Ratings based on 124 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from N

Beautiful resort, with beach view.nice sandy beach

Posted Jul 1, 2016
Food options fantastic. Variety of swimming pools. Favourite restaurant was Coral Tree with all the food options. My room was great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2016 by The Fairmont Zimbali Team, Hotel Management
Dear Outgoing Thank you for sharing your lovely review with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Fairmont Zimbali Resort and that all the hotel facilities exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards, The Fairmont Zimbali Team
4 out of 5
by James

Posted Mar 31, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 25, 2016 by Maye Khuluse, Hotel Management
Dear James Thank you for your review of the Fairmont Zimbali Resort. We hope that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future. Kind Regards, The Fairmont Zimbali Team
3 out of 5
by shaadia from kzn, za

5 star hotel in name.Room quality not upto scratch

Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
Mixed Stay!Great pools & restuarants.BUT service not up to scratch.Requested room with good sea-view & told room was great.However it had a great view of foliage but no seaview insight.new room had a fair view but nothing compared to rooms on higher levels.Discovered later room hadnt been properly setup for new guests as no coffee/tea cups. hubby had a great sleep but my side of the bed was sunkin & had a restless night.In the morning found a cockroach in room.Called Guest services to speak to manager re issues.4 calls later my call was returned, albeit each time promised a call back. Manager committed that they would attend to the problem as I felt room not upto 5 star quality, without saying anything reassuring/concrete. Upon checkout happened to see William at reception & introduced myself. He appeared nonchalant on my issues & again asserted it would be attended to. Question is who would he attend to it for. Clearly not me as not at any point did I receive a sincere apology/response for a unprepared room with a bad bed & a cockroach & hence cleanliness issue. His only real response was that he couldnt control cockroaches at his establishment as Zimbali is an eco estate.Having stayed at Zimbali before service from front of house staff wasnt up to std & neither was the room. Hotel facilities are fantastic but end of the night, you need somewhere to sleep & hence an overall disappointing visit with no empathy or consideration from On duty Manager
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 25, 2016 by Maye Khuluse, Hotel Management
Dear shaadia Thank you for sharing your valuable review with us following your recent stay at the Fairmont Zimbali Resort. We are sorry to hear that your stay with us did not expectations and that you left feeling disappointed by the experience as well as the service received. This is certainly not in keeping with the Fairmont standard, and would therefore like to apologise for any inconveniences endured during your stay. We hope to improve on our service delivery going forward and hope to deliver a more memorable stay in the future. Kind Regards, The Fairmont Zimbali Team
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from south africa

Not a 5 star hotel at all!

Posted Mar 28, 2016
From the adverts and beautiful pictures as well as the position we expected 5 star. Hotels feels runned down with scratched furniture and not cleaned properly. Outdoor furniture all broken and noise from aircon rooms are everywhere. Our room 2007 taps were not working properly, towels are grey and smelly , mattress bend from heavy use or bad quality , small mirror hanging on one screw. All scratched couches and chairs on the balcony which was not ever cleaned. We have been in many 5 star hotels around the world this was not worth the money. Unfortunate for such a great position. Buffet dinner only have one meat roast to offer in one evening. Big size rooms and ceillings but that's about all.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2016 by Maye Khuluse, Hotel Management
Dear Natalia. Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable review with us. We are disappointed to hear that your stay did not meet expectations. We hope to improve on our service delivery going forward and will be sure to review your feedback. Kind Regards, The Fairmont Zimbali Team
3 out of 5
by Henrik from Fredensborg

Great view but need maintenance

Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel seemed not updated and lack of maintenance in several places but the room worked fine with a great view and good service. It was hard to get a table at the hotel's restaurants and cafe service was incredibly slow
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2016 by Maye Khuluse, Hotel Management
Dear Henrik. Thank you for your valuable review of the Fairmont Zimbali Resort. We are sorry to hear that your stay did not meet expectations and that you were concerned about the maintenance of the property. We value your feedback and hope to improve on this going forward. We are however glad that you did enjoy the view as well as the service, and hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards, The Fairmont Zimbali Team.
5 out of 5
by Christina from Alberton, Gauteng

Planning to go there every time I get a chance

Posted Feb 26, 2016 on Hotels
It was really great and we enjoyed our stay. The welcoming was wow, everything about Zimbali is a blessing I should say.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2016 by Maye Khuluse, Hotel Management
Dear Christina Thank you for sharing your lovely review with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you loved everything about your stay at the Fairmont Zimbali Resort. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards, The Fairmont Zimbali Team
5 out of 5
by Thabiso from Johannesburg

Nothing short of perfect!

Posted Jan 19, 2016 on Hotels
The perfect romantic getaway, the whole resort is amazing, with great facilities, beautiful views and the best breakfast at the coral tree restaurant. The only thing I didnt like was the that our 4 night stay was a bit too short
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2016 by Maye Khuluse, Hotel Management
Dear Thabiso Thank you for sharing your lovely review of the Fairmont Zimbali Resort with us. We are delighted to hear that you had the perfect romantic getaway at our beautiful property and that your expectations were far exceeded. We hope to welcome you back again in the not so distant future. Kind Regards, The Fairmont Zimbali Team
3 out of 5
by Harold from Sandton SouthAfrica

Average hotel in a beautiful setting

Posted Jan 13, 2016 on Hotels
Friendly staff but a tired hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2016 by Maye Khuluse, Hotel Management
Dear Harold Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are pleased to hear that our staff left a lasting impression on you during your stay even though the quality of the property did not meet your expectations. We are sorry to hear this. Thank you once again for your review. Kind Regards, The Fairmont Zimbali Team
2 out of 5
by Faheem

truly a bad 5* hotel

Posted Jan 5, 2016 on Hotels
rooms were duty with poor bedding
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2016 by Maye Khuluse, Hotel Management
Dear Faheem Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback with us following your stay at the Fairmont Zimbali Resort in January. We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that you found the cleanliness of the room to not be of standard. This is certainly something that we hope to improve on going forward. We apologies for any inconveniences experienced. Kind Regards, The Fairmont Zimbali Team
3 out of 5
by Greta from Stuttgart

Schönes Hotel mit schlechtem Management & Service

Posted Dec 14, 2015 on Hotels
Unfreundliches, unmotiviertes und inkompetentes Personal! Kakerlaken und Ameisen im Zimmer. Trotz dreifacher Reklamation nur ansatzweise gereinigt worden.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2016 by Maye Khuluse, Hotel Management
Dear Greta Thank you for your review of the Fairmont Zimbali Resort. We are disappointed that your stay did not meet your expectations and that our service was not of Fairmont standard. We apologise for any inconveniences that this may have caused and hope to improve on this going forward. Kind Regards, Maye Khuluse Director of Guest Services Fairmont Zimbali Resort