Ratings based on 78 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by John

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 1, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Patrick from Portland Oregon

Nice hotel and excellent staff

Posted Oct 22, 2015 on Hotels
Very pleasant stay on an out of the way street. Nazmi is a wonderful host. The breakfast is plentiful and tasty. The rooms are nicely decorated if a little small. It is an old part of town and an old building but well maintained. We found another place nearby that we might consider next time - the Ayasouk - which is a new facility built to appear old but we likely the Nilya well enough to consider it for a return visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great customer service.

Posted Sep 23, 2015
Very clean hotel. Meals served at Hotel Bella (sister hotel around the corner). Nazmir and staff were very accommodating. Drove us to Ephesus and to the cave of the Seven Sleepers for a 'local' lunch. Ottoman style rooms were a bit small but the air conditioning worked great. Also bought some beautiful carpets which were way better quality than what we saw at the grand bazaar. But no pressure!
4 out of 5
by Archana from Irvine, CA

Hotel right in front of St.John Basiilia

Posted Sep 8, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed there for one night and found a hotel cute and charming, however the room we stayed for very small. Service is amazing, the hotel owner personally offered to take us to/ from Ephesus. Breakfast was decent.
5 out of 5
by Clare from Long Island

Nilya - please adopt me!

Posted Aug 22, 2015 on Hotels
The staff at Nilya have hearts so big they can share their love of family and place unconditionally with even a one-day visitor. I came to them a solo female traveler in need of TLC and felt secure enough to let them treat me with their generous warm care. At my previous hotel location, I was walking in the vicinity of an open-air museum when a wild dog came out and bit me. (Was I unwittingly to close to his/her babies? I don’t know). They gave me an instruction card (completely in Turkish, of course) re administering the second round of a rabies vaccination three days henceforth. 72 hours later I arrived at Hotel Nilya slightly panicking about the logistics in fulfilling the next of five rounds of a rabies vaccination. When I told Nilya of my circumstances they immediately made arrangements to bring me to my needed clinic visit. It could not be a simple drop-off: since I speak only 10 words in Turkish, my driver would also need to translate. I know the level of my annoyance if a guest of mine tore me from my household obligations to attend to their immediate whims and neediness. Yet to my Selcuk hosts it truly appeared that their primary concern was that I be happy in their midst. I will never forget the generous care I received. This place is special – the hospitability of its beautiful people, the taste of food prepared with love (don’t miss their restaurant), the familiar sounds of meticulous care – I possess a fortune in memories. Thank you, Nilya!
5 out of 5
by Gloria from Palm Springs

Charming hotel

Posted Aug 3, 2015 on Hotels
Charming hotel near Ephesus. Our stay was extremely enjoyable--we received personal attention from the hotel owner and staff making our stay in Selcuk vey pleasant. Hotel is charming, recently remodeled and furnished with beautiful, traditional furniture.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

If u want a good night sleep, go somewhere else

Posted Jul 21, 2015 on Hotels
The beds were so old that any slightly movement would make a lot of noise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Welcoming and Helpful

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: Hospitality, balcony for dinner, courtyard for breakfast.
Location: Easy access to Ephesus and Sirince; Kusadasi (for swimming) is a little further, but not a bad drive.
I enjoyed my stay at the Nilya very much. Selçuk is a small town that seems best for excursions to Ephesus (only a few miles away) and to beaches and other historic sites. In that way, both the Nilya and Bella hotels are great starting points for any adventures. The hotel staff is welcoming and provides helpful advice. Before I arrived, Nazmi and Erdal, the owners, offered tour recommendations and then booked the ones I wanted. The tours/experiences I got were great. In terms of the hotel I liked most the courtyard at Nilya and the lovely breakfast. There is a dinner service at the Bella, on a lovely balcony, which on hot days seems the best place to eat. The balcony provides great views, and there is a stork's nest just across the road, if you're into bird watching--they're fun to see. Finally, the hotel is a quick walk to the train station (the train takes you to Izmir) and into town.
5 out of 5
by Chelsea from Houston

Little oasis

Posted Jun 24, 2015 on Hotels
The manager was so accommodating for my very late arrival and they took very good care of me. The owner was great and showed me some of his very beautiful objects he had for sale as well as giving me a complimentary ride to the sights nearby. The breakfast was delicious and filling, the patio relaxing and charming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rockville. MD

Great hotel, beautiful courtyard

Posted Jun 5, 2015
Location: Right across for St John's Basilica, short drive to Ephesus, short drive to beach near Ephesus (they will drop you there after Ephesus walk through)..
We had a great time here, the courtyard was beautiful to sit in, the breakfast was excellent, particularly the hot eggs, be sure to try the fried version with hot pepper....room very comfortable, service was quite good. The free car service to the sites like Ephesus, Sirince, the House of St Mary, and the train station (also walkable) was very convenient. The restaurant on the top floor of the associated Bella Hotel is very good and reasonably priced, and the view of St Johns and the storks is precious. We did not feel any pressure to eat here but did so anyway twice during our stay, the mezze were well done, as were the main dishes. We noticed that some other reviews mention that the owner also runs a rug and ceramics shop and they felt pressure to buy. We did not experience this pressure, but we did agree to listen to the sales pitch on the rugs, which was quite interesting, though we did not buy, and there was no pressure. We did buy some fantastic ceramics at a good price, recommend checking out ceramics, the owner has a special artist, and also has relations with other miniature artists who also do other drawings. We bought one excellent drawing of Istanbul that we liked and we got a package deal with the ceramics and they packed it up very nicely for transport. All in all this was a great place, highly recommended...