Ratings based on 80 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kent, UK

Only a stopover!

Posted Mar 4, 2017
We used this guest house as a stopover as we had an eary morning flight which meant we had to leave at 4am - no offer of a packed breakfast. No coffee or tea when we arrived. Clearly this place is "managed" and lacked any personal touch. Surrounding local area busy and grubby. Not a place that I would use for more than a night.
5 out of 5
by Melissa

Colonial Durban

Posted Feb 8, 2017 on Hotels
The staff gave us exceptional attention. This property is a lovely old colonial with many steps. It is not disability friendly but in all other ways we loved it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 13, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Homey Bed & Breakfast

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Good location 5 min from Moses Mabhida stadium, 15 min from Ushaka marine world, 30 min from airport. There is an airport shuttle that will drop you off for R100 (taxis were charging R450). Breakfast was very tasty and the staff was helpful especially Goodman. Use the cab service that they recommend or Uber to avoid being overcharged. It's also possible to rent a taxi by the hour for about R150/hr for excursions that are far and don't include transportation. Wifi didn't work well for the majority of my stay so if that's a must for work I would recommend a hotel rather than B&B. Property is very quaint. I enjoyed relaxing and reading in the sitting room and visiting the honesty bar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Great location. Lovely colonial style building with excellent breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Australia

Charming colonial guesthouse

Posted Oct 1, 2016
Pros: Beautiful building and facilities. It is stylish with excellent service
Cons: Parking was a bit tight and we had to park in unsecured off-street, but there is no further room on the premises.
Location: Close to restaurants and the centre, excellent Botanical Gardens . About 1 hour's drive to Howick with its waterfall and Mandela Capture site
The hotel was easy to find and we were welcomed at the security door. The manager was helpful with recommendations for Durban attractions. We were very comfortable here. It was strange for us to stay in an establishment with an electric fence, but that is the norm in Durban. The guesthouse is in beautiful Victorian buildings and is beautifully furnished. Breakfast was served on either the verandah or inside, with old silver and white linen. Complimentary sherry in the beautifully furnished lounge was a nice touch. We enjoyed our sherry relaxing on the outside deck with cane furniture.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 'Ladysmith

Goble's okay

Posted Sep 12, 2016 on Hotels
Very pleasant place and good service. My gripe was you have no control over DSTV -you have to ask staff to change channel. Honesty bar prices are way too expensive. r30 a whiskey when pub 40 metres away sells a tot for R 12. Would go back though.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay at Goble Palms

Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Hotels
I recently stayed at Goble Palms. The establishment has great potential but my room was dated. The toilet seat was not what one expect from a four star guesthouse so also the carpets. Although the staff in general was extremely helpful and friendly the owner did not really show any interest. Overall the guesthouse (when renovated) may count under the best. Breakfast and internet was very good but the TV needs serious attention.
4 out of 5
by John

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by C

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 6, 2016 on Hotels