Ratings based on 93 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ahmedabad

Beautiful hotel , with lovely grounds

Posted Dec 8, 2017
We had a very memorable stay at the Taj vivanta Kumarakom. Beautiful property. The staff was very helpful. We had 18 month old child with us. They extended help even before we could ask for it .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

A wonderful place to stay

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Pros: It's location. What a lovely house set in a fantastic setting.
Cons: The food wasn't the best we had on our Kerala trip but it was okay. The bar was never open.
Location: The bird sanctuary and backwaters are the main draw. Both were superb.
The hotel is set in such an amazing location. The staff are so friendly and helpful. There is lots to do with the bird sanctuary just minutes away and going on the houseboats that stop at the hotels jetty. The backwaters are superb in this area. We also had fun on the hotel bikes and rowing on their lake. The bats that came around at dusk were massive!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful resort

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Location: Bird sanctuary, backwaters
Very beautiful and spacious rooms. Restaurant food is really good. Very good service and courteous staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 17, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Nathan

Time to Renovate

Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Hotels
So, this place was constructed around 1977 or so, and doesn't really seem to have gotten an update since then. That's generally OK for the main house: nice colonial architecture in the main hotel, however the whole thing needs a massive upgrades. Pretty grounds which are filled with swampy, mosquito-ridden pools. Decent restaurant, esp if you stick with the Indian food. If you are going to insist on chicken nuggets or a caesar salad, then you are on your own. If you come here, you must do a boat tour. It makes a perfectly fine base for exploring the backwaters, but is honestly not a place I'd want to stay more than a night or so. Plenty of animals (rabbits, flying foxes, geese, birds) to distract the children, if that's your thing.
5 out of 5
by Neelakantan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 20, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by SUBAHU

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 3, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toddington, UK

Lovely hotel in a nice location.

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: Everything, well almost! It's a pity some guests did not bother to read the pool instructions which asked all guests to give consideration to others!!
Cons: The only downside to this hotel is the price of wine. State taxes on alcohol are penal but this does not excuse charging 4500 rp (£55) for wine!
Location: The hotel is on the Backwaters which are beautiful and can be accessed by all sorts of boats. Hotel has bird sanctuary next to it.
This is 3rd time we have stayed at the Taj, Kumarakom. The deluxe rooms with lagoon view are well appointed and very comfortable. The staff are excellent and cannot do enough to help. The food in the 2 restaurants (same menu) is first class. The view across the lagoon is outstanding both during the day and at night when it is surrounded by oil lamps. We would return without hesitation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming colonial hotel

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: The decor, location, food and facilities
Cons: Cocktail menu and more choice at the pool bar
Location: Location is right on Lake Vembanad. Perfect sunsets over the lake and paradise for bird watchers.
Great facilities, location and staff. We were upgraded to a deluxe room which was beautiful and spacious. Highly recommend going on a house boat trip.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 19, 2017 on Hotels
Great