Ratings based on 495 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Jun 7, 2018
Avoid at all costs! Issues: - Food poisoning - campylobacter (confirmed by GP once back in UK). - Room not ready on check-in. - Deluxe garden view room booked but no garden view, it was of a building a couple meters away from our window. - Terrible service, unsympathetic, slow & rude. - Hair found in food on the first night. - Unable to book tables at hotel restaurants as these were fully booked, despite guest not showing up. - No turn-down service. - Uncoordinated ‘make up room team,’ multiple people responsible for each individual task so you get constantly disturbed throughout the day & meant items were not always replaced, such as tea, bath mats, bathroom products etc. - One staff member impersonated the hotel manager when I requested to to speak to him. Once we returned to the UK we raised an official complaint & asked for this to be dealt with by the head office. This was ignored, we were stuck with the same incompetent & rude staff we had to deal with in Bali. Despite being signed off work & ruining our trip to Bali both emotionally & financially, no compensation was given & my complaint was dismissed. What make this even less understandable is how lovely, helpful, kind & generous the people of Bali are. But the staff at this hotel are not & our last few nights in Bali turned out to be a nightmare!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 13, 2018 by Quality Control Coordinator, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Conrad, Greetings from Melia Bali. Thank you for taking some of your valuable time to share your opinion about a recent stay at Meliá Bali. We are truly sorry we could not surpass your expectations with some of our services, and we regret to hear that you vacation didn’t go the way you have expected. In relation to the aspects mentioned in your comment, we would like to clarify few points. The issues related to the service shortfalls experienced have been addressed and rectified by our team before your check out and therefore we cannot agree with your statement about lack of attention and no compensation provided. In fact you did sign a release form where you specifically agree that you were satisfied with the service received and that you will not pursue other actions. Secondly, the staff who was handling your concerns was a Duty Manager in charge, responsible of resolving the complaints of the guests during their stay, thus during the operation he is the first contact person with the guests. Regarding your complaints regarding food poisoning, I would like to remind you that you booked room only and according to our records you had all your breakfast and most of your meals outside our property and therefore we cannot agree that food poisoning was contracted at our resort, especially because we have the food test giving us negative results and we do not have any other case reported at the resort. I am sorry but we cannot agree with you letter where you threat us to go to social media if we don’t give you a full refund. Our hotel does not react based on this type of threat, but on professional behaviors and service. Once again, we would like to thank you again for your observations. Be assured that Meliá Bali will never cease in its efforts to constantly improve the quality of services provided. Eduardo Perera Castro General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 4, 2018
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 27, 2018
Beautiful grounds but the resort is getting older and somewhat out of date in today’s world
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Posted May 22, 2018
It was advertised as a 5* resort - it really wasn’t - I wouldn’t give it more than a 3 for the room and the resort overall a 4 - not more
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2018 by Quality Control Coordinator, Hotel Management
Dear Heda, Warmest greetings from Melia Bali! Thank you very much for providing your feedback in regards to your recent experience here at Melia Bali. We are very sorry to hear that your stay was not what you had hoped for. Providing exceptional service is one of our priorities and we are disappointed to learn that we fell short of our goal. Please rest assured that your comments have been addressed and we will use your feedback as a training tool for future guest interactions. Thank you again for your time and sharing your experience. We truly do hope to have another opportunity to serve you again and welcome you for the stay that not only meets, but exceeds your expectations. Best regards, Yelyzaveta K.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Queensland

Posted May 20, 2018
An exceptional resort service above and beyond excellent food activities and room. The staff were so friendly and cared for all our needs. Great location beautiful people
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2018 by Quality Control Coordinator, Hotel Management
Dear Liz, Sunny Greetings from Tropical Paradise! First of all, we would like to express our gratitude for sharing your impressions of your recent stay with us. In Melia Bali we have a commitment to provide quality service beyond our guests’ expectations, and your feedbacks are vital in helping Melia Bali to provide a memorable holiday experience that meets the highest standards of excellence. This definitely strengthens our philosophy of seeking the highest level of service excellence. We will be glad to welcome you back, please, do not hesitate to contact us for any assistance with your future bookings in any Melia all around the world. Best regards, Yelyzaveta K.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gold Coast

Exceeded our Expectations

Posted May 19, 2018
Clean and well presented Hotel, Great location, walking distance to Bali Collection and markets outside the main gates.Drinks are resort prices but have happy hour and food is reasonably priced. Breakfast is Awesome. Very friendly staff, that are happy to help with anything you need. Beach is a bit more sheltered than most other resorts along the strip.Would definitely recommend staying there.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2018 by Quality Control Coordinator, Hotel Management
Dear Greg, Tropical Greetings from the beautiful island of Bali! Thank you for choosing Melia Bali as your staying destination and for reviewing us. We were thrilled to know that Melia Bali exceeded your expectations and created truly unforgettable experience for you. We appreciate your kind compliment regarding hotel facilities and services and we will share your compliments with various departments to motivate ourselves in our daily efforts to create unique moments for our valued guests. Please, consider Melia Bali to be your home away from home and we are looking forward to welcome you back in the nearest future. Best regards, Yelyzaveta K.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Great stay, lovely hotel and staff.

Posted May 13, 2018
Went to the Melia end of April 2018, couldn't fault anything. We had the all inclusive package, well worth paying for it. Food and drink a plenty. The staff were very friendly, and in particular, Yande at the Santeria Beachside Restaurant, Aris and Made at the Japanese restaurant, Febri at poolside and not forgetting the friendliest porter ever called Nyoman. Would happily go back in a heartbeat. Highly recommended.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2018 by Quality Control Coordinator, Hotel Management
Dear Harji, Warm greetings from the Tropical Paradise! Thank you for choosing Melia Bali as your staying destination on the Island of Gods. Commitment to service and guest satisfaction are a major focus and I am delighted to learn that the level of excellence exceeded your expectations from the arrival until the end of your stay. The dedication our hotel team takes in providing exceptional customer service speaks strongly to our company and brand core values and I am glad that our most valued guests such as yourself take the time to appreciate that. Please rest assured that you warm words of praise will be shared with the whole Melia Bali team. With greatest pleasure we will be looking forward towards your next visit to Island of gods and we are hoping to welcome you back in our little paradise, Melia Bali. Best regards, Yelyzaveta K.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 12, 2018
Staff and invirement are good but room small bed uncomfortable
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth Western Australia

Nice hotel walking distance to the Bali collective

Posted Apr 19, 2018
Lovely hotel however we found it a bit pricey. The additional taxes and charges didn’t help. If you are looking for a cheap getaway I would consider staying somewhere else. Although if you are looking to avoid the sleaze and chaos of Kuta I would definitely recommend Nusa Dua! The rooms where a good size as was the bathroom. The toilet seat didn’t fit properly and care was needed when sitting on the toilet as the seat moved from side to side. The bath towels were very luxurious and a great hairdryer was included. The resort is a short walk from the Bali collective. I found the quickest way was to walk up the beach. The gardens are beautifully maintained and cared for. There were a number of restaurants at the resort however they were quite pricey. Breakfast was quite good with a wide variety of items available for all tastes including Indian and Chinese. The elevator was working well but did have a really horrible smell. No airconditioning didn’t help this! We enjoyed our time at this resort however like I mentioned found it to be quite expensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 3, 2018
Very nice hotel, the staff are very friendly and the rooms are quite clean. Great for families or friends and couples from 20+.