Ratings based on 166 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not complete value for money

Posted Mar 9, 2017
The best part was the beach, sunset hill and the breakfast buffet. The hotel staff were slow and seemed to suck every bit off cash out of you. For the price it wasn't exceptional
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 30, 2017 by Novotel Lombok, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Warmest greetings from Novotel Lombok Resort & Villas. Thank you very much for your feedback on your recent stay with us. At Novotel Lombok, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer, therefore your feedback is very important to us. I am sorry to learn that your experienced did not meet your expectation.Your feedback on the speed of service and value for money has been taken seriously and we are taking the appropriate measures to improve all area which you pointed out which would create a better overall impression of the resort. On the other hand, thank you for your compliment our breakfast buffet and the beach, hills around the resort. With the new management team, we are taking a lot of actions to improve our service and product recently, so I am sure your next visit will be more pleasant than previous one. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back at our resort. Sincerely, Mertha Sedana Executive Assistant Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It's a beautiful hotel but

Posted Feb 28, 2017
It's a beautiful hotel with beautiful villas. There was an issue with our air conditining on our first day. They immediately repaired it and sent an apology letter. Staff were all very polite. However, because we were there on low season, buffets everyday and night activities were cancelled which was disappointing as we were looking forward to it. Also, if we pay for a private beach, we expect privacy but we were disturbed by sellers trying to sell us souvenirs and wouldn't go away even after we declined. I would suggest that the hotel should provide shuttle to the restaurants and shops outside at night, if your buffet and night market is already cancelled. All in all, the experience wasn't great as I could have done this in any other hotel. There was nothing special for the price we paid.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2017 by NovotelLombok, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Warmest Greetings from Novotel Lombok Resort & Villas! I would like to personally thank you for taking your time in providing feedback about your stay at Novotel Lombok recently. It is only through feedback such as yours that provide us ways to improve our service and product. I am deeply sorry to learn that we failed to fulfill your expectation in regards to cancellation of buffet dinner and disturbance by beach sellers. This level of service is certainly not the image we wish to portray to you and our guests. Please accept my sincere apology, even though an apology will regrettably not alter the outcome of your experience on this occasion. The beach seller issue you have alerted me have addressed with the management team to make immediate improvements and adjustments. Furthermore, we regret to have disappointed you with the cancellation of buffet though we tried our best to serve you with a la carte menu as alternative. It would be much appreciated if we could seek your understanding that our Buffet dinner had to be cancelled for the operational reason. Once again, we apologize for all the inconvenience caused I do hope that you will be giving us another chance to welcome you back at Novotel Lombok so that we can deliver a better experience for you. Sincerely, Mertha Sedana Executive Assistant Manager
4 out of 5
by Stephen

Posted Jan 15, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2017 by Room Division Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Stephen, Warmest greetings from Novotel Lombok Resort & Villas! Thank you for choosing our resort to spend your valuable holiday and for taking your precious time to share your experiences regarding your recent stay with us. We hope to have another opportunity of welcoming you back to the resort in the nearest future. Mertha Sedana Executive Assistant Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 24, 2016 on Hotels
Great time
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty rooms, poor service and terrible food.

Posted Oct 2, 2016 on Hotels
Idyllic setting for a hotel. Don't bother staying here unless you have your own transport or are interested in renting a scooter! The food in the hotel is terrible and there are no taxis in the area apparently! Private cars can be arranged at reception but they are very overpriced. We managed to haggle down the price although the prices are fixed. Other drivers who hang about the car park will do it for cheaper but still expensive. Room was dirty and a bit tired. Our shower head came off so we reported it to reception. The maintenance man then removed it from the room while we were out. When we came back to get ready we were unable to shower as there was no shower and nobody could understand when we called down to ask for somewhere to shower! This resulted in our plans for watching the sunset from ashtari and having dinner being spoiled. Over all the worst service and value for money we have experienced in Indonesia. We booked this hotel because it was a special occasion and were sadly dissapointed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Warmest greetings from Novotel Lombok Resort & Villas! Thank you for choosing Novotel Lombok to spend your valuable holidays and for taking your precious time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you did not find good value from our product and service. It is true that our price range is quite different from the local shops and cafeterias but it is necessary to maintain our international standard. However, please accept my apologies if you have not found the high standard of service and product we are trying to deliver. We will keep up our efforts to improve the value of our customer experience. Your feedback has been taken very seriously and all of the issues addressed have been discussed with each Head of Department for immediate actions for improvement. Once again, we apologize for your dissatisfaction and disappointment and thank you very much for your valuable feedback which will keep us improving our service. We hope we will have another chance to present our upgraded product and service to you in near future. Sincerely, Charles Choi, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: Good amenities, good size deluxe rooms.
Cons: Menu choices - it would benefit from having more choice for eating out. The menu was the same at all restaurants.
Location: Location quite isolated. Felt a bit enclosed having to stay in the resort day after day.
Stayed in hotel for 9 nights which was probably a little too long. Although the hotel offered most things the location was quite isolated.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 3, 2016 by CHARLES, Hotel Management
Dear Sue, Warmest Greetings from Novotel Lombok Resort & Villas. Thank you for taking your precious time to share your feedback on your recent stay at Novotel Lombok Resort & Villas. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were impressed by the hotel with Nice hotel close to the beach, good amenities and good size for deluxe room. We particularly appreciate your comments as you provide us with valuable encouragement and help us in our constant endeavor to offer the finest levels of hospitality to our guests, which will work as an additional motivation to continue our commitment and dedication to excellent hospitality. We will be continuously doing our extra efforts to ensure all of our customers have a memorable experience. For your information, the Kuta main town is only 5 minute drive and it is easy to arrange your transportation either directly with the hotel or through a 3rd party Taxi company located inside the resort. I do hope that you can visit us again soon and that I have a chance to meet you personally and ensure that you would have a better experience. Once again thank you for sharing your great feedback and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the nearest future. Sincerely, Charles Choi, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AUST

Great staff, ageing facilities.

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Restaurant service suffers from trainee staff lacking English. Food often delayed for 45 minutes or more at busy dinner time. Area set to change with 3 new hotels to be built nearby in next few years. Novotel will probably be refurbished as part of this shake up. Outdoor activity staff very friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 3, 2016 by CHARLES, Hotel Management
Dear PC, Warmest Greetings from Novotel Lombok Resort & Villas. Thank you for taking your precious time to share your feedback on your recent stay at Novotel Lombok Resort & Villas. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were impressed by the hotel with Great Staffs, Hotel Activities, friendly and helpful staff. We particularly appreciate your comments as you provide us with valuable encouragement and help us in our constant endeavor to offer the finest levels of hospitality to our guests, which will work as an additional motivation to continue our commitment and dedication to excellent hospitality. We will be continuously doing our extra efforts to ensure all of our customers have a memorable experience. Novotel Lombok was launched 19 years ago and the property has been renovated a few times to keep the hotel & resort facilities all updated. We are on the final process of renovating all room floors and bathroom basin top and I am sure this improvement will allow us deliver a better staying experience to all of our customers. I do hope that you can visit us again soon and that I have a chance to meet you personally and ensure that you would have a better experience. Once again thank you for sharing your great feedback and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the nearest future. Sincerely, Charles Choi, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Malaysia

Beach front, secluded and quiet

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Small resorts, beautiful, clean and good services
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2016 by Charles, Hotel Management
Dear Daniel, Warmest Greetings from Novotel Lombok Resort & Villas. Thank you for taking your precious time to share your feedback on your recent stay at Novotel Lombok Resort & Villas. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were impressed by the hotel with beautiful view, clean and good service. We particularly appreciate your comments as you provide us with valuable encouragement and help us in our constant endeavor to offer the finest levels of hospitality to our guests, which will work as an additional motivation to continue our commitment and dedication to excellent hospitality. We will be continuously doing our extra efforts to ensure all of our customers have a memorable experience. I do hope that you can visit us again soon and that I have a chance to meet you personally and ensure that you would have a better experience. Once again thank you for sharing your great feedback and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the nearest future. Sincerely, Charles Choi, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kuala Lumpur, KL

Disappointed. More like 3-stars resort.

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: The beach view (room #309), the room decor, private beach, fast internet, free activities carried around all day, the pool.
Cons: Please upkeep the place. I believe this used to be a nice resort, but I don't see any proper maintenance was done, to keep the place.
Location: They have private beach, and you can go to Pantai Segar (closest). Everything else needs to rent scooter. The place is super isolated.
This gonna be a long review, as I stayed for a week (6 nights), and I utterly disappointed with my stay. It was flagged as 4 stars resort, but honestly it doesn't felt like 4 stars, more like 3 stars. Cons: Everything is subpar. The hair dryer is not working, toilet smelled nasty, sink was clogged. The housekeeping didn't clean the room completely. Bottled water was not replenished. There was yellow stains on the duvet cover. (Room #309). The staffs can't communicate in English well. The outside gents (nearby the pool) was nasty and smelly as well. The fruits given on the beach was bad (or almost bad). The foods were ridiculously, ridiculously expensive (5X than Pekan Kuta's food places). One fried rice = a day scooter rental (Rupiah 100K) ! This is an isolated place, so maybe that's why they charged crazily, but come on, 3X is acceptable, but 5X ? Checkout took about 20 minutes to complete, and I booked for airport transfer at 2:00PM, the van came 20 minutes late (so no purpose of early booking then). Super isolated from everything else (other than Segar Beach) - you need to rent scooter to move around. Pros: The beach view (room #309), the room decor, private beach, fast internet, free activities carried around all day, the pool, isolated so super private. I don't enjoy my stay. Sorry for the long review, but for the price paid, it was not worth it. Not sure of other Novotel's chain, but I will not choose this resort anymore.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Megat, Warmest greetings from Novotel Lombok Resort & Villas! Thank you for choosing Novotel Lombok to spend your valuable holidays and for taking your precious time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am deeply sorry to hear that you had experienced inconvenience in several aspect of our products and service. The feedback you have shared has been addressed to our Manager concerned to make immediate actions and improvements. For the Housekeeping issue, the management will carry out daily spot check to ensure all of our standard room setting & cleanness is followed by our team. For the price issue, we are on the final process of creating a new Lunch Special Menu which consists of a selection of local & international food at reasonable prices. Once again thank you for sharing your feedback and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the nearest future and provide you with a better experience. Sincerely, Charles Choi, General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

modern room great breakfast but expensive faciliti

Posted Sep 12, 2016 on Hotels
GOOD THINGS The room was modern and clean, with all type of facilities. The breakfast buffet was outstanding. One of the best breakfast buffets that I have ever seen. The quality of the food was also very good. The service was ok, but for being this type of hotel the customer service should be better. The hotel had a lot of facilities: swimming pool, activities, volleyball court, table tennis and much more. There is a nice path near the hotel where you can climb a mountain and see views. BAD THINGS The beach is quite good but YOU CANNOT SWIM IN THE AFTERNOON(from arount 1 pm) as the tide is low and there are seaweeds and coral. The hotel is near Kuta but is isolated. If you want to go to a restaurant or bar outside of the hotel you need a taxi or rent a motorbike. This means that you will have to spend money in their facilities The prices of the food and drinks are twice as the other restaurants and bars in kuta or bali. (for example the cocktails were 100 RP and in most of the places the price was 50 RP). However, I must admit that the food was always delicious and the quality was better. The hotel can leave you the snorkeling glasses but after one hour of use, you have to pay a ridiculous amount of money. The price of the taxis and rent a motorbike was also more expensive than the ones in kuta Having said that, the prices are still cheap comparing to the western world. I will come back again.