Ratings based on 64 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Jennifer D from Canada

Nice stay at the Hotel Canberra

Posted Aug 18, 2013 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay here. The staff was extremely helpful and accommodating. They have a beautiful rooftop with a nice view. They served food late and it was delicious! Great place.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

great location

Posted Jul 7, 2013 on Hotels
Very close to the bus station (good for taking the local bus back to hotel from Ephesus) and also within walking distance (15 mins) to train station (for airport). Didn't try the breakfast as heading early for the airport the next day but staff were helpful. The day view of the hotel looks better than the night view used in the hotels.com profile, I think.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This hotel is for the budget traveler

Posted May 25, 2013 on Hotels
This hotel is definitely for the budget traveller. The rooms where clean, but very dated. The towels fet like sand paper. The management was very helpful and the location is close to town, the bus station and Ephesus. I would recommend this hotel if you are traveling on a budget, and for that this hotel is worth the price I paid for it
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mike from canada

an informative host

Posted May 13, 2013
Pros: close to bus otogar (bus depot)
Cons: close to highway and very noisy
the host is very informative, he also booked the tour for us, check train schedule for us, and drive us to the railway station for free.
4 out of 5
by Jean Swindells from Kelowna, BC, Canada

Good value.

Posted May 12, 2013 on Hotels
Welcoming hosts! Lovely roof top deck for breakfast, and other meals, if desired. Easy walk to downtown and more restaurants there. A very comfortable stay. We love Selcuk and expect to be back every few years, as new parts of Ephesus are opened. We would return to this hotel, unless we decided to stay right downtown. This was not a 'romantic getaway', but the selection options were too limited. This was a trip for the two of us to explore the country and visit archaeological sites.
4 out of 5
by Lung from Hong Kong

Good location and very friendly host

Posted Apr 29, 2013 on Hotels
Very convenient to the main spots of the city. Close to temples, St. John's Church and Efers too. The host has arranged me to join the local tour to Efers, which was a cost saving and very good one. Very good memory there. There is direct bus from Sulcuk to Izmir airport, no need to go to Izmir actually, nothing very special in Izmir.
3 out of 5
by Christi from St Paul, MN

Close to Ephesus, but hard to find

Posted Mar 28, 2013 on Hotels
The hotel staff was very nice and the rooms were clean. The only real complaint would be that we had a difficult time finding the hotel. It is not well marked and it is on a side street off the main road. If you are staying at the Canberra you will find it behind the hospital.
4 out of 5
by W & LT

OK budget hotel in excellent location

Posted Mar 7, 2013 on Hotels
A basic hotel in an excellent location in Selcuk, just a two minute walk to the Otagar (bus station). The owners/managers were friendly and helpful. The room that was first assigned to us had significant problems and the staff gave us a better room without hesitation when we brought the problems to their attention. The second room was also basic and compact, but bright and fairly comfortable. Both of the rooms, though, had decrepit air conditioners that barely worked. Breakfast was very basic but OK, served in a bright room. Overall the Canberra is OK for a night or two, and is good value for money taking into account its excellent location and the price we paid. Suggestion: From the hotel entrance to the Ephesus ruins ticket box is only a pleasant 30 minute walk alongside olive groves. We walked there and caught a minibus back. There’s a shop in the centre of Selcuk that serves the best Turkish Delight. The pomegranate and walnut is to die for. Selcuk is a small town – you’ll find the shop. And when you do ……
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jason from UK

Good budget hotel to see Selcuk

Posted Feb 19, 2013
Pros: good location & price
Location: It's a 30 min walk to the Ephesus site & the rest of the town is a 2 min walk.
Staff are nice & friendly, the room was clean & comfortable & we had a good nights sleep. The ensuite bathroom was clean however it was quite small. The only negative point was the shower had a few broken tiles & patchy repair work, but it worked perfectly well & we had plenty of hot water. For the price it's worth it & I'd stay again.
4 out of 5
by Mike n Mike

Ephesus Visit - Stayed in Selcuk

Posted Jan 30, 2013 on Hotels
The room had the amenities as advertised and the pictures may not reflect that the hotel rooms feel like late 1960’s/1970’s. The room had an older glass tube 9” television with basic cable, a good locking door, a balcony that overlooked a part of the city and the fortress nearby, the bed was comfortable, and the restroom had a good flushing toilet, good water pressure and good lasting hot water. Like most Turks, the staff was very nice and helpful and I was again appreciative of getting this feeling from them. The location is close to the train station (10 min walking distance away), the bus station like 5 min away, and about 20 min walking distance from the Efes Greek ruins. The breakfast buffet was the smallest I had seen short of them pre-serving a single 11” plate of specific modest portioned food. The rooms are not USA newer Motel 6 style nor expect some kind of Comfort Inn and nowhere in the least a Four Seasons, it serves a very basic rack reason – to hold your stuff, sleep, shower and move on to your next destination. I’d say if you can hit this place early in the day and see the ruins of Effesus and then move on same day, unless you know of something more than this as a tourist, then you would be best served to do so. This was the same view point I had for Pamukkale – get there early, see what you need to see with a good amount of time like say 5 – 6 hours and then move on to another city in the interesting country of Turkey.