Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 26, 2017 on Hotels
Room given has glaring sunlight entire day. Highlighted to front desk and asked if a room change can be done since i have another 5days of stay there. The manager claimed he cannot do anything as the management co for the property has "guaranteed owner of the unit rental" since its rented out. I even sent an email to yama shizen regarding this issue but no reply or acknowledgement came back. Also, there is no more shuttle service to and from ski areas (had this when i stayed there in 2015). A pity as its a great service to have. Overall, the place is still well kept and clean. Staff are also friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
by Cholong

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 6, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hawaii

Nice studio in Niseko

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Nice studio/apt alternative to hotels, very clean and central location in Hirafu. Australian-owned HT Holidays employs English-speaking staff, useful for Western tourists. Staff is friendly and helpful (though taxi reservation they made for me ended up going to wrong location and I missed my train--always double-check!); front desk hours are limited. Use the Niseko passport they provide for discounts, including on NAC rafting in summer--HT booked and it was great (not rough at all, fun Japanese guides, and beautiful scenery--be sure to wear the drysuit so you can jump in the cold water!). If you like the option of more living space and occasionally eating in, this is better than a hotel.
5 out of 5
by Alexander from Singapore

Rare find in Kutchan

Posted Jul 20, 2016 on Hotels
Yama Shizen was a rare find - spacious, clean, well maintained and fully-furnished property, a perfect stopover for us while passing through Kutchan. Its decor is modern, something you'll expect of a business hotel, but the experience was intimate and delightful. Thank you Jeniffer, Shino, Rowena and team for your proactive and prompt follow ups, always making sure that our stay is comfortable. Location wise, there were a couple of bars and convenience stores within 5 mins walk which opened till late, and the area felt safe despite being less busy during summer (which is perfect as a getaway from crowds). Truely a hidden gem.
4 out of 5
by Gary from Honolulu

Spring break in Niseko

Posted Mar 21, 2016 on Hotels
Nice hotel just down the street from the slopes. Stay in this area if you want to try different restaurants, and more ski town feel. If you want ski in/out convenience, stay at the Hilton or Green Leaf.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice small apartment hotel

Posted Mar 23, 2015 on Hotels
Nice small apartment hotel, slight walk to main gondola but there is a shortcut that isn't hard. Cafe downstairs is great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide, South Australia

"Loved the view".

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: Very good value.
Cons: A shuttle to the lifts would have been excellent or more explanation about ski storage at lifts would have been very helpful.
Location: Close to main street of Niseko, restaurants & shops. Reasonably close to gondola.
Yama Shizen was in a good location, very clean, quiet, comfy beds & I had a great view from my room.
5 out of 5
by Damien from Singapore

Excellent clean apartment.

Posted Dec 4, 2014 on Hotels
Every nice place with friendly and helpful staff. Nearby to Lawson and SeikoMart. Though the heater was not very effective in keeping the 1 bedroom apartment warm enough at full blast.
5 out of 5
by Keing Theng from Malaysia

A relax trip

Posted Dec 2, 2014 on Hotels
Furniture well maintain. Just the bed is small. Excellent location n view