Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Providence, United States of America

Excellent, elegant hotel with a sea view

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Location: See above.
It is a "belle époque" hotel in a spa with nice sea view from the balcony. The parks are across the street, promenade along the sea is nearby. The whole facility is renovated and well kept, the cafes and restaurants in working distance. The only remark - the breakfast could be improved.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted Oct 2, 2015
Nice and cleanclean, conveniently central location. The staff were nice and helpful, and breakfast was great. Highly recommended
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Avoid...

Posted Sep 22, 2015
Pros: The first few days were "OK".
Cons: Absolutely. The management needs a complete course in business management and customer satisfaction.
Location: Opatija is often referred to as the Adriatic Riveria. If a visitor can't find things do do on their own, they should not go. It's obvious...
My last stay was in 2010. Since then the hotel caters mainly to tour busses and overnight tourists. I was there for 5 days and on my last night -- Saturday September 19th, the hotel was the venue of a very large, noisy wedding that began at 6PM and did not end until 4AM in the morning. (Yes, that's right, 4 AM) During that time the band was loud and constant with the noise easily traveling to my room on the 5th floor from it's origin on the 1st Floor. Moreover, around midnight, a very loud and explosive fireworks display was set off by the wedding troupe that wakened virtually guest in the hotel. I went to the reception desk and complained and the hapless night clerk could only offer his embarrassed apologies. Other guests were roaming the lobby and the outside of the hotel hoping that somehow they might receive a respite from the horrible noise. Noise that continued on until the appointed quitting time of 4 AM. Horrors... avoid this badly managed Opatija hotel at all costs... there are many better hotels from which to choose.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Easy walk to the waterfront

Posted Sep 21, 2015
Good value. We had heard that their supper was highly recommended but we found only a buffet set up for a large tour group. We could have had this buffet also but it wasn't the experience we were looking for.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

One night in a seaside resort town

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Pros: Hotel Bristol is comfortably elegant in keeping with the style of the town which is accurately described as the riviera of Croatia.
Rain somewhat curtailed our activities but we enjoyed the seafront walk with the beautiful buildings and could imagine the scene with all the umbrellas and al fresco cafes abuzz.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Skopje

Good hotel in center of town

Posted Aug 4, 2015
Pros: Center of town, good breakfast
Cons: Some decorations which means personal touch at the lobby, at the entrance, those areas needs some soul...
Location: Walking, shopping, relaxing on the nearest beach
Long weekend 3 nights stay, good hotel, good breakfast but it needs some personal touch in a lobby area, at restaurant, in front of the hotel. Not a hotel for a classic sunbathing holiday, but excellent for exploring the city and Kvarner area
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Close to great eating places and swimming areas.

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Pros: Location, facilities, quiet and central to everything....including bus stop. Fabulous breakfast and very friendly, smiling wait staff.
Cons: Nothing. All was fantastic.
Location: Location is near shopping, swimming, great food places -especially cafes that sold very tempting cakes, pastries and ice cream.
Only had one night at the Hotel Bristol, but it certainly was a pleasure staying there in the midst of all the action.....swimming, eating, music, drinking nice coffee and cocktails. You couldn't ask for a better location. Staff are very professional and efficient. Our room had a great view across the ocean and we could see towns across the sea. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom very big and tastefully decorated. Very quiet sleeping ... I am a light sleeper. All in all a very nice experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from U K

Classic hotel, great location

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Housekeeping could be a little more thorough in clearing up and replenishing, but it was spotlessly clean.
Location: See above. Easy walking to all facilities
We had booked a deluxe room, because it was bigger and from the photo, had a balcony overlooking the sea. In fact it had no balcony and overlooked the car park. Reception staff were understanding and we negotiated a suite, at extra cost, but we were happy to pay the extra. The hotel is well placed overlooking public gardens and very close to the beach, restaurants,cafes and shops. There was a good choice at breakfast with cheerful staff. The evening buffet was good, although we only ate in once. Staff were helpful in general. Our only problem was the open air theatre which on two occasions staged live discos, which were very loud and permeated through our double doors till 2am. The hotel was full so we were not able to move to a different room. Not really the hotel's fault but it did affect our overall enjoyment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brighton

Change of hotel

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Location: It is next to the Thalassotherapy centre, which is worth a visit.
The hotel could not accommodate me when I arrived as the person staying in the room had fallen ill. They moved me to a sister hotel, which was perfectly acceptable. Everything conducted without fuss and matter-of-factly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 26, 2014 by GM, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for investing your time and writing this feedback. We apologize for the inconvenience that occured, but at the same time we are glad that the situation was resolved positively and most of all that you were satisfied with your stay in our sister hotel. We hope that we will be able to acomodate you once again. Best regards, Loredana Perčić General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from calgary

Class hotel, quiet and inviting

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Parking was not as bad as I expected from reviews. Parked in the public area close to the hotel. Left my lights on in the car and the staff boosted it for me, no problem. Hotel is walking distance to everything. Service in the lounge and breakfast area was very good. Best breakfast we had on our 2 week trip,
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 26, 2014 by GM, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We would like to thank for taking your time and writing this review. We are glad that you found our central location convenient for your stay. We are also happy to read that you were satisfied with our breakfast quality and selection as well as with the service provided. We would be glad to welcome you again during your next stay in Opatija. Best regards, Loredana Perčić General Manager