Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wanderlusts souls are happy :)

Posted Jul 22, 2016
We traveled 44 countries, you can say we are professional travelers and we never stayed in a place like this! We apsolutely loved our stay here. From 10 out of 10 we would give 11 to this place. Apsolutely adorable with amazing people and energy. We loved every second of our stay here. We will definitely come again in future. Spacious and comfy rooms with great decoration. Location is perfect! Thank you for everything dear people of Hotel Nilya!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Cute and Quaint

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Beautiful view from the balcony, amazing and free turkish breakfast. Clean room, kind staff. The owner gave us free tea in this amazing little garden with a few tables, plants, and a fountain. He also sat with us to give us information and recommend places. The room was clean. The only problems were really hard and firm mattresses and the toilet smelled like sewage at a few moments.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Almost perfect. Almost...

Posted Feb 14, 2016
Not many faults with this accommodation except you can hear other people talking in their rooms. When we complained about the noise of men talking loudly and giggling in the next room at 10:30pm, I was plainly told by the night manager "we are Turkish people". So I had to use earplugs. Besides this, we were extremely happy with the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great customer service.

Posted Sep 23, 2015
Very clean hotel. Meals served at Hotel Bella (sister hotel around the corner). Nazmir and staff were very accommodating. Drove us to Ephesus and to the cave of the Seven Sleepers for a 'local' lunch. Ottoman style rooms were a bit small but the air conditioning worked great. Also bought some beautiful carpets which were way better quality than what we saw at the grand bazaar. But no pressure!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Welcoming and Helpful

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: Hospitality, balcony for dinner, courtyard for breakfast.
Location: Easy access to Ephesus and Sirince; Kusadasi (for swimming) is a little further, but not a bad drive.
I enjoyed my stay at the Nilya very much. Selçuk is a small town that seems best for excursions to Ephesus (only a few miles away) and to beaches and other historic sites. In that way, both the Nilya and Bella hotels are great starting points for any adventures. The hotel staff is welcoming and provides helpful advice. Before I arrived, Nazmi and Erdal, the owners, offered tour recommendations and then booked the ones I wanted. The tours/experiences I got were great. In terms of the hotel I liked most the courtyard at Nilya and the lovely breakfast. There is a dinner service at the Bella, on a lovely balcony, which on hot days seems the best place to eat. The balcony provides great views, and there is a stork's nest just across the road, if you're into bird watching--they're fun to see. Finally, the hotel is a quick walk to the train station (the train takes you to Izmir) and into town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rockville. MD

Great hotel, beautiful courtyard

Posted Jun 5, 2015
Location: Right across for St John's Basilica, short drive to Ephesus, short drive to beach near Ephesus (they will drop you there after Ephesus walk through)..
We had a great time here, the courtyard was beautiful to sit in, the breakfast was excellent, particularly the hot eggs, be sure to try the fried version with hot pepper....room very comfortable, service was quite good. The free car service to the sites like Ephesus, Sirince, the House of St Mary, and the train station (also walkable) was very convenient. The restaurant on the top floor of the associated Bella Hotel is very good and reasonably priced, and the view of St Johns and the storks is precious. We did not feel any pressure to eat here but did so anyway twice during our stay, the mezze were well done, as were the main dishes. We noticed that some other reviews mention that the owner also runs a rug and ceramics shop and they felt pressure to buy. We did not experience this pressure, but we did agree to listen to the sales pitch on the rugs, which was quite interesting, though we did not buy, and there was no pressure. We did buy some fantastic ceramics at a good price, recommend checking out ceramics, the owner has a special artist, and also has relations with other miniature artists who also do other drawings. We bought one excellent drawing of Istanbul that we liked and we got a package deal with the ceramics and they packed it up very nicely for transport. All in all this was a great place, highly recommended...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Abu Dhabi

Turkish Hospitality at its Best

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Pros: The hosts attention to all the finer details of the hotel experience was definitely what made it memorable.
Cons: The only inconvenience was lack of sufficient on-demand heat in the rooms.
Location: Plenty of Turkish life to experience in the downtown core, including the Saturday Market. Selçuk is home to Ephesus, a Roman Capital worth the trip.
From the moment we arrived the hosts did their best to make us feel happy and welcome in Selçuk. It was an experience my wife and I will never forget. By far the best place we stayed while traveling through Turkey.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vijh

Quaint property with an amazingly helpful staff

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Had a great experience - the hotel is a bit hard to find, but the hotel staff are so warm & welcoming that one does not want to highlight that The rooms are done up very eclectically & the hotel has a lovely charm- a pleasant surprise is that they provide a free shuttle to the ephises ruins - overall loved our stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Tucson

Terrific decor and hospitality at a budget price.

Posted Oct 29, 2014
Pros: Decor. Charm.
Cons: The staff could dress a little more professionally. Service was impeccable, however.
Location: Easy walk to the center of town and to the sister hotel that has a rooftop restaurant.
The owners of this hotel have a retail store that offers rugs and ceramics, but don't let that scare you. There his no hard sell, and access to these artistic products means that the hotel's furnishings are much classier than you would expect in this price range. The staff was entirely helpful, and transportation was cheerfully provided to and from the Ephesus site. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A lovely quiet inexpensive hotel

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: Spacious, quiet and relaxed.
Location: Convenient to the main attractions. Probably not for those seeking nightlife.
Our room was spacious and well fitted out. There were also a table and chairs outside. It was very quiet. The restaurant area was nice and the food was good and reasonably priced. The staff were very helpful. The hotel was difficult to find on arrival (after a bad experience with a taxi driver we walked from the Sultanahmet tram stop). However once we got to know the geography it was just a short walk (but uphill) to the Blue Mosque and other attractions.