Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, Australia

Ten year old pictures will always come undone!

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: Great size and layout of room. It was wonderful. Bed was comfortable.
Cons: New door locks from balcony need replacing as they were broken. New cupboard doors as our mini kitchen ones were broken. Brighter lights to see.
Location: Great location. Safe with Gateway mall across the road
Have to say this hotel needs about US1.5M in renovations. Broken doorlocks, unsecured access to balcony. Filthy elevators and very poor staff management out of kitchen to room service or service in restaurant. I would not stay here again unless they dramatically spent time and money on improving this hotel plus staff management.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

October 2016

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Pros: Evening meal was god value for money and tasty A welcome quiet place after 24 hours international travel
Cons: The hotel was difficult to find in the dark as signage was not lit
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Pros: Room was nice and staff was very friendly and breakfast was also nice.
Cons: Breakfast scramble eggs
Room was nice and staff was very friendly and breakfast was also nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location next to the shopping mall

Posted Jan 15, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Room hygiene
Location: Shopping at the Gateway mall
Was very pleased with the staff attitude but was disappointed with the floors where they did not scrub the floors in the kitchenette area but overall was happy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 15, 2016 by Mo, Hotel Management
Good day Many thanks for the valued feedback , we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay and i assure you that your concerns have been addressed accordingly with the relevant departments We look forward in welcoming you back to Royal Palm Hotel Kind regards Mohamed Saib Reservations Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from SA

Luxury Hotel Conveniently situated

Posted Dec 7, 2015
Pros: Underground parking was greatly appreciated as one can't always find decent parking space nearby the hotel in the busy city. The Breakfast was superb
Cons: Next time, as a family with a toddler, we would prefer a suite without a staircase as a safety precaution please
Location: The Bird Park, beachfront, Greyville night racing, Gateway Mall, Umhlanga Village, Ushaka, Elizabeth Sneddon Theatre as well as the Playhouse Theatre
The Royal Palm Hotel is conveniently situated close to Gateway Mall. All one has to do is walk across the road where one can find many different restaurants and shops. What a pleasure!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 25, 2015
Good hotel close to beach,easy access to variety of restaurants and shopping centre .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Good Hotel close to shopping, beach and airport

Posted May 28, 2015
Pros: Proximity to shopping and airport, efficiency, location.
Cons: Some minor maintenance issues.
Location: Shopping at the Gateway Shopping Complex. Easy access to Umhlanga beaches. Close proximity to Durban city area. Restaurants in the area.
Umhlanga is a suburb of the city of Durban. The Hotel is located on the Umhlanga ridge, and is central to shopping, business and beaches, and very close to the airport (15-20 minutes). The hotel is directly across the road from the very large Gateway Shopping Complex, and is situated close to many large business companies. Umhlanga beaches were just down the hill from the hotel. There are a number of restaurants in the Gateway Complex, and a short taxi drive could take you down to Umhlanga beaches where there are numerous other restaurants and fine dining experiences. We noticed many business people using the Hotel, and consequently this resulted in a very efficient service within the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Excellent Facilities and Comfort, 100% recommended

Posted May 23, 2015
Pros: Room conditions and amenities
Cons: Restaurant service, timing to take orders and serve food
Location: I didnt go around as I left the very next morning for work
Business Trip, Room was absolutely beautiful and incredible big. The only down side (but not a deal breaker at all) was that the restaurant staff took quite a long time to take my order and serve the food. But they were very polite and friendly, so it's OK. Everything else was absolutely perfect!! Recommended for business or pleasure! I will be back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 18, 2015
very nice staff , very clean rooms, great location across shopping mall.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bartlett, TN

Spacious Accommodations

Posted Feb 15, 2015
Pros: The location of the property was great for me. It was literally steps from the Gateway Mall and numerous eating establishments
Cons: The cleanliness, or lack of the three bedroom penthouse was disappointing. The kitchenette was not equipped with any utensils, noted in other reviews
Location: Hotel was literally steps from the Gateway Mall and numerous eating establishments. It's a little noisy due to the clubs located across the street.
The staff haphazardly demonstrated efforts to assist guest. The front desk associates were not knowledgeable in hotel's procedures. It took several attempts to retrieve additional internet service, they could not assist in "things to do" and overall a lackadaisical approach to customer service. I felt as if I was bothering the staff. Breakfast (including in my package) left a lot to be desired, you'll be better off to eat at one of the near by restaurants. The only staff member that had an idea about customer service was Isarel, security employee. The layout of the three bedroom penthouse is great; however, the sofas and carpeting need serious cleaning. Several of the lights did not work and/or needed light bulbs. Overall the room shows that regular attention and cleaning are lacking. Balconies are added value to sit out and relax. Warning: beware of the U-Cabs service lurking in front of the hotel, they will attempt to take advantage of tourist, especially Americans. That will be a separate review.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 30, 2015 by Sally, Hotel Management
Dear Sharlene, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your points are valuable to our hotel and we thank you for bringing this to our attention. The departments have been addressed. Service is key to our industry and we sincerely opologise for any inconvienence caused. Thank you for acknowledging Israel, we have conveyed your gratitude. Thank you. Safe Travels Royal Palm Hotel and Team