Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Beautiful location

Posted Apr 11, 2016
Pros: Location, very close to the mountains.
Cons: Signage on the walk to Doreen Falls!
A great place for quiet, restful break. Comfortable room, nice food. Great for hiking and fresh mountain air.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from joberg

Great views, poor hotel

Posted Dec 12, 2015
Pros: The views
Cons: The management, staff and service
The views were fantastic, and the hotel was spotlessly clean. However, the staff were disinterested, slow, apart from when it came asking you to sign the bill!! No good morning at breakfast or good evening at dinner, and your plate was often taken before you were finished eating! Thee other big problem is the hotel management, they were no where to be seen, invisible!! No interaction with guests whatsoever, little wonder the staff appear not to care. When a manager was spotted, they were pre occupied and not particularly pleasant. This place has a lot to learn about customer service. The training should start with the management, who need to know that they have to walk the floor! I will certainly not be returning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pretoria

Fabulous hotel wonderful location

Posted Jan 22, 2015
Pros: Everything Old fashioned charm with luxury room
Cons: We prefer duvets to blam Nets seems more hygienic
Location: We left the car for 3 days and walked . Rainbow gorge was brilliant
Spent 3 nts for husband's 60th. Executive room was great & we can't fault anything! Staff v warm & friendly Walking from hotel was tremendous We would highly recommend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sandra from Glasgow

This is a beautiful hotel in a dramatic location.

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Pros: Fantastic views.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: In the Drakensberg so a hikers paradise.
We spent 3 days and nights in Cathedral Peak and could have doubled our time there and still not have been bored. The walking is amazing to suit all ages. In addition there is leisure facilities at the hotel including golf swimming mini golf and a games room. The food while buffet service for all but lunch is excellent with a huge variety of dishes. We loved this place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ar from Aberdeenshire

Just sit, relax and enjoy the view

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Pros: It was in a nice location and the staff were friendly.
Cons: Would be good if there was a small fridge in the room to keep water chilled especially in warm weather.
Location: Worth visiting the Didima San rock art center just down the road from the hotel.
We stayed 3 nights and found the hotel a nice place to relax. The room was a good size we had a nice view looking towards mountain, only downside was no small fridge in room to keep drinking water chilled, this we would expect from a 4* hotel. The food provided was good and various options available to suit all tastes. It's an ideal place to relax and enjoy the mountains.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Julia from Pateley Bridge UK

Great hotel, stunning views, great facilities

Posted Jan 29, 2014
Pros: Relaxing atmosphere and helpful staff always around to answer questions.
Cons: Nothing
Spent a relaxing 4days here after having completed the mini traverse finishing at The Cathedral Peak Hotel. Great hotel with a great variety of activities on offer. Food was delicious with variety to suit all tastes. Would definitely go here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Deutschland

Schönes Hotel in sensationeller Lage

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Gute und abwechslungsreiches Halbpensions-Buffet. Saubere und geräumige Zimmer/Hütten. Klasse geführte Hikes die direkt vom Hotel starten und täglich wechseln. Sehr empfehlenswert!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from W

Uitzonderlijk goed hotel

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Prachtig gelegen hotel, geweldige service. Duurste kamers hebben mooiste uitzicht. Fantastisch buffet. Uitgebreide recreatiemogelijkheden.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from M

Hotel in Super Lage!

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: Lage
Location: Wandern
Das Hotel ist etwas in die Jahre gekommen. Der Bingo Abend spricht Bände über das zu erwartende Publikum. Das Essen war ausgezeichnet und die Lage war optimal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

ハイキングに最適、冬でも快適ホテルです。

Posted Jun 17, 2015
冬の宿泊で寒さをきにしていましたが、朝でも日中はTシャツ一枚でOKでした。夜明け前の早朝はダウンジャケットを着ていましたが。食事はバイキングですが、料理の種類と味は満足できます。