Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

Decent hotel

Posted Oct 21, 2015
Cons: The rooms appeared a bit tired
Location: Ephesus and Castle
The hotel is convenient to the main road if you are traveling by car although you must pay attention to see the sign. The room was small as were the two twin beds. However, the view of the castle at night from the room was nice. I also enjoyed swimming in the pool after a long day of driving. Parking is available but a bit confusing since there may be a need to jockey cars to make sure they all fit.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great gardens and pool

Posted Oct 11, 2015
Pros: Great pool, gardens, breakfast, restaurant, friendly staff.
Cons: Location is about a 5-10 minute walk from center of town on busy road, but not too bad.
Location: Take a tour or minibus to Ephesus. The ruins of St John's Basilica and the castle very close. Can take a minibus to the beach.
Great hotel. Hotel staff was very friendly. The pool and gardens were lovely and it was great having a bar at the pool. Breakfast was good and the restaurant was also very good. Would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
by Pascale from Paris

Posted Aug 14, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent séjour : très bel hôtel, décoré avec soin. La piscine est dans un beau jardin, au calme. A 5 minutes à pieds du centre ville et 10 minutes en taxi d'Ephèse. L'accueil par Mehmet ou sa femme, parlant français, est très convivial et professionnel.
4 out of 5
by Natalie from Washington, DC

Comfortable stay, but a bit noisy.

Posted Mar 21, 2015 on Hotels
The service at Hotel Kalehan was fantastic and the room was comfortable. The only drawbacks are that the walls are very thin, so you hear a lot of noise from other people entering their rooms. You also hear traffic noise, though asking for a Garden Room minimizes some of the traffic noise.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PA

Great place to stay while visiting Ephesus

Posted Dec 8, 2014
We stayed here for one night while we visited Ephesus. The location was great. It was close to many restaurants, but also a little of the main streets which was nice. The staff was very helpful. Overall, a great experience.
4 out of 5
by Sung Yeon from Seoul

All good for me.

Posted Nov 24, 2014 on Hotels
Just all good :)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 28, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by mzt from australia

Lovely hotel, very friendly staff, great value

Posted Aug 21, 2014 on Hotels
My partner and I stayed at Kalehan for one night for our visit to Efes. It is the perfect location to visit Efes, Meryemana and other historic sites nearby. The hotel is well presented, the staff are very friendly and efficient. We loved our room, it was huge! Highly recommended.
4 out of 5
by Older couple from London

Well run attractive hotel near to Ephesus

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Pros: Style, attractive old buildings and furnishings - gardens, swimming pool, friendly, helpful staff. Excellent food.
Cons: Some 'tired' room fittings could be updated - eg poorly connecting kettle, slightly crude multi-socket, wobbly bed heads.
Location: Ephesus - one of Turkey's main tourist attractions - remains of Roman town - remains of St John's basilica and beaches close by.
This was a really attractive hotel surrounded by gardens - with sitting areas and a pool. Ask for the garden block rooms - the rooms look out over the gardens and you are away from the traffic noise, as the hotel fronts onto the main street into town. The rooms are clean, well equipped and serviced, tea making, fridge, a/c etc. A few fittings a bit tired - and hot water a bit slow, as it came from the main building but everything worked! The staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly - if you needed something - always willing to find it for you. We were in an attractive old building in the garden - block of 4 rooms - but the stone floors and heavy doors do little to dull the noise if your neighbours decide on a really early start, clatter about the room etc! - hence slight lower raing for room comfort. Otherwise this is a peaceful hotel! And seemed a really good choice and good value for the area so close to a major tourist site. Walking distance to St John's basilica and centre of small town. The food is good too - freshly made - good range for breakfasts and dinner + courtyards for outdoor eating as well.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff but they gave us wrong directions

Posted Jan 11, 2014 on Hotels
We were going to Selcuk from Izmir airport. Our flight to Izmir got delayed and we knew we wouldn't make the last train to Selcuk. I called the hotel and asked what options we had. They asked what airline we use and we told them it's Pegasus airline. I already checked online and the web said only Onur air and Atlas Jet have a shuttle service. But the hotel Kalehan staff was so sure that Pegasus airline also has the service. I asked multiple times and they said yes. I believed them thinking maybe now Pegasus airline started the service and the info I saw on the web is outdated. BUT once we got to Izmir airport, Pegasus airline staff told us there isn't any shuttles provided. It was already 9:30 and we caught a taxi which costed us 200 turkish lira. Other than that, the staff was more than welcoming and friendly. When we finally arrived at the hotel, we were too tired to argue who was the one on the phone. The rooms were not very big and the shower booth was even worse. Maybe you should call it a shower corner with a curtain since there is no door and if you are not very careful you will make the whole bathroom flooded. Breakfast was nice and the anitque theme of the hotel was lovely. I liked the fireplace and nice garden. Hot water was running from the shower but you need to be patient.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 6, 2014 by Hakan Ozdemirci, Hotel Management
Dear our Guest, We are deeply sorry for the inconvenience that you faced upon our directions to follow. The update about the shuttle bus just recently changed on the site so we misled you unwillingly about this issue. We hope to welcome you later again and provide you nicer stay. Best regards.