Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not bad.

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
stunning location, nice hotel, dated but the one of the better hotels in the region of the Drakensburg, plenty to do and good for families.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stunning hotel with stunning views

Posted Nov 3, 2016 on Hotels
Fab food, both breakfast and dinner. Tea & coffee on terrace morning and afternoon. Very helpful staff. Guided and unguided walks in and around the mountains
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
I would have to say disappointing. We were expecting a quiet tranquil getaway (was my partner's birthday gift for myself). The hotel was fully booked as there was also a wedding taking place on the Saturday. I wish we had known that this was the case. I would not have booked. Service down at the pool was 0. After phoning hotel reception 4 times requesting a waiter and to no avail (period of around 35min) eventually stomped up to the bar to get a cocktail menu requesting someone please take our order!! I also felt that paying R3000 per night was excessive for the superior room. Although beautifully appointed it was spoilt by apartment style rooms that look onto a roof. Perhaps a site map should be provided on your web site for guests to check the location of their accommodation when booking. The general service of waiters and waitresses was very good. Your hotel is perfect for conferencing and weddings Not for a tranquil getaway from the rat race weekend (unless it was during the week) Your location and golf course is amazing though.
5 out of 5
by June from Durban

Long weekend at Cathedral Peak

Posted May 4, 2016 on Hotels
Good Stay, lots of lovely food. The stir fry and trout was excellent. Would also recommend supporting the Ladies who come to the hotel twice a week and sell beautiful basket ware. A useful and beautiful souvenir. Good tarred road all the way to the hotel
4 out of 5
by Ann

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by roy

cathedral peak

Posted Apr 14, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful surroundings absolutely brilliant for hiking/walking, had such a wonderful 2 nights. We have been before and certainly go again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Beautiful location

Posted Apr 11, 2016
Pros: Location, very close to the mountains.
Cons: Signage on the walk to Doreen Falls!
A great place for quiet, restful break. Comfortable room, nice food. Great for hiking and fresh mountain air.
5 out of 5
by Alana

Stunning Drakensberg views

Posted Mar 13, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed here with a group of family and friends and had a wonderful stay. The hotel is set in such a beautiful location, with stunning views of the mountains and Cathedral Peak. The grounds and facilities are beautifully kept and have a charm that is indicative of it's long history as a hotel. We enjoyed the free daily guided hikes, all you can eat buffet meals, and especially sitting outside at Albert's bar watching the sunset. Hoping to go back!
5 out of 5
by e from Cape Town & Uk

Lovely Break

Posted Jan 24, 2016 on Hotels
Friendly staff, beautiful surroundings , comfortable room and delicious food
4 out of 5
by Roderick from Rossendale, UK

Great location and a very good hotel.

Posted Jan 14, 2016 on Hotels
Very polite and efficient staff, large room with a fridge. Meals re served on a buffet basis and the food was very good, although if staying longer than the two nights we had it may become a little repetitive. Lots of walking available, some of which can be don with a guide from the hotel. Spectacular views all around and well worth the journey to get to this hotel.