Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Big name. Little value.

Posted Nov 4, 2016
The hotel may have had a past. Its present is disappointing. Roomcarpet stained. Breakfast not adequate for westerners. I would not recommend it for western visitors.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Belgium

Excellent location in Central Kunming

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: Comfortable rooms in excellent location
Cons: The absence of decoration in the room makes it appear more austere than it really is. The swimming pool is closed from October to April.
Location: Location is great, at walking distance to Yuanlong Temple, the bars and cafés street near the university (Wenlin Street), and the boutiques area
I booked 2 double rooms through Expedia (for 4 people) but the deal was only for 2 breakfasts, which is a bit strange. The front desk staff's English was a bit hesitant, which should not be in a 5-star hotel in a big city. The price of drinks at the 21st floor bar is comparable to London's high-society bars.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SYDNEY

nice view and great location but service is bad

Posted Jan 18, 2015
Pros: view
Cons: service and provide heater in rooms
the front desk took forever to check out and they always ask the staff to check the room before they finish the formalities, meanwhile the room is lack of heater sometimes in winter Kunming could get really cold
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Waterloo, Ontario

Very good hotel in excellent location.

Posted Oct 20, 2014
This hotel is an excellent value and is situated within a half block of Green Lake. The area has many excellent restaurants and clubs within walking distance of the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Very nice hotel. Good location.

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Location: Convenient location. Starbucks one block away. Many Chinese and Western restaurants within walking distance. Cui Hu lake/park one block away.
Clean, well-maintained rooms. Better than average breakfast. Attentive, accommodating staff. Fair price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Cons: Wifi and wired internet is quite slow.
The hotel is close to Green Lake Park and Yunnan University. Easy walk to lots of restaurants and bars, too. The hotel was modern and fairly clean compared to other hotels I have stayed at in China. Most of the front desk staff spoke reasonable english and were polite when I tried to speak Mandarin.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tokyo

Nice Hotel

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: Good value, friendly staff
Cons: Pool and the gym need more attention, though they are both functional.
Location: Excellent value if you want to stay in the Green lake area and not the city center
Good value if you want to stay in the Green lake area and not the city center
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tim from Boston

Decent Hotel near Green Lake

Posted Jul 31, 2013
Pros: Good value close to Green Lake
Cons: Fire all the staff and rehire some decent help
Location: There is a nice Thai restaurant on opposite side of lake you can walk to from the hotel. There are nice walks all around the lake
Decent Hotel near Green Lake. 1/2 the $ of Green Lake Hotel but staff is only adequate at best. We had reserved an extra bed and we battled with them for an hour to get it since hotel was full. There was major flooding in Kunming when we were there in mid-July. The hotel did order us a 5 am cab the next morning to get to airport. There are no decent hotels we could find near the new airport which is 30 miles east of the city center so you have to get a bus or cab to downtown. The area of Green Lake is a very nice part of Kunming. When you compare this hotel to say the Ocura in Shanghai for $40 more per night for the Ocura there is no contest. The Grand Park survives because it's decent, clean, and big but seems to have no real competition in the price range of $120 to $160 per night.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

FIRST & LAST TIME

Posted Aug 14, 2012
It is not a 5 Star hotel maybe 3.5 to 4 Stars It is a bit tired. Aircon was too hot at 24~25deg - would not cool down any further. Non-smoking rooms hard to come by.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tokyo, Japan

24時間対応フロント

Posted Jun 20, 2016
Pros: Late Check In が可能であり、空港から比較的近くて便利。
今回は、スケジュールの関係で滞在時間が短かったので、次回また、同じホテルに宿泊して、のんびり過ごしてみたいです。
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2016 by Marketing & Communications Executive--Lori.Lu, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you for your positive reviews. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed the location of the hotel, allowing our guests to enjoy great accessibility to the key places of interest in Kunming. We look forward to you coming back to stay with us on your next visit to Kunming.