Ratings based on 328 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from The Hague, the Netherlands

Well maintained hotel, great stay in Durban!

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Grand entrance, good parking and friendly reception. Nice spacious room with comfortable king size bed and 24 hrs room service. Good restaurant situated in the hotel. Pool and fitness were nice!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cape Town

Very Poor Service

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Cons: There is a very big problem with the service culture in this hotel. It urgently requires attention from management.
There was no-one at the front desk when I arrived. Check in ultimately took about 20 minutes. At the hotel restaurant there was initially no staff at the front desk. A guest ahead of me was served after about four minutes by a lady who said she would be back to attend to me. After a further three minutes she did not return. I approached the restaurant manager who seated me eventually. On being seated, I noticed the lady who had undertaken to seat me doing something else in a different part of the restaurant. The table at which I had been seated was sticky and had food marks on it. I called a waiter over and requested that the table be cleaned. She did not immediately deal with it. A considerable time later, she was at the adjacent table. I requested her to clean the table. She responded that she would, but in a surly and unfriendly manner. She subsequently returned to the table with a spray detergent and cloth, requesting me to clear my food so that she could clean the surface. This was inappropriate for a five star establishment. Later, I needed to pass through a narrow space between two full tables big enough for only one person to pass. Two approaching waiters made no effort to allow me to pass first, but simply walked into the space before me. I decided to order room service on the following evening. My order was incorrect. I had ordered a bean curry. I was sent a beef curry. Not only was it incorrect, but it offended my vegetarian sensibilities.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Einfach nur klasse!

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: Der Service und die Lage
Location: In direkter Nähe der Promenade und in einem sehr guten Viertel.
Der Aufenthalt im Hilton Durban war einfach super! Service on top und vor allem Wellington, der Concierge, machte alles möglich. Das Hotel ist für den Standard einfach sehr preiswert. Kann ich jedem weiterempfehlen!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Location Disappointing Staff

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: The facilities of the hotel are great. The food was wonderful, especially the sea food.
Cons: I think the staff, especially at the check in counter need to improve on their service. It is disappointing to stand for long in a queue.
Location: The location is great and safe especially if you like walking around.
The hotel is a great facility but the staff are disappointing. Checking in is a long and disappointing process. Although there were many people on the queue, there was only one person at the counter helping clients to checkin. Other staff can be seen just wondering around unconcerned. When I checked out a day earlier because of an urgent matter that required my attention in another town, I forgot my phone charger in the room. When I called to inquire from the hotel about it, the staff members were reluctant in helping me. I called more than four times only to be informed that no one found the charger. That was so strange for a 5 star hotel.
5 out of 5
by Graham from uk

Great standards

Posted Jun 25, 2016 on Hotels
excellent
5 out of 5
by Mxolisi

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 20, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Clive

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 20, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Nice hotel

Posted Jun 20, 2016
Location: Good location for conference centre. No restaurants or shops close to hotel.
Attentiveness of staff excellent from parking staff, through reception to restaurant.
4 out of 5
by floyd from Vancouver

Great hotel.

Posted Jun 16, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel rooms are tired. We froze because of no heat in the room but the hotel bent over backwards to accommodate and brought 2 heaters. They worked great. The staff is awesome. Wifi is great. Watch out for up sell when you arrive.
5 out of 5
by Damian from London

Comrades Accomodation

Posted Jun 9, 2016 on Hotels
I stayed at the Hilton Durban to both prepare for and recover from Comrades 2016. The location was perfect and the staff were brilliant and sensitive to the nature of the event - an early bird breakfast at one o'clock in the morning was provided before we set off on our run. Will be booking in again next year!