Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Subhash from Bangalore

A Great Boutique Hotel in Durban

Posted Jun 1, 2015 on Hotels
Very large, well appointed rooms with period decor is the main thing about this place. Highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Nairobi, Kenya

Lovely weekend in Durban

Posted May 9, 2015
Pros: The food was delicious -- especially the breakfast, the room was large and airy and the bed very comfortable, and the staff hospitality excellent.
Cons: The internet services was not working.
Location: The hotel was in a lovely neighborhood that we felt comfortable walking around. There were many restaurants and shops in the area.
We had a great weekend at the African Pride Audacia Hotel. The food was wonderful, the room welcoming and comfortable, and the staff exceptionally warm. We hope to visit Durban and the Audacia Hotel again in the future. The only small glitch was the lack of internet for the weekend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

beautiful, but better management needed

Posted Mar 25, 2015 on Hotels
No one seemed to be in charge when we arrived - Wifi was down for the first night, no one could answer questions, and service at the restaurant was frustratingly slow. Things seemed to run a lot smoother when the owner was there the next 2 days, but we wish there had been a manager there on the 1st night... Otherwise, beautiful hotel and amazing room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by ahmed from Yanbu

Highly Recommended!

Posted Mar 15, 2015 on Hotels
Outstanding hotel, Great friendly staff, Excellent location and breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Köln

Posted Mar 14, 2015
Das Hotel an sich war sehr schön und hatte einen tollen Stil. Es liegt in einer eher ruhigen guten Gegend, aber dafür auch relativ weit entfernt vom Strand. Zu Fuß ist leider zu weit zum Strand, und jedes mal ein Taxi bestellen kann schon recht teuer werden. Wir waren im Großen und Ganzen eigentlich zufrieden, vor allem auch weil das Essen hervorragend war. Also ein Kompliment an die Köchin! :) Der Service war leider sehr schwankend, und das war ein sehr großer Minuspunkt für uns. An manchen Tagen war der Service ganz ok, und an anderen wiederum katastrophal, was sehr schade war, da man bei einem 5-Sterne-Hotel eigentlich eine Konstante erwarten sollte, aber irgendwie wusste da manchmal keiner so wirklich welche Aufgabe ihm zufällt und keiner war nur für einen Bereich eingeplant und so lief manchmal alles etwas durcheinander. Aber wie gesagt ansonsten war es wirklich ok!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by ALICE from Berlin

Schönes Hotel in guter Lage

Posted Mar 12, 2015 on Hotels
Ein sehr schönes Hotel, mit exklusiver Einrichtung, den 20er Jahren nachempfunden, ein sehr schöner Garten, sehr sauber, ein hervorragendes Essen! Eigentlich ein Kleinod! Leider scheint das leitende Personal total überfordert zu sein und selbst auf kleine Anfragen wurde wegen "Überlastung" nicht eingegangen. Wifi funktionierte nicht. Schade! Welches Potential hat dieses wunderschöne Hotel! Trotz der Erfahrung mit dem Personal möchten wir den Aufenthalt dort nicht missen!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

leuk en verzorgd typisch zuid Afrikaans

Posted Mar 11, 2015
Pros: de sfeer en inrichting
Location: er is een klein winkelcentrum op loopafstand, hotel ligt aan drukke doorgaande weg,maar de kamers zijn aan de achterkant dus geen geluidsoverlast.
Hotel was goed,jammer dat er geen restaurant bij zit. Ontbijt is wel aanwezig. Op loop afstand zijn er restaurants,maar alleen doen als het licht is. Evt. kan er wel 's ochtends maaltijden voor 's avonds besteld worden. Het meest ideale is een auto te hebben. Je zit in ongeveer 10 minuten bij het strand. Met een taxi kost dit ongeveer R100
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berchtesgaden, Germany

The grand old 1920s

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Audacia Manor is a colonial-style 1920s home transformed into a boutique 5-star guesthouse. Claw-foot oval bathtubs, spacious rooms and all the modern comforts you could wish for (air-conditioning, fridge in room, large TV, etc) define the hotel. A good-sized pool, as well as a spacious terrace overlooking the sea in the distance, where breakfast (or dinner) is served, adds to the facilities. The hotel is located in a high-security, residential area and most of the Durban taxi drivers didn't know how to find the place so it's a good idea to have the hotel's phone number on you when out and about. Service staff is very friendly and the breakfast is copious and excellent. The only down-side was our dinner there. Perhaps due to the fact that several private events were taking place at the same time as our dinner, we had to wait forever and several of the dishes we had ordered were switched for others we hadn't ordered. Having waited so long for each course, we simply setllted for whatever was served. There again, a bit of a disappointment: the beef was chewy and not cooked rare, the way we had ordered it. Nonetheless I would return anytime to the oasis of quiet and the lovely garden that this place offers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Kent , CT

Durban?

Posted Feb 7, 2015
Pros: the architectural charm
Cons: The lamb shanks could have been cooked longer.
Location: We took the topless, red tour bus which drove around a fascinating city.
We spent two nights here on the way from a safari camp to Cape Town. It was our first visit to Africa. We didn't know how to choose a Durban hotel. We didn't know what part of town to look in. We didn't want to make a mistake. Anyway this is a very fabulous place! A beautiful 1926 villa converted to a small boutique hotel with charm, rooms out of a movie, a beautiful pool, in a really tony neighborhood. (Neighbourhood for the Brits.) An English Arts and Crafts gem. Melanie in the kitchen created really, really creative dinners and breakfasts. I was pretty surprised to be in such luxury at the price. Now there was not a lift to the second floor (one above ground floor for you Americans), but a terrific young staff who were delighted to lug my suitcases. Clean. Aesthetically superior in ambiance. Very safe. Seriously plush in an old-time way. I would always stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford, England

Clean, comfortable, welcoming and excellent food

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Pros: Great food, spacious room, safe and secure environment and outdoor shower.
The hotel is situated in one of the more desirable areas of Durban just down the road from the Presidential Palace. The premises are secure, but it also has private security as an added measure. The rooms are spacious and well furnished, the staff friendly and hospitable and the menu just excellent as is the food. The head waiter, Jean Francois, is an excellent source of knowledge and advice to any tourist. His advice and general guidance was greatly appreciated over the following weeks of our stay. This was the perfect start to our holiday in KZN and I highly recommended it to others. Needless to say, it is also excellent value for money. Jean Francois appreciated real coffee and kindly obliged my request for fresh coffee to be brought to our room before breakfast.