Ratings based on 111 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location fantastic staff

Posted May 20, 2017
Only drawback cant get luggage across to kunming hotel to access airport shuttle bus service
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by 市场传媒主任, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for choosing to stay at this hotel and for leaving us such a wonderful message. We will keep making every effort to provide a comfortable and satisfying experience to all the guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Excellent hotel in the city center and good value.

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Enjoyed the stay very much! The staff was very helpful. Room is spacious and clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 29, 2017 by Sales Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest. Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel. I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay and I'm looking forward to having you again as a guest in our hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from San Francisco Bay Area

Nice Friendly Staff helped during a short stay ove

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: The friendly and calming staff members along with the very nice and modern room.
Cons: I would of appreciated a later room service. It would be great if room service could be available 24/7.
Location: It was a bit far from the airport, but the hotel itself was beautiful. I did not get to know its surrounding too well because of my very short stay.
The very polite, professional, and friendly staff made me feel comfortable in a rather haired and rushed stay over in Kunming. I'd especially like to thank the young lady concierge who got me to my room and rested on a very short stay over. She was also there early in the morning to help me get a quick cab back to the airport.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2017 by Marketing and Communication Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest. I appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel. We do take pride in catering to our guests' needs the best way we can. If you're traveling to our area gain soon, don't hesitate to call us.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A bit disappointed

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: Frankly, I could have booked other hotels with better facilities with the same price so I like nothing about it.
Cons: Everything
Location: Nothing! Seriously, I would have been trapped in the hotel for 5 days if my friends didn't drive me around.
I chose Holiday Inn just because its brand name. I have zero faith in any of the Mainland hotels but the international chains. It come to light that I was wrong. First, the room was small compare to the hotels I stayed in other cities. Second, the facilities were a bit not well-maintained. The toilet seat loosened, the bed was a bit dusty. I hate to guess how long this room hasn't been occupied. I asked for room changing and they said the WHOLE hotel was full and no room left and sent a maintenance guy over to had it fixed. And at night we found out that it was the shower handle loosened. The air-con wasn't running properly. I adjusted the temperature to 20 degrees but it was hot the whole night that I couldn't even sleep. We were just way too exhausted to ask for room change again so we stayed in the same room. I worked in the hotel industry and know exactly the way they handle the guests. You'll get something better if you complain but I don't want to be the one of the demanding guests so I didn't do anything. This hotel, I have to say, the people there were nice but know nothing about how to achieve guest satisfaction. One more highlight, the location of this hotel is absolutely misleading: it is in downtown Kunming but it is absolutely not closed to any of the tourism attractions or not even any of the proper restaurants!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, good facilities.

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Pros: Temperature control is very good, not too cold, not too hot. Facilities are very complete, >5 universal power sockets.
Location: Location of hotel is at the junction between East Dong Feng Road (东风东路) and Bai Ta Road (白塔路). There's a good vermicilli shop along Bai Ta Road.
Hotel staffs are polite, efficient and professional. Overall it's a very good experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Most Enjoyable

Posted Jan 21, 2017
The Holiday Inn Kunming is a very comfortable, centrally located hotel. We booked a superior room but were upgraded to an executive room. The executive room was very spacious with separate sitting areas and views over Kunming on 3 sides. The staff were pleasant and cooperative. Not all spoke English [which is standard in China] but there were sufficient staff with some knowledge of English to enable our needs to be met. There is an excellent Thai restaurant adjoining the hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The staff were nice and apologetic, breakfast ok .

Posted Jan 20, 2017 on Hotels
The air-con in the rooms were controlled at 25 degrees. Could not sleep and had to request for change , the front desk ask the Engineers who said they can't do anything. Changed many rooms to find one which is suitable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 7, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest. We really appreciate that you stayed with us recently but we are very sorry you encountered some problems. Our team have discussed this and will ensure these things do not happen again. We look forward to you returning in the future and you experiencing a much more enjoyable stay. General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

They should be truthful

Posted Jan 14, 2017 on Hotels
Eveything is great with the hotel, with the exception of their ride to the airport scheme. It costs 80 yuans from the airport to the hotel by taxi that uses a taxi meter. They have a sign in the room that says they can only arrange it for a fixed rate if 120 yuan. And that taxies won't go to the airport using the meter. I think this is inaccurate. I arranged a taxi 5 in the morning by pulling one over with my broken Chinese for 100 yuan. I am guessing if I was not going back to the airport at an ungodly hour, I could get a taxi with a meter.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 4, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Anu

Good location, nice hotel

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
We arrived very late and were upgraded. Our suite was very big, and well equipped. Free bottled water was very nice, and breakfast was excellent. Hotel's Chinese restaurant was so-so (a bit expensive and "spicy" meal was very mild).