Ratings based on 62 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 19, 2016 on Hotels
There is no English name hotel sign, I was almost unable to find the building. Staffs English are poor. Fair breakfast and fair room facilities. Do remember to lock your room manually because it does not equip with intelligence door lock. You cannot put hair dryer to washroom nor dim your light. It is either switch on and off. Point to note, if you prefer stone-hard bed to sleep, this hotel would be a choice for you. Some other hotel beds are too soft which make my backbone painful.
4 out of 5
by Yue Xin from Singapore

Great location, behind petrol station

Posted Mar 19, 2016 on Hotels
Its less than 5 minutes walk from Kumamoto station. Bathroom is slightly dark due to the green wall. Wifi signal is strong! During our stay there is road construction going on in the night, we are on the 9th floor and we can still hear it. Not ideal if you are a light sleeper. Breakfast was included and we were glad we went for it. Simple yet sufficient, more of Japanese style than western. There's also an onsen room next to the restaurant and closes only at 2am!
5 out of 5
by Abby

Good service

Posted Jan 2, 2016 on Hotels
The staff was extremely friendly and could speak good English.
4 out of 5
by Chin Pang from Hong Kong

Nice choice

Posted Dec 23, 2015 on Hotels
Just about 5-8 min walk from Kumamoto JR Station. Helpful hotel staff. Nice to have breakfast included during the stay. I recommend this hotel to low budget travelers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

very close to jr station,rooms a bit tired

Posted Oct 1, 2015
Pros: close to kumamoto jr station.
Cons: bathrooms
Location: close to the jr station and the tram to the centre of town (castle area) .tram is cheap and easy to take if you get on the right line.
across the street and one block away from jr station but would be difficult to find if you can't read japanese. (it's the white building behind a car rental agency with a red sign.it's near the light signals. only reason I found it was that this was the third route inn I stayed at and recognised the sign in Japanese. bathrooms need to be updated. actually the whole hotel could be updated.staff very nice and helpful
5 out of 5
by Edward ka k from Canada

Good value

Posted Jul 14, 2015 on Hotels
Good value fit, frienly
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location is key

Posted May 1, 2015 on Hotels
Good location, a bit pricey for condition of hotel, breakfast serving was good and service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kaneohe, HI

Close to the station

Posted Mar 4, 2015
Pros: Easy access to the JR and streetcar stations
Cons: Sign only in Katakana Japanese
Location: JR and Streetcar station to other locations in Kumamoto
We only stayed here overnight after a visit to family members. Beware the hotel sign is only in Katakana Japanese and the entrance is off the main street. Breakfast was included but was slept through (till 9:30am.) There is easy access to the street cars around Kumamoto.
1 out of 5
by William from USA

Rock-hard bed, will avoid Route-Inn from now on

Posted Feb 3, 2015 on Hotels
The bed was the hardest bed I have ever seen. It was like sleeping on a desk. Honestly, I could feel springs as if it was a box spring covered by a mattress pad. I'm a heavy guy, and this bed didn't even react to my lying on it. The pillow was very firm, the Japanese type of pillow with hard beads or rocks on one side. The duvet was not fluffy down and it didn't "breathe" so it's either too hot with it on or too cold with it off (this was winter). I didn't turn on the heat because it was noisy and smelled like cigarettes. The breakfast had the usual buffet you find in Japan: no variety of bread, no cheese at all, not much meat except little sausages and bacon. The food was laid out in heating trays but there was no heat, so the cute egg omelets were cold, the sausages were cold, the bacon was cold. To be fair, I went to breakfast an hour after it started, so the food might have been hot at 6:30 AM. There's a large, free "sento" (Japanese bath) with separate rooms for men and women.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 10, 2014 on Hotels