Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: Good amenities, good size deluxe rooms.
Cons: Menu choices - it would benefit from having more choice for eating out. The menu was the same at all restaurants.
Location: Location quite isolated. Felt a bit enclosed having to stay in the resort day after day.
Stayed in hotel for 9 nights which was probably a little too long. Although the hotel offered most things the location was quite isolated.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 3, 2016 by CHARLES, Hotel Management
Dear Sue, Warmest Greetings from Novotel Lombok Resort & Villas. Thank you for taking your precious time to share your feedback on your recent stay at Novotel Lombok Resort & Villas. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were impressed by the hotel with Nice hotel close to the beach, good amenities and good size for deluxe room. We particularly appreciate your comments as you provide us with valuable encouragement and help us in our constant endeavor to offer the finest levels of hospitality to our guests, which will work as an additional motivation to continue our commitment and dedication to excellent hospitality. We will be continuously doing our extra efforts to ensure all of our customers have a memorable experience. For your information, the Kuta main town is only 5 minute drive and it is easy to arrange your transportation either directly with the hotel or through a 3rd party Taxi company located inside the resort. I do hope that you can visit us again soon and that I have a chance to meet you personally and ensure that you would have a better experience. Once again thank you for sharing your great feedback and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the nearest future. Sincerely, Charles Choi, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AUST

Great staff, ageing facilities.

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Restaurant service suffers from trainee staff lacking English. Food often delayed for 45 minutes or more at busy dinner time. Area set to change with 3 new hotels to be built nearby in next few years. Novotel will probably be refurbished as part of this shake up. Outdoor activity staff very friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 3, 2016 by CHARLES, Hotel Management
Dear PC, Warmest Greetings from Novotel Lombok Resort & Villas. Thank you for taking your precious time to share your feedback on your recent stay at Novotel Lombok Resort & Villas. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were impressed by the hotel with Great Staffs, Hotel Activities, friendly and helpful staff. We particularly appreciate your comments as you provide us with valuable encouragement and help us in our constant endeavor to offer the finest levels of hospitality to our guests, which will work as an additional motivation to continue our commitment and dedication to excellent hospitality. We will be continuously doing our extra efforts to ensure all of our customers have a memorable experience. Novotel Lombok was launched 19 years ago and the property has been renovated a few times to keep the hotel & resort facilities all updated. We are on the final process of renovating all room floors and bathroom basin top and I am sure this improvement will allow us deliver a better staying experience to all of our customers. I do hope that you can visit us again soon and that I have a chance to meet you personally and ensure that you would have a better experience. Once again thank you for sharing your great feedback and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the nearest future. Sincerely, Charles Choi, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Malaysia

Beach front, secluded and quiet

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Small resorts, beautiful, clean and good services
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2016 by Charles, Hotel Management
Dear Daniel, Warmest Greetings from Novotel Lombok Resort & Villas. Thank you for taking your precious time to share your feedback on your recent stay at Novotel Lombok Resort & Villas. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were impressed by the hotel with beautiful view, clean and good service. We particularly appreciate your comments as you provide us with valuable encouragement and help us in our constant endeavor to offer the finest levels of hospitality to our guests, which will work as an additional motivation to continue our commitment and dedication to excellent hospitality. We will be continuously doing our extra efforts to ensure all of our customers have a memorable experience. I do hope that you can visit us again soon and that I have a chance to meet you personally and ensure that you would have a better experience. Once again thank you for sharing your great feedback and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the nearest future. Sincerely, Charles Choi, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kuala Lumpur, KL

Disappointed. More like 3-stars resort.

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: The beach view (room #309), the room decor, private beach, fast internet, free activities carried around all day, the pool.
Cons: Please upkeep the place. I believe this used to be a nice resort, but I don't see any proper maintenance was done, to keep the place.
Location: They have private beach, and you can go to Pantai Segar (closest). Everything else needs to rent scooter. The place is super isolated.
This gonna be a long review, as I stayed for a week (6 nights), and I utterly disappointed with my stay. It was flagged as 4 stars resort, but honestly it doesn't felt like 4 stars, more like 3 stars. Cons: Everything is subpar. The hair dryer is not working, toilet smelled nasty, sink was clogged. The housekeeping didn't clean the room completely. Bottled water was not replenished. There was yellow stains on the duvet cover. (Room #309). The staffs can't communicate in English well. The outside gents (nearby the pool) was nasty and smelly as well. The fruits given on the beach was bad (or almost bad). The foods were ridiculously, ridiculously expensive (5X than Pekan Kuta's food places). One fried rice = a day scooter rental (Rupiah 100K) ! This is an isolated place, so maybe that's why they charged crazily, but come on, 3X is acceptable, but 5X ? Checkout took about 20 minutes to complete, and I booked for airport transfer at 2:00PM, the van came 20 minutes late (so no purpose of early booking then). Super isolated from everything else (other than Segar Beach) - you need to rent scooter to move around. Pros: The beach view (room #309), the room decor, private beach, fast internet, free activities carried around all day, the pool, isolated so super private. I don't enjoy my stay. Sorry for the long review, but for the price paid, it was not worth it. Not sure of other Novotel's chain, but I will not choose this resort anymore.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Megat, Warmest greetings from Novotel Lombok Resort & Villas! Thank you for choosing Novotel Lombok to spend your valuable holidays and for taking your precious time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am deeply sorry to hear that you had experienced inconvenience in several aspect of our products and service. The feedback you have shared has been addressed to our Manager concerned to make immediate actions and improvements. For the Housekeeping issue, the management will carry out daily spot check to ensure all of our standard room setting & cleanness is followed by our team. For the price issue, we are on the final process of creating a new Lunch Special Menu which consists of a selection of local & international food at reasonable prices. Once again thank you for sharing your feedback and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the nearest future and provide you with a better experience. Sincerely, Charles Choi, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Lovely Lombok

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Pros: The facilities were good, and the daily activities were a good addition.
Cons: The trips out seemed a little rushed, with ever so slight preference towards particular stalls and sellers, presumably friends of the guide.
Location: Close to Kuta, but most people wouldn't feel comfortable walking it. Easy to get a car to take you out and about for the day, with or without driver.
It is tempting to stay in the hotel grounds, with the pools, kids club, spa and beach, but do take the opportunity to venture out. Lombok is beautiful.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Charles Choi, Hotel Management
Dear Simone, Warmest greetings from Novotel Lombok Resort & Villas! Thank you for choosing Novotel Lombok to spend your valuable holidays and for taking your precious time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am deeply sorry to hear that you had experienced inconvenience in several aspect. The feedback you have shared has been addressed to our Management concerned to make immediate actions and improvements. Once again thank you for sharing your feedback and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the nearest future and provide you with a better experience. Sincerely, Charles Choi, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, relaxing on the beah

Posted May 27, 2016
Pros: Everything, the staff, the food, the location were all great.
Cons: The staff were not trained in the option of retaining towels that were not on the floor
Location: The ;ocation is great
Stayed for 7 days in Kuta, this is by far the best hotel in the area, all the staff are great, very friendly, very helpful, the bar at the front overlooking the beach was great for lunch or evening drinks, we met with Herman, a private driver at the front of the hotel and did 2 separate day tours with him, one to the waterfalls, some shopping, a local sarong/waving factory and the second day to a private snorkeling tour that included a magnificent beach front lunch of barbecued fish, 2 different reefs, one of which is little known and was by far the best and most spectacular - speak with Herman for more info. Aside from that, surfed at Grupuk which is only 15 minutes away by scooter, all in all a great holiday and a great place to stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Tired and not great

Posted Jan 13, 2016
My wife, 6 year old child and I stayed for 9 nights over the new year festive period. We now wished we made an alternate choice of hotel. This platform is not the place to vent but I have taken up numerous issues with the GM via Novotel. As is usual for him, he has provided a lengthy explanation of what will be done. He has a hugely challenging job and I wish the resort and its management well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2016 by Charles Choi, Hotel Management
Dear Daniel M, Warmest greetings from Novotel Lombok Resort & Villas! Thank you for choosing Novotel Lombok to spend your valuable holidays and for taking your precious time to share your experiences during your recent stay. On the other hand, I am deeply sorry to read that we failed to fulfill your expectation in regards to several aspects of over the new year festive period. Please accept my sincere apology, even though an apology will regrettably not alter the outcome of your experience on this occasion. Please be advised that your comments have been taken seriously and we have compiled our action plans to upgrade our service throughout the departments with our new Training Manager. Once again, we apologize for the inconvenience caused and thank you very much for your valuable feedback which will keep us improving our service. We hope we will have another chance to present our upgraded product and service to you in near future. Best Regards, Charles CHOI General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from UK

Great Hotel, friendly and great for families.

Posted Aug 21, 2015
Pros: Very friendly staff, so much to do. Great location. The whole site looks great.
Cons: Restaurant & bar expensive. Treatments of donkeys didn't sit well (we saw this in all 5 parts of Indonesia we visited however).
Location: Beautiful bay on the south coast. Some great hills to walk nearby (locals will try to sell you items). The Ashtari restaurant nearby is spectacular.
We stayed here on the last part of our honeymoon tour of Indonesia. We were greeted by very friendly staff and complementary wine and fruit (plus a heart shape of flower petals on the bed). The hotel is great, it looks fantastic, really captures the spirit of Lombok and is nice and clean. There is also plenty to do here, boats, volleyball and best of all, wild monkey feeding! The only downsides are that the bar and restaurant are expensive compared to Indonesia (UK prices) and we didn't really like the fact that the donkeys were kept standing in the sun all day without water (although these seems to be a problem with Indonesia as a whole from our experience). We had a great time and the staff just made it that extra bit special!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2015 by Charles Choi, Hotel Management
Dear Rob B, Warmest greetings from Novotel Lombok Resort & Villas! Many Thanks for taking your precious time to share your feedback about your stay with us. I am delighted to know that you were impressed by our friendly staff upon arrival, hotel free activities and the honeymoon arrangement made by our team. On behalf of the entire team, please accept our sincerest gratitude for sharing your great experience. I am sorry to learn that the price at our restaurant and bar did not meet your expectation, it is true that our price is a bit higher compare to other restaurants in Kuta, Lombok. However, the product & service cannot be compared with those local warungs. In addition, Novotel Lombok provides the guests with various kinds of buffet with 6 different themes. And to offer a better value for money paid for, we provide different entertainments each night – Quartet band, Balinese Dance, Novotel Got Talent Show, Acoustic Music Band and K-Pop night and so on. Thank you for your concerns on our Cidomo’s horse, it had been shared to our leisure team and make sure he is in good condition and proper treatment had been done to keep him healthy. Once again, thank you for choosing us for your valuable holiday in Lombok and we are looking forward to welcoming back to the resort and we will make sure your next stay will be as pleasant as the previous one. Best regards. Charles Choi General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Jakarta

Superb location and ambiance

Posted May 20, 2015
Pros: The relaxing atmosphere and openness of the location
Cons: Information from front desk staff is not accurate. Shuttle bus to nearby shops area.
Location: Activities to see and experience in the surrounding area was just right considering the main idea is to spend more time in the hotel compound
Relaxing stay and really a get away location from all daily hectic routine. The first step into the compound you can really feel the relaxing atmosphere which will automatically put yourself in a very calm and peaceful mode. Perfect place to rejuvenate your energy. Fantastic.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2015 by Charles Choi,, Hotel Management
Dear Donald, Warmest Greetings from Novotel Lombok Resort & Villas! I would like to personally thank you for taking your precious time in providing feedback about your recent stay at Novotel Lombok. It is only valuable feedback such as yours that provide us with the ways to improve our service and product. I am happy to know that you enjoyed your holiday with us. I was very disappointed to read that we failed to fulfill your expectation in regards to the service of our Front desk staff. This level of service is certainly not the image we wish to portray to you and our guest. Please accept my sincere apology, even though an apology will regrettably not alter the outcome of your experience on this occasion. The issues you have alerted me have addressed with Front Office Manager to make immediate improvements and adjustments. I do hope that you can visit us again soon and I have a chance to meet you personally and ensure you are delighted in all aspects of your stay. Sincerely, Charles Choi, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Beachfront hotel but hotel is very run down

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Pros: Staff
Cons: Everything
Location: Nothing close by, some nice beaches but you need transport to get to them.
I'm sure in its day about 20 years ago this was a nice hotel it has been let go and in need of a lot of up keep. Public restrooms filthy. Staff very nice, only one restaurant operating while we was there for four nights so eating the same food over & over again became boring. Nothing within walking distance .
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2015 by Charles Choi, Hotel Management
Dear Debbie, Warmest greeting from Novotel Lombok Resort & Villas! Thank you for taking the precious time to write the review for your recent stay with us. I am sorry to learn that you had shortfall impression about the resort. In regard to the specific area you mentioned, we do really apologize for your dissatisfaction. We have taken very careful note of your feedback on our product and service, especially the variety of food choices and maintenance of the resort. We have been taking a lot of actions to improve our service and product recently so I do hope that you will be having another chance to come and stay again at Novotel Lombok so that we can deliver a better experience for you. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we will ensure your next stay will be more pleasant than previous one. Sincerely, Charles Choi General Manager