel in a time of crisis

Posted Apr 22, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is in a great location, is clean and modern, and has an awesome breakfast. Our stay was perfect until April 14, when Kumamoto suffered the first of two major earthquakes. During this catastrophe, the physical hotel and the staff performed above and beyond. During two major quakes the staff stayed on duty assisting scared and confused guests. They even continued with breakfast service throughout everything! I’m sure the staff had their own homes and family they were worried about, but they showed nothing but concern for guests and continued to care for us as if it were business as normal. As for the building - asleep in this hotel during the second larger earthquake, we felt as if the building would collapse from the violent shaking. The staff ran throughout the 10 story building making sure everyone evacuated. After several hours we returned to the hotel to find minimal physical damage, so we were able to return to our room and try to sleep. Our checkout was April 17, but because all public transport was shut down (airport, rail and roads damaged) we had to make a decision to wait it out or make an attempt to reach another city’s airport. The hotel offered to hold our room and extend our stay if we were unable to leave, but in the end we were able to make it to Fukuoka and connect to our flight home. I highly recommend this hotel on many levels - but most of all because the calm and kind staff cared for us, while the well-constructed building saved our lives.
3 out of 5
by Lin Chin from usa

small room but good location

Posted Aug 13, 2015 on Hotels
room too small
3 out of 5
by Sultan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 3, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 17, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Convent to pedestrian mall, and trams

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Staff, WiFi, location.
So easy to get to from the train station on the tram. Use the tram to go to other locations. Room comfortable, in proportion to other Japanese hotels, as expected from descriptions. Breakfast plentiful with a variety of typical Japanese offerings. Great variety of breads. The mall has a variety of stores / very comfortable location for those on foot. WiFi reliable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by J from Washington

Small, clean room

Posted May 21, 2014
Stayed for two nights in a single room. Room was very small but typical of Japanese hotels like this. Hotel is close to a tram stop and a huge shopping arcade. The free breakfast was a nice bonus.